Weight loss rate

tvlbunny
on 2/17/17 6:05 pm
RNY on 12/07/16

I revised from lapband to RNY on December 7, 2016 at my highest weight of 208.  I've lost 33 pounds to date, which is about 49% loss of my excess weight.  I met with the doc today and he said to not to expect more than 4-5 pounds a month from here on out.  Not that I won't be happy with that, but of course I would like more, especially with eating 600 calories per day.  For you lightweights, how long did it take you to lose the last 35 - 40 pounds?

lykapal
on 2/17/17 6:22 pm
RNY on 05/16/16

I'm not the right person to answer, because I didn't have a revision. But - I can share my experience as a lightweight.

I can tell you that I had about 70-75 pounds to lose and I've lost 65 of them in 9 months. It has really slowed down, but I'm okay with it. I'm still learning to use my pouch and it's still learning how to do it's job. 

Also, I stalled around month 3 ( I think )  because I was too active to be eating so few calories.  At first I wasn't sure eating more was right for me, but my body was clearly struggling. I was too tired to make it through the day without a couple of naps, and I was dizzy and nauseous all the time. I'm still losing at 1000 cals a day.

I think 4-5 pounds a month beyond the 6 month mark was about what I was experiencing.

49/F 4' 11" Highest Wt. 183.8--Surgery Wt. 173.0--Current Wt. 115.2--Goal Wt. 115.0

Roz !!!!
on 2/18/17 5:49 am - Butler, PA

I'm soooo glad you posted!!!!   I don't know much about a revision either but from past posters I don't think switching from the band to RNY slowed them down like switching from one of the other major WLS. 

I lost the majority of my weight within the first 8 months and then it slowed down.  I hope you took your measurements, if not take them now.  The times my scales didn't move were the months I lost the most inches.  Sounds Strange but that's the norm.

Roz