VSG Maintenance Group

Groups » VSG Maintenance Grou... » Discussion » Just wanted to say ...

Just wanted to say hello... and share big news!

moonglo82
on 12/1/14 7:45 am
VSG on 03/29/12

Friends,

I had already shared a similar post on the VSG forum, but I think more people *****member me post here than in the VSG forum, so I wanted to come over here and say hello as well and give you some updates.  It's been far too long since I've been here, and realizing how out of touch I've been lately has made me realize how much I miss it.  Hopefully, now that things are a little less hectic, I'll be able to come around more often!

I honestly don't remember what all I had shared here the last time I visited, but basically, it was around this time last year, or maybe a little earlier, that I started into a bit of a depressive slump.  I was between jobs, and as a teacher, my job is a big chunk of my identity.  I had suffered a really bad concussion in October, so on top of being unemployed, I was worried about how I would ever be employable again as a teacher, because I was having bad headaches... not good when your job requires you to be able to grade essays in a timely manner!  

Luckily, in January, I was able to find a teaching job that didn't require paper grading (this position was as a second teacher in classes where students require a second teacher for added support), and that job carried me through until I was able to find a job where I am happier.  I have now been in my job at my current school since August.  I'm headache-free, teaching English again, coaching softball, and loving my job and my students.  I couldn't be happier about my job situation!

On top of that, Matt and I decided it was time to start trying to have children.  In May, I stopped taking my birth control.  In June, we took our first trip to Disney World together (so we could go as a couple before having kids), and by the end of July, I was getting positive pregnancy tests.