Ellner Bariatric at Alvarado Hospital's Photo

Ellner Bariatric at Alvarado Hospital Bariatric Center

57 Reviews for Ellner Bariatric at Alvarado Hospital
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

UPDATE!! I am now 5 years post op Lap. gastric bypass. The review below was written nearly five years ago and I continue to stay in contact with Dr. Ellner. I speak at her lectures to potential patients and I still contact her yearly for my blood work and any questions I have. She is the best the industry has to offer and Im 100% certain of it! I am five years post op, have had two children and have STILL maintained a weight of 155 pounds. My total loss was 165 pounds and Ive kept it off for five years :) This suregeon is a God sent....and my friend :) Love you Dr. E!!

My first impression of Dr. Ellner was in one word, Friend. I had my lap RNY surgery on 1/23/06 I am 19 days out and down 31 pounds. Dr. Ellner has been a friendly, professional and understanding "partner" from the day I attended her seminar. There are not many doctors of any kind who have her knowledge, technique or bed side manner. This is a woman in touch with the difficulties of the obese and although she is very thin obviously understands the struggles in her patients lives.

She is empathetic, structured, a vital source of information and most of all an honestly caring and compassionate human being. When I woke up from surgery I dont remember a thing....except her being over my bed putting a teddy bear on my chest. I held that bear every day in the hospital and will treasure it, not because it is cute...but because it reminds me of the WOMAN WHO SAVED MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!
Jody Green

Feb. 2, 2011
avatar

SHE IS THE BEST OUT THERE. SHE IS COMPLETLY DEDICATED TO THE PATIENT SHE HAS BEEN IN THE BIZNESS FOR A LONG TIME. SHE HAS NOTHING BAD ON HER RECORD SHE IS THE CENTER OF EXCELLENCE. THE STAFF AT HER OFFICE IS REALLY NICE AND HELPFULL. SHE STAYS ON TOP OF YOU AND YOUR BARIATRIC HEALTH. I AM STILL LEARINIG ABOUT THE AFTER CARE PROGRAM AFTER ALL I AM ONLY 3 WEEKS POST OP BUT I HAVE DONE MY REASEARCH. I WOULD NOT GO ANYWHERE ELSE I GIVE HER A 150% :)

Jan. 11, 2011
avatar

I appreciate a caring and kind surgeon, she has faced these same wl challenges in her personal life, and she has nothing to hide are be ashamed of, I believe her dedication is truley genuine, and she cares for her patients, and her staff is the best by far hands down, Im so happy with my change to her DR Julie Ellner, she is the best, she has my best interest at heart, and thats hard to come by with any Physician! as my surgeon and Alvorado Hospital were my surgery will be performed at, I couldn't ask for a more Dedicated weight loss team.

Dr Julie Ellner @ Alvarado Hospital "Center of Excellence", San Diego, Ca.

Dec. 4, 2010
avatar

Dr. Ellner was the best! She is very personable and caring. She is also a very good surgeon who understands the needs of bariatric patients. The more I got to know here, the more I like her.rnrnHer staff was very helpful! I was treated with respect and all my questions wqere answered in a timely manner.rnrnDr. Ellner is very concerned about aftercare and stresses the need to follow her post-surgery rules as outlined in her guide, the TOOLKIT. It is very helpful and gives great information.rnrnI would recommend Dr. Ellner to anyone who is serious about making this change in their life. She is a great surgeon as well as being very congenial and concerned about the obese patient and their health care.

Aug. 28, 2009
avatar

WOW!! Just to have her call you to review with you your history was like talking to a family member...so very professional and her background in bariatric surgery is tops...believe me I researched all physicians and her reputation is the best!!rnrnHer office staff-from reception to insurance and her wonderful nurses were all very professional and always quick with a response regarding everything from insurance coverage to medical questions...no waiting at all.rnrnAll future bariatric patients should know this...rnShe cares. She listens. Her goal is to make the most of your life with the gift of bypass surgery...She has saved my life and added years to it...rnrnHer aftercare program is very structured and she actively participates in it..from phone callsrnto visits to the support groups out of town when she lectures in the area..rnShe is very upfront about the risks involved,rnand wants to make sure you are comfortable and aware how the surgery is performed even up to the tools used...and she provides the guidlines and tools to help you use your new tool...making sure you are aware that its not magic....you do have to participate!!rnShe is the only bariatric surgeon i will ever recommend....I only accept the best!! And believe me if she was trained in, cardiology-orthopedics, spine specialties--she would be my top notch surgeon to go to for all surgeries!!!rnHer bedside manner is fantastic! She talks to you not at you and its truly obvious she enjoys seeing the life changes going on with her patients....she says she's with me for life....rnI believe it!!rnrn

July 29, 2008
avatar

My experience with Dr. Ellner has been fantastic. Based on my experience, I find her to be a talented surgeon who truly cares about me as an individual. Beyond talent, I find her to be positive and friendly.rnrnI found the program she has in place for patients to be very effective, which I say as somebody who had the surgery nearly 6 years ago. Her practices have helped me to achieve long-term success. She and her team encouraged me to get healthy eating habits in place early on. As a result, I've been able to face real life challenges and achieve long-term success.

Feb. 2, 2008
avatar

Dr. Ellner was bubbly and fun to chat with. She seemed like she really enjoyed her job and enjoyed doing it bacause of the people she was helping. Dr. Ellner addressed all the questions I had regarding the risks and she sat down with me to basically go over the pros and cons of the surgery. the aftercare has been a little lacking although any time I've called with a question, there's always been someone to help me out. Overall, I would recommend Dr. Ellner as she was competent and her bedside manner were both great.

Jan. 11, 2008
avatar

I loved Dr. Ellner! She presented herself as kind and yet very knowledgeable! Her staff is Wonderful! They are ready and willing to answere any question I have no matter large or small. rnDr. Ellner is very very dedicated to her patients putting great emphasize on aftercare. There is monthly check ups and in the future she will regularly check on me and see how I am doing! rnHer program is very structured in the way that she lets you know what to expect from her upfront no suprises so you are very aware of risks, what to expect in terms of progress, how we will feel. She covers everything! I rate her a 10 she is great in both surgical competence and bedsid manner. When I was in the hospital her family member died she wanted to make sure her patients were ok before she left for the funeral. If any of us was not progressing appropriatly than she would not have left. That is dedication and passion for what you do and who you treat! :-)

May 13, 2007
avatar

My experiences so far has been that Dr. Ellner and her staff are very competent and friendly. rnrnI am very encouraged about Dr. Ellner's 'track record' and capabiities and I am looking forward to having surgery as soon as approved by the insurance.

April 21, 2007
avatar

I had surgery in June 2006 with Dr. Julie Ellner in San Diego, CA. rnI was impressed with her knowledge and understanding of obesity issues and her confidence in her skills as a surgeon. She explained the different surgeries and the risks involved in all types. After hearing her lecture I knew that she was the right surgeon for me.rnMy surgery was performed at Alvarado Hospital in San Diego. The hospital staff was wonderful during the procedure. The care I've received since that time (via telephone) from Dr. Ellner's office staff has always been exceptional as well. Someone is always there to answer my questions and provide support.rnDr. Ellner also provides us with a manuel that answers many questions that come up both before and after surgery. I feel that I made the right choice in both having bariatric surgery and in choosing Dr. Julie Ellner as my surgeon. rn

March 22, 2007
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.