Winthrop Surgical Weight Loss Bariatric Center
Write Review

59 Reviews for Winthrop Surgical Weight Loss
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Absolutely the best ! I first met Dr. Barkan at an informational seminar he conducted in April 2011 and he appeared very competent, but direct. I met him for my initial consultation later that same month and he recommended the Sleeve for me(I had done research beforehand and was leaning towards the Sleeve but didn't mention that to him at first). He gave me the reasons that he recommended the Sleeve , which I was comfortable with, and gave me a binder which listed all of my insurance requirements and required medical tests. I was impressed that his office offered support groups ,a coordinator to maintain my files, a bariatric nurse and nutritionist to answer my questions , and a comprehensive aftercare program. I next met with Dr. Barkan January 2012 after insurance approval-this was a mandatory meeting where a family member or friend must also attend- Dr Barkan answered all of our questions directly and honestly, including all possible risks and complications.My surgery was done using the da Vinci robot and I have had virtually no pain and no complications. I was pleasantly surprised that he visited me before he performed my surgery, later on that day after surgery, the following morning, and the next following morning. I also saw him for my 2 week follow up. Dr Barkan is not the most talkative doctor, but he will impress you with his competence, knowledge and experience. Some may prefer a doctor who is more talkative or friendly(bedside manner), however if I had to choose between competence and bedside manner, while I would not want a doctor who is rude or evasive or abrupt,(which he is NOT) I definitely prefer a doctor to be skilled and competent and able to answer my questions and address all of my concerns- in these areas Dr. Barkan excels. As I've gotten to know Dr. Barkan better I find that he has a dry sense of humor and is very comforting- he also has an amazing memory- in January 2012 he noted the difference in my hairstyle at our first meeting in Apri2011,although he hadn't seen me in between these months. I certainly would-and have- recommended him to a friend and a co-worker.

March 24, 2012
Overall
avatar
prnati143 for Collin Brathwaite

I am almost 2 weeks post op (surgery date 3/12/12) from getting my RNY done and Dr.Brathwaite did an amazing job and I would change my surgeon for anything I am so glad I chose him.. His team in the patchogue office was amazing and so friendly and helped me thru my rough times.. Thank You so much Dr.Brathwaite I will be for ever grateful... :-)

March 24, 2012
Overall
avatar

Dr Brathwaite is the top dog when it comes to weightloss surgery.I came to him with the lapband in place already from another doc.My port flipped and he fixed it but the band was just not right for me. I was having excrutiating daily headaches caused by pseudotumor.I couldn't walk straight,talk straight and driving was just to dangerous for me.I had absolutely no life.Dr Brathwaite knew immeadiately that I needed the RNY.Although I was scared to death it was what I had to do.The insurance did not want to pay since I had already had the band,however Dr B spoke to them and they changed thier mind.had my surgery 4-4-2011 and have since lost over 100 lbs.I highly reccomend this doctor.He is one of the nicest people you will ever meet.In the hospital he is so respected and they treat his paitents like gold.

Dec. 28, 2011
Overall
avatar

My first impression of him was that he was greatfully professional. The more he got to know me, the more became relaxed and I could kid with him. His office staff in Greenville, Pa. was terrific, knowledgeable, and very helpful with any questions or problems. I didn't dislike him at all. Aftercare, he was supportive and understanding. Most all important, patient.

May 21, 2011
avatar

Dr. Brathwaite was amazing. I was very nervous before the surgery but after speaking with him I was extremely calm and relaxed. He has a wonderful bedside manner and answered all my questions without rushing me or acting as though I was annoying him (I arrived to the hospital a little late), which is something I've experienced with several doctors in the past. The surgery went great and everyone I had asked about him had nothing but the greatest things to say. He is regarded as a truly gifted surgeon and I would have to agree. If you choose Dr. Brathwaite, you are certainly putting yourself in good hands.

May 15, 2010
avatar

Dr. Brathwaite is Very caring! The staff is great! the groups help so much

Dec. 30, 2009
avatar

My first impression of Dr. Brathwaite was that he was a sincere and compassionate individual. He has a partner whoI have not had direct dealings with. Dr. Brathwaite's staff is friendly and effecient. Dr. Brathwaitte really stresses the importance of strict aftercare visits and participation in a support group, which his office does offer. I really enjoy it. He was very thoruogh in preparing me for surgery and informative about the potential risks. Overall I would give him a high rating. His surgical competance and bedside manner were were both great. Only two draw backs so far. The first is that after surgery my post op visits are not with him but with his nurse practitioner. No negative comments about the care received, I just wished my 1st post op visit would have been with him. The second draw back is that I'm not overly impressed with the after hours responce when a message is left with the service and Dr. Brathwaite's partner is the one on call. The number of messages that had to be left in order to get a return call and the length of time it took to get a call back from his partner was not acceptable.

Oct. 2, 2009
avatar

I am not only Dr.Braithwaites patient but I have also worked with him in the past when he was a surgeon at Stony Brook University Hospital. He is an angel, there are no other words to describe him. I would not be having this surgery if he was not the one performing it.

Sept. 13, 2009
avatar

I know God sent Dr Brathwaite to me. He is a strong man of God, and I will be forever Thankful to him and the Lord.

June 2, 2009
avatar

My surgery is 02/02/2009 and I can not say enough about Dr. Brathwaite and his staff. They have been wonderful to me and I am truly blessed. God steered me towards him and now I know why. Everything so far has been wonderful and can not complain about anything under anyone's control. If you are seriously thinking about surgery contact him. He is the best.I am now post op and I still can not say anything negative in any way about Dr. Braithwaite. I would follow this man anywhere. He is a great surgeon and has a huge faith and believe in God and I can not choose anyone else for that reason.

April 10, 2009
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.