Scared...

Rianne D.
on 6/11/07 5:40 am - MO
Even though I am not technically married, I am going to post here.... My fiance and I have been together for 2 years and engaged for 1 year. We were supposed to be getting married in August, but have decided together (his idea) to postpone the marriage for a year so that I can get healthy and LIVE first! While he has made tons of comments in the past of wishing that I could lose some weight, he hasn't been disparaging or anything. He still tells me he loves me and wants me all the time. He is 100% supportive of the surgery, mostly b/c we've just recently found out I have NAFLD and if this goes untreated I could die w/in a year it's progressed so quickly...but also b/c the surgery will fix more than just one problem. Now, for the reason I'm posting (I'm sure you've been wondering while I've been blabbing)...a good friend of my mother's had the surgery a few years ago and she's been totally supportive and in trying to be helpful she's been terrifying me w/ horror stories of her husband completely changing after she had WLS. They actually ended up getting divorced because of it. I love my fiance and I don't want to lose him just b/c I'm trying to LIVE....anyone have encouraging words? She's scaring the beejeezus outta me....
PlicketyCat
on 6/11/07 7:55 am - Kenmore, WA