First Post... Needing Advice

Lori R.
on 8/10/17 9:42 pm
VSG on 06/28/16

Hey fellow lightweights~

I've never posted here before and I'm a bit nervous about reaching out. I guess I'm looking for accountability or information as to the resources available on this site.

Background:

I'm 13 months post sleeve. HW 196 SW 194 CW 168 Ht 5' .5" GW 125ish

I'm really not happy with my progress. I'm not able to eat anything close to pre-surgery meals, but despite the smaller amounts, I'm not losing. I stopped losing less than 6 months after surgery and have been stuck since. To be honest, I know I don't stick to my food plan and I'm not consistent with exercise. My weakness is carbs... you name them. Potatoes, pasta, sweets, bread (although not a big bread eater.) I'm a night shift nurse and my schedule is so unpredictable that there's no way to establish a "routine." I work 9pm-9:30am, no holidays or weekends. I usually work 2-4 shifts a week, but I don't know until the evening if I'll be working or not. It's an outpatient surgical center, and if all the patients go home at the end of the day, they text me to say that I'm off. If there are patients who stay, the day shift will text me to let me know I'm working. So, very unpredictable at best. But I stay because I love my job and co-workers, so I really don't want to leave.

During my VSG procedure, I had a small hiatal hernia repaired. The pain from that was persistent so I had an upper GI study done about a month later. The report from the radiologist states that I still had a small hiatal hernia and approximately 50% of my original stomach. I was a bit upset by this. Really... 50%? I underwent major surgery to have approximately 80% removed! Apparently, I have a healthy amount of ghrelin production too, since I have always experienced hunger. Not just "head hunger" either- real hunger!