St. Joseph's Area Health Services's Photo

St. Joseph's Area Health Services Bariatric Center

70 Reviews for St. Joseph's Area Health Services
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

10 years post op and I had to have my gallbladder removed by Dr. Smith. He did NO testing before surgery, just assumed it was my gallbladder. When I woke from surgery not only did I have my gallbladder removed, which was not necessary, but I actually had a bowel obstruction. Dr. Smith found a hernia during surgery, did not fix. Said he fixed my bowel obstruction. I was home for less than 12 hours when everything Dr. Smith did came undone due to my intestines spinning in the hernia he DID NOT fix. I was immediately rushed to another hospital and had to have emergency surgery to fix everything he did wrong. My insides were floating in my own feces. I had to intestinal surgeries in four days, was hospitalized for 7 days due to the lack of care by Dr. Daniel Smith. I lost my job, so I lost my health insurance for myself and my son, I was two weeks from taking finals at school, but had to take an F in both classes leaving me to retake the classes at $4000. I would NEVER recommend Dr. Smith for ANY type of surgery again. When you can diagnose a patient without doing any pretesting you should NO longer be practicing. My total for all my losses was approx. $150,000. I did see a lawyer, but do to the laws that protect doctors I was unable to sue for what he did to me. For your own health and well being, NEVER use St. Josephs Hospital or Dr. Daniel Smith in Park Rapids, MN. You are a $ sign! If they mess up, no one cares!

Jan. 7, 2014
avatar

Very good experience the only thing is I have never even spoke to my surgeon

Feb. 28, 2012
avatar
Matt2011 for Daniel Smith

Dr. Smith and his staff are excellent. I couldn't have made a better decision, to have my surgery in Park Rapids.

Jan. 11, 2012
avatar

Hi....Dr. Smith and his whole staff are absolutely the greatest. Very personable and willing to help with issues that seem to pop up. I was so very happy I ended up going there since i had been with another place in Fargo,ND for about 7 months. But .....GREATLY hands down....THIS was MUCH MORE a BETTER CHOICE!!!!!! Glad I took a chance to try them! Since they were farther away from me I thought i should just go where it was closer to go......NOT!!!!!! THis is a MAJOR surgery and should be very important to LOOK at everything involved....even though its farther from me.
I had surgery on Aug. 9th 2011. Stayed in the hospital for 4 days then was able to go home.
Even after I was at home, I had a few questions to ask about......and they were able to help and treat me still like a friend. I am so glad to have met them and now for the rest of my life....they are like family!!!!!! THANK YOU GUYS!!!!!

Aug. 27, 2011
avatar

Dr. Wroblewski and his team were wonderful. He took time to explain everything about all of the procedures he does and really helped me with my decision to have the Roux-n-y. He really stressed that surgery was not a "cure" and that follow up was essential to my success. The staff at the office was wonderful as well. They have called to check on me and have been very reassuring. I am very pleased with my choice of program and surgeon, in spite of the fact I had to drive 3 1/2 hours to have it done!. I look forward to what the next year is going to bring.

July 15, 2011
avatar

My doctor is awesome.He's a great surgeon, has a great manner, explains all the risks,has a good staff. I was very pleased and feel like the entire staff done a great job.Connie

Sept. 16, 2010
avatar
bkrancher for Robert Wroblewski

Dr. Wroblewski explains everything very clearly and has a great way of making you feel comfortable. Any post surgery issues or questions I have had, he's been paged and calls. The support team he has at the center is great. Always available, always supportive and very knowledgeable. I am so glad I chose this facility and Dr. Wroblewski.

There is a very commprehensive aftercare program including support groups twice a month, weekly nutrition roundtable and access to Bariatric staff by phone 24/7.

June 19, 2010
avatar

When I met Dr. Smith my first impression was that he was confident, knowledgable and approachable. He had quick and to the point answers to every question I asked him. My impression of him didn't change after talking to him longer. When I showed up at 5am for my surgery he was basically there making his rounds with other patients and getting ready for me. The staff are AMAZING...the nurses really worked hard for me and would even just come in to talk when I didn't have visitors. I would ask for a popsicle and they'd check quick and bring it..pretty awesome. What I liked least about Dr. Smith was that I really didn't see him much. I think he had the weekend off, but his PA Sandy Jones was in each morning and she really got my rear in gear to drink my fluids. I would recommend Dr. Smith to anyone in my family, he was great. Aftercare with Dr. Smith is pounded in your head before, during, and after you leave. They always make sure you are doing ok. During the first consultation the nutritionist or LSW does let you know there are risks involved with the surgery, leaks, rupturing, and even death. Everyone knows what they are getting into before they have their surgery. If I had to rate him on a scale from 1-10 he would be a 8.5. I would have like to have seen him after the surgery, but after 2 months I've had no major problems and am happy I chose him as my surgeon.

April 11, 2010
avatar

He's very nice and explains things well.

March 10, 2010
avatar

my surgeon was dr smith. i had heard only great things about him so maybe expected too much? i saw him for a couple of minutes the day i drove to park rapids for the seminar (a 2 hour drive each way). and then i did not see him again until a few minutes before surgery and then it was FOR less than a minute. i never saw him again, not even after surgery. my impression was that although he seemed quite capable and competent, that he was EXTREMELY busy and did not have time for me. after the surgery, i had 2 fills and they were both done by a nurse. the first fill was very painful and took 4 or 5 tries. the second was better. overall, i was not impressed by the dr or hospital staff. ALTHOUGH MOST OF THE BARIATRIC TEAM WAS VERY GOOD TO WORK WITH, AND although it was a very small hospital, it was the most impersonal i have been too and i really could not wait to leave. just my opinion but i could not recommend this dr or hospital. i am now at the largest hospital in minneapolis, and the care and attention to my band and my needs has been top notch. smaller does not always mean better. JUST MY OPINION!

Feb. 3, 2010
DISCLAIMER:
The information on this page is presented solely as a tool for public use and contains information supplied by the owner of this profile or the members of this site. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.