Henry Ford Bariatric Surgery Program's Photo

Henry Ford Bariatric Surgery Program Bariatric Center

113 Reviews for Henry Ford Bariatric Surgery Program
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Carlin is fantastic, he has excellent professionalism , he is concern about his patients health as well as concerns . Dr.Carlin make you feel comfortable about asking him any questions as well as comfortable and confident with your surgery choice. Dr. Carlin entire team is fantastic. I had met with two surgeons prior to Dr. Carlin and he was the only one I felt comfortable with and knew from first impression he was the surgeon I wanted. I would highly recommend him to everyone . Happy in MI .

May 30, 2014
Overall
avatar

I have no complaints. I went from 255 to 170 in no time. He was great. No problems to report.

Aug. 28, 2013
avatar

When I decided to look into WLS, I went to several seminars. I ended up deciding on Henry Ford Main in Detroit with Dr. Carlin. I liked that they had a very structured program, and it helped that Dr. Carlin was absolutely wonderful! He's got a great bedside manner, was very kind and caring, and never rushed appointments. He always took the time to answer any questions I had in depth. On day of surgery he made me feel completely at ease and I trusted him 100%. I do not regret my decision to have surgery with Dr. Carlin! He's definitely the best-of-the-best in my eyes and would recommend him to anyone considering bariatric surgery!

June 13, 2013, Updated: Aug. 6, 2013
Overall
avatar

So far everything has gone very well, starting with the seminar through the office visit and the office worked with me to get insurance approval. Surgery set in 2 months. Impressed so far with Dr. Kharbutli and attended a support group and talked to a couple of his patients who already did the surgery and they are doing great.
Will update.

Jan. 24, 2012
Overall
avatar

I attended his Seminar and was very informative and detailed and he answered all the questions. I called and went for the consult and was impressed, very good, took his time and listened, very detailed. Met with his Dietician on the same day. Still need to finish the weight loss papers for insurance. Heard good things about him.
Will update my review once I have a surgery date.

Jan. 24, 2012
Overall
avatar

My name is Patti Milne I had my surgery 2 years ago and it was a great sucess I have lost over 250 ibs and am still loosing slowley, Dr Genaw was a great Dr. His staff and all of them treat you with great respect and when your nervous and scared this is the kind of Dr that any patient would want to have, I was kept in an extra day because of my bloodpressure and was released on day 3 to come back to Canada my home. Thanks to Dr. Jeffrey Genaw he changed my life for the Better and so did I. I had the Gastro Bi-pass and it was a great success.

Nov. 8, 2011
Overall
avatar

I was very happy with my surgeon and the staff at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. This hospital was out of my HAP insurance medical network. Even though my network had a bariatric program, they required me to have the surgery at Henry Ford because it was rated as a Center of Excellence. That spoke volumes to me. Insurance companies don't put out money unless they believe that services will provide optimal results. I guess they don't want to pay more out if things go wrong. They give you 3 months to lose a small percentage of weight so that the liver will shrink and give them more room for laproscopic surgery. If you can't lose the weight, you may not be serious enough to follow the program. You will be surprised what you can do if you want something bad enough. I don't miss the wild craving for Coca Cola, chocolates and chips. I am getting a second chance at life. Thanks Dr. Genaw!

Oct. 9, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr. Genaw was pleasant and professional. However, If I had it to do over again, I would go elsewhere for my surgery. Henry Ford Hospital is located in the middle of a ghetto (horrible) and the staff there were the most unprofessional I have ever seen in hospital setting. It was the dirtiest hospital I have ever seen in my life. The staff in the Bariatric surgery department were nice, but made several mistakes, such as failing to enter appointments into the computer which resulted in me driving over an hour to find out I did not have an appointment (even when I had an appointment card stating I did). I also felt like they were very controlling and there was always this implicit (many times explicit) threat that if I did not comply 100% with EVERYTHING they said, my surgery would be delayed. The very worst part was that Dr. Genaw's practice takes many patients from Canada, which backs things up for everyone else. I had to wait an additional 6 months after I received final approval, because they were so back logged.

Jan. 26, 2011
avatar
KJWood for Jeffrey Genaw

I love Dr. Genaw, he is kind and makes you feel very at ease.

I would rate him at a perfect "10"

June 12, 2010
avatar

RNY Feb 5, 2009

May 21, 2010
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.