Commonwealth Surgeons, LTD.'s Photo

Commonwealth Surgeons, LTD. Bariatric Center

avatar
Neil Hutcher
M.D.,F.A.C.S.
avatar
Eliseo Bautista
M.D.,F.A.C.S.
158 Reviews for Commonwealth Surgeons, LTD.
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Before considering surgery with this dr., ask why his license in Florida was taken away (Google his name & Florida Board of Health) - track record is quite concerning (not just in FL, but in VA, too)& needs to be researched thoroughly before putting your life in his hands.

ww2.doh.state.fl.us/imageappnet/getImage.aspx?dohdocid=2465621

Jan. 11, 2013 (posted as a non-patient)
avatar

Fantastic doctor. Very knowledgeable and an excellent surgeon. I've had zero complications!

Aug. 12, 2012

1 previous review. « hide

Fantastic doctor. Very knowledgeable and an excellent surgeon. I've had zero complications!

Aug. 12, 2012
avatar

I have been very impressed with Dr. Bautista and the staff at Commonwealth Surgeons. My first impression was positive and has only got better. Dr. Bautista is straight to the point and very professional. The Bariatric Surgery program stresses a structured aftercare program. Dr. Bautista addresses the risks of surgery during the appointment and also with the Emmi web- based program. I would rate Dr. Bautista overall at 100%. I would rate both surgical competence and bedside manner equally important.

June 9, 2011
avatar

Dr. Hutcher is very knowledgeable and skilled at what he does, yet he is not arrogant in any way. He has a great sense of humor; he made me smile on many days when i didn't think i could.

I was also very impressed at how caring he was--this was my first surgery and he came in before it started and talked with me and reassured me and calmed my remaining fears. He also came everyday after while i was hospitalized to see how i was doing.

His office staff is wonderful; they are prompt in answering any questions you have, no matter how trivial you may think it is. They are dedicated and encourage you to stay on track and participate in the support groups.

Overall, i am very happy that i chose Dr. Hutcher as my surgeon and i look forward to a long relationship with his office.

Sept. 4, 2010
avatar

My first impression of Dr. Hutcher was he was a short older guy and I had concerns about whether or not he would pass out duriing my surgery. I know crazy but true and he was very thorough and expects his patients to be very knowledgeable in what is going to take place. My impression changed over time as he made sure either himself or his staff was readily available to answer all questions and concerns and he had a sense of humor. He ensured me that he takes extra measurements to ensure the safety of his patients compared to other doctors. rnrnI give him and his staff 10 stars from beginning to end. St Mary's Hospital was so clean and I had a room to myself which was a big plus. I couldn't sleep in the bed so they brought in a recliner chair with all the whistles and all to accommodate me. I loved their pina colada icee and their jello was really good. The nurses were laughing at me because I was obsessed with them when everyone else didn't like. rnrnI would recommend my doctor and hospital to anyone and everyone who is looking to have the surgery done in the Richmond area. This hospital is one of the Center for Excellence for Bariatric.

Nov. 18, 2009
avatar

Dr Bautista in Richmond, VA is a very accomplished surgeon. In a pre-surgical meeting with his colleagues, we were told this practice (Commonwealth Surgeons) had never had a death since the inception of the practice. That fact gave me great peace of mind to go ahead and get the lapband. rnrnDr. Bautista is a very busy man who is sometimes interrupted during my visits. Thus, I chose to meet for fills with his nurse/practitioner instead. The staff is greaaaaat!. Aftercare is strongly stressed. Very competent doctor, not much on bedside manner. Very cerebrel. I recently moved to NH in May 2009. Surgery was Jan 2008.

Aug. 31, 2009
avatar

i met with dr. bautista only 14 days before my RNY gastric bypass. he came into the conference room and comfortably answered a list of questions that i had compiled for him the night before. it was obvious that i had fully researched my decision and he seemed energized by the depth of our conversation.rnrnmy first impression was that he was on the intellectualized end of cocky. what sealed the deal was that he seemed like the kind of doctor that would take any surgical failures as personal failures.rnrni had indicated in our initial meeting that i did not want to have any pork derivatives in my surgery so he had done some research and found a synthetic blood thinner for me to use, called ARIXTRA, and even spoke with the pharmaceutical representative, having them come to his office and discuss him using the medicine on me.rnrnhe called me the night before surgery, asking if i was ready for the next day and if i still wanted him to use the ARIXTRA. while i had him on the phone, i needed to find out what would happen if my liver hadn't been shrunken enough during the pre-op diet. rnrni was concerned that he would have to cut me open rather than do the surgery laparoscopically. he immediately explained that he's only had to cancel two patients' surgeries while in the operating room in 5 years due to fatty livers. he assured me that my liver would be fine.rnrnin the recovery room, he listened intently to my complaints and prescribed things to make me feel better. he was more than willing to change medications a few times until the combinations were right.rnrndr. bautista isn't the type to be handing out hugs and calling folks \"sweetie\" but who needs that? i have a family for those things. what i needed was a very skilled surgeon that would stay up late researching my special needs and not try to dissuade me from what i knew i wanted, even if it was outside of his regular routine.rnrndr. bautista is competent, conscientious and thorough. in fact, his peers all know him by name and regard him as some kind of bariatric genius.rnrni know other people who have chosen dr. bautista. they all said that he disliked having conversations with his patients if they came in sounding ignorant. i wouldn't doubt that one bit. i can see how he would get irritated by people who are uninformed and haven't familiarized themselves with their own medical issues.rnrnmy only criticism, which is more like a suggestion, is that the office staff at commonwealth surgeons should schedule people's meetings with the surgeon BEFORE they attend their info classes. i should not have been meeting the surgeon as the final step of my pre-op process.rnrnother than that, i had a fantastic experience. i would rate dr. bautista at an 9 out of 10, leaving room at the top for when i go to my follow-up appointments.rnrnadios & ciao ciao from AFRICATrn(known to the surgical practice as nicole rush)

Aug. 2, 2009
avatar

A friendly, know it all dinosaur. Wonderful reviews from those who have survived. The others aren't around to write about it. God help if you have a problem with this plumber.

March 1, 2009
avatar

Dr Hutcher is awesome. Best in the world. He Really cares. Everyone at Comm Surgeons is great. One exception,waas treated in E R one week post off for infected incision by Dr Cowan. This butcher will never touch me again.Even with this said I will never regret having my surgery. Best of luck to everyone.

Jan. 28, 2009
avatar

My first impression was that Dr. Hutcher is a realy knowledgable and funny man. This will definitely make this process easier for me. My impression has not changed about Dr. Hutcher, he is a man that represents integrity and all the things I want in a surgeon. The staff was very helpful throughout the process of getting the surgery approved to making sure everything was covered and I understood the surgery fully. I have nothing I can say that I like the least about him. If I had one thing to pick is that I did not meet him prior to this. Future patients need to know that he is a great doctor that believes fully in what he is doing and stands firm on the patients knowledge of what will occur during this process. He will ensure that the patient realizes the changes that must take place after surgery and the restrictions and why they must take place. He provides a very structured aftercare plan with multiple followups the first year and annual ones the proceeding years for the rest of the pateints' life. He made sure that I had all the information I needed to understand the risks associated with the procedure and also addressed all my questions, comments and concerns. Overall on a scale of 1 to 10 I would have to rate him as 10+. Both the surgical competence and bedside manner are excellent at this time.

Jan. 27, 2009
DISCLAIMER:
The information on this page is presented solely as a tool for public use and contains information supplied by the owner of this profile or the members of this site. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.