Adolfo Fernandez's Photo

Adolfo Fernandez Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

5 yr Experience

5.5 yr in Bariatrics

5.5 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

5.5 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

75% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 70


58 Reviews for Adolfo Fernandez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I started my journey with Fuzz almost 2 yrs ago. My sister had the rny but since I need Ibruprofen for
Arthritus, this was not an option. Then i had insurance woes, but finally passed everything and made it to Feb 12, 2013.
His offices have moved out of the hospital now. Almost everyone is under the same roof now. Nutrition, classes, nutrition shop, exercise etc. It is an amazing place. Baptist hospital is about 7 minutes away.
My surgery was amazing. I would truly, wholeheartedly reccommend Fuzz.

Feb. 15, 2013
avatar

Dr. Fuzz did my gastric bypass surgery a little over 8 years ago and it changed my life forever and for the better. His entire team was simply amazing and my recovery was a breeze. Expectations were set and realistic. I have lost over 175 pounds and look and feel great. He even came by to visit during one of my plastic surgery procedures. His bedside manner is unmatched in my opinion. He really cares about his patients and their success with the surgery he performs. Highly recommend this hospital and Dr. Fernandez. Thank you for changing my life!

Lisa

Aug. 7, 2012
avatar

Oh my!!! I can't say enough good things about Dr. Fuzz, the nutritionist (Amber), the psychologist (Jeff); the entire hospital stay, and staff. I'm so glad that I chose Baptist Hospital for my surgery. Everything went so well. Even to this date (3/20/12), if I have a question, I can contact any of them at any time and they will answer all of my questions/concerns. They are awesome.

March 20, 2012
avatar

Amazing surgeon. That is pretty much all I can say. He did such a wonderful job and my recovery to date has been wonderful.

Feb. 15, 2012
avatar

First Impression of Dr. Fuzz was a good one. He seemed to be very caring and I liked his bedside manner.
I have meet with Dr. Fuzz twice since my surgery, he coninues to be very nice and pleasant each time.

Aug. 31, 2010
avatar

i really liked Dr.Fernandez,he's straightforward and to the point.His staff is very friendly and helpful.Will add more info as we move along in this adventure.

July 15, 2010
avatar

I'm now twenty-four months out from surgery and feeling great! I have now lost 202.3 pounds. I love my RNY.

My surgeon was Adolfo Fernandez in Winston-Salem, NC. His nickname is "Fuzz". Two of my friends also had him do their surgery; together they have lost over 350 pounds (one in fourteen months and the other in two years). Both absolutely LOVED him and I now know why.

I am extremely pleased with my results. And I am very confident in Fuzz's abilities. I was and remain very impressed.

His support staff is the best!! Very informative and interested in getting everyone on the right track and providing the very best care their patients.

Here is a link to his bio: http://www1.wfubmc.edu/gs/faculty/DrFernandez.htm

June 14, 2010
avatar

The first time I met doctor Fernandez was at my first seminar, a little over a year, he did a great job explaining the benefits and risks of the surgery. When I first went there, I was thinking about doing the Gastric bypass procedure, knowing very little about the lap band procedure, Dr. Fernandez explained both procedures, their risks and benefits, as well as, long term and short term advantages and disadvantages. I had also given Dr. Fernandez my application for the first time. Not knowing, I had to complete a six month weight loss program, as a requirement of medicate, he kindly explained that I would need to do that first. Per his request, I had completed a six month weight loss program. Recently, I had sent all of my medical records, pulmonologist diagnosis, along with all of the six month weight loss program records. Unfortunately, at the end of my six month weight loss treatment, I had gained about four bounds and my dietitian didn't take it well. I had received her documentations, along with my family doctor, and pulmonologist records. Being that my dietitian's notes weren't favorable, although, my diagnosis, and medical conditions, are highly qualifying. I still suggested for my doctor to sent all records directly through her office to Dr, Fernandez office, instead of me mailing it to avoid speculations in accuracy. Now, that all of my records are faxed, since December of 09. I had been notified that I will be contacted in a week then. So, I'm left thinking and wondering, where I would be with that, since I haven't heard back from them, However, the people I had spoken with through the phone were helpful and very kind. Unfortunately, that's all the contact I had with Dr.Fernandez.

Jan. 17, 2010
avatar

My surgeon was Dr. Adolfo \"Fuzz\" Fernandez at Baptist Hospital in Winston Salem, NC. The first time that I met him was at the information seminar that he held. My first impression was \"Wow, he's YOUNG!\" He still sounded like he knew his stuff and he seemed very experienced.rnWhen I had my first appointment with him, it sealed the deal. I knew I would be having my surgery with him,I just had to decide which surgery!rn Everyone in his office has been nothing but on top of things and professional. rnI can't say that there's anything that I like least about him, he's just awesome!rnrnFuture patients should know that he will take the time to answer any questions you have. He doesn't make you feel rushed when you go in to see him. He has a really good aftercare program set up, as well as support groups are held monthly in Winston Salem. rnrnHe will tell you the risks and the benefits of the surgeries. He didn't sugarcoat anything and I'm so glad that he was straight up with me. rnrnOverall, my rating for him is 100%+. I'm very happy that I chose \"Fuzz\". Don't let his age fool you, this man knows what he's doing and he's excellent at it. rnrnWhen asked \"Which is better surgical competence or bedside manner?\" I have to say both are great. He came to visit me in the hospital a couple of times and he was just so nice and funny, and to me that's just great. rnrnI don't have anything negative to say, because I didn't have any negative experiences with Dr. Fernandez, his staff or the hospital, all were wonderful.rnrnIf I had to say something that bothered me, it would be having to wait so long to go into surgery, but that was only because of my nerves about the surgery. I really can't even complain about the waiting.rnrnIf you're in the area and are looking for a great surgeon, Fuzz is the man to see.

Dec. 19, 2009
avatar

My first impression of Dr. Fernandez was very down to earth and laid back which I like. He was very easy to talk to and answered all of my questions. His staff wass very nice. I would recommed other to him because he is very qualified in what he does and he makes his patients feel at ease. He told about the risks and the benifits of the surgery. I would rate him as an excellent surgeon. He has both surgical competence and great beside manner and they have an excellent before/aftercare support group.They also have an excellent aftercare program. The only thing I didn't like is that his clinic is with all the others and not separate.

Nov. 1, 2009
DISCLAIMER:
The information on this page is presented solely as a tool for public use and contains information supplied by the owner of this profile or the members of this site. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.