Justifying need for surgery

AryaofWinterfell
on 6/30/16 11:48 am

Hi all,  Still in pro-op process and my doc is asking me to lose 21 lbs prior to surgery.  My BMI is a low 36 and losing it would put me under 35.  Technically I would not qualify if they were not using my initial consult weight.  My husband feels that if I can lose the required 21 lbs for the doc why can't I keep going and not have surgery.  I know why I need the surgery and how it works.  I tried to explain to him that I may be able to lose the weight but keeping it off it the hard part and a sleeve with help me better be able to do that.  I am not good at explaining things so if anyone has a better answer that may help him understand, please do share!

Aslo I have a past eating disorder issue that he has concerns will reemerge with this surgery. I on the other hand am not looking to surgery for that reason, but out of leading a healthy life as the eating disorder is no longer an option in my life. I have two children and I'm doing what I need to live a long healthy life for them.

i was 100% on board with having this surgery but I must admit my husband has said some things for me to think about.  Also I have never been able to maintain a normal weight for a significant time without dieting or other unhealthy means. So for me this is the answer as I have tried everything else.

And advice, insight, thoughts, etc would be greatly appreciated.

A

Liz WantsHealthForAll
on 6/30/16 2:14 pm - Cape Cod, MA
VSG on 03/28/16