Vanderbilt Center for Surgical Weight Loss Bariatric Center
www.mc.vanderbilt.edu/root/vumc.php?site=bariatric&doc=4202 Write Review

Vanderbilt Center for Surgical Weight Loss's Photo
110 Reviews for Vanderbilt Center for Surgical Weight Loss
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. English saved my life. Went through what was intended to be a complete gastic bypass, however, due to un-forseen issue, I went into upper resp. failure on the operating table quite a few times. Dr. English took the best course of action for me and did a gastric sleeve, he knew if this weight did not come off I was going to die anyway. He put his profession on the line to save my life. If I am correct, if someone has any issues before the start of surgery, the doctor is not suppose to go through with the surgery until the issue is resolved. Dr. English and his staff stablized me everytime I went into resp. failure. In the end he still had to face my mother and tell her that I was dying. However, somehow, some reason I did not die. Though, I am not thin... I am no longer 452 pounds... tho I still struggle with my weight issues... I no longer have breathing issues, high blood pressure, it no longer hurts to walk. Dr. English not only helped me survive... he helped me to LIVE. He gave me a life I once had. When I can I do plan to have this man do the second half of my surgery. If there is any Dr. that is worth being in the hands of... it is Dr. Wayne English. He shows compassion, he gets to know you as a person, he fights for everything for you. This is the guy who would stand besides you and help you walk if you needed the help. He won't turn his back on you, he won't leave you confused or un-educated. He doesn't lie, he won't mis-lead you. If you are currently looking... Choose Wayne English... he is in the weightloss center "of Excellence" at Marquette General Hospital "Which is currently becoming LIFE POINT. IF you need contact info feel free to ask me. He saved my life... I am sure he can help you save yours.

Oct. 16, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I was very impressed with Dr. Williams and would highly recommend him to anyone. Pre surgery and post op he was very understanding and answered all of my questions.

April 19, 2013

Overall
avatar

I have been very impressed with Dr. Williams so far. He has been very informative both times that we have talked and very professional as well. No questions seem too trivial for which I was so thankful since this entire process is very orchestrated from start to finish! I am working towards the finish line still. I hope to complete my 6-month doc supervised program in March and get scheduled for surgery in April. The staff at Vanderbilt are awesome as well. The facility is top-notch. I have not been to the hospital yet though so I cannot comment on the hospital facility, only the pre-op program facilities.

Jan. 8, 2012

Overall
avatar

Dr. Williams is the most caring, professional physican I have ever had contact with. He is a caring health care provider that truly listens to his patients. I wanted lap band surgery, but Dr. Williams explained why I needed the RNY procedure. He explained the benificial results that the procedure would produce and he was right on target. As can happen, I had a complication or two after surgery, however I could not ask for better care. Dr. Williams did a tremendous amount of research on the issues, consulted with other surgeons and took excellent care of me. He was truly concerned. He made sure that not only I understood what was going on, he always included my husband. The staff at Vanderbilt Center for Weight Loss Surgery are tops. I had an issue with one provider at the center who was stalling my surgery. I discussed the issue with Dr. Williams, he listened to my concerns and took over my care completely. I would recommend Dr.Williams to anyone considering WLS. He is the greatest. I have my life and my health back, and wonderful support from the team at Vanderbilt.

Nov. 9, 2011

Overall
avatar

In my personal experience, Dr. Williams and Vanderbilt University Medical Center have been fantastic! The before and after-surgery care have been wonderful! Prior to surgery on 03/30/10, Dr. Williams and his staff answered all of my medical questions related to the surgery. I never felt rushed. Dr. Williams and the staff took time explaining anything I had questions on. On the day of surgery and in the immediate days after, I was well taken care of. The surgical staff came in to the pre-surgery room and fully explained all of the steps they were taking in preparing me for surgery. I saw Dr. Williams before and after surgery that day and the following day. My surgery went so smoothly and my recovery went so well that I was able to be discharged 24 hours after surgery. My recovery in the following weeks went flawlessly. When I had questions post-op, I called the nurses and they answered my questions right away. Since sugery, I continue to periodically meet with the surgeon and the nutritionist. They have been exceedingly encouranging and informative in my continuing path toward weight-loss and maintenance. I could not be happier with the outcome of my surgery. I have my health back and I have my life back! Thank you to Dr. Williams and the Vanderbilt Weight Loss Clinic staff!!! My experience with you has been nothing short of amazing!

April 24, 2011

3 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr english is a very Kind and good surgeon and his staff is excellant I couldn't ask for better care and I wouldnt hesitate refur anyone to him

June 29, 2010

avatar

Dr. English met with a group I was in for educational day. He answered everyone's questions and I thought of him as quite experienced and feel he is doing what he likes to do, helping people.... to loose that weight that they just can't get off.

At my multidisciplinary day he stopped in and talked with me personally. I am comfortable with him as my doctor, I'm just scared of what it will be like after I have the operation. I do not want to fail and I do not want to overeat but still feel satisfied.

On my surgery date, Dr. English came in and visited with me before my surgery. He did an excellant job with my surgery and I had no surgical complications. His staff/team are all wonderful. I've had my 2-week follow up where I got my staples out and just recently had my 6-week appointment. Everything that I have experienced since my surgery is practically everything that was previously explained to me prior to my surgery date.

I am very glad that I chose Dr. English to do my surgery. He is a gods blessing and my health is getting better every day.

May 1, 2010

avatar

Dr.Williams was super he came in before the surgery and made sure that I was ready for the surgery.Then I saw him once the night of the surgery and then he came back the next morning and was bragging on me that I had already walked 3 times around the desk..

April 30, 2010

1 person found this helpful

avatar

Dr. Williams and his staff are simply awesome. I feel very fortunate to have had such a great surgeon and the rest of the team to help me through my WLS journey. He was very forward about the pros and cons of the surgery and the risks, and answered any questions I could throw at him. The aftercare has been great, whenever I need something, they get back with me and answer my concern.

I felt so comfortable with them that I went back to Dr. William for a recent hernia repair and got the same great care and with much better results than I would have receive from a general surgeon due to Dr. Williams vast knowledge of general and WLS surgery. He was able to do it all laparoscopically and save me alot of time healing from the repair.

As well, I'm so grateful for all he and his staff have done for me and my wife, we offered to lead a support group and now we lead a monthly Post Op support group at Vanderbilt. If your insurance covers Dr. Williams, I suggest you see him, he's the best.

Dec. 15, 2009

2 people found this helpful

avatar

-Surgeon at Vanderbilt University Medical Center where I am having my surgery. He is a very nice man and I feel very comfortable with him performing my surgery.

Oct. 1, 2009

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.