Atul Madan's Photo

Atul Madan Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

6 yr Experience

6 yr in Bariatrics

6 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

6 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

80% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 12

Max Age of Patient is 75


49 Reviews for Atul Madan
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I am getting the Lap Band surgery done in June of this year and I can say with confidence that I'm not nervous or anxious at all because of Dr. Madan. He thoroughly explained everything to me and assured me that I could call and ask him if I had any questions or if I had any issues I needed to discuss. His office is also a very comfortable environment but the waiting time could be improved. Highly recommend!!

Feb. 18, 2013
avatar

Dr. Madan has been my surgeon for a while now. I initially found him for a consultation for my Lap Band surgery and he was very helpful and to this day he is a major part of the reason I am still healthy and kicking. I highly recommend him to anyone looking for a bariatric surgeon!!

Feb. 12, 2013
avatar

It's really a great feeling reviewing Dr. Madan. Who is my Surgeon from a long since. I believe that any one can trust on him. He is the best ever on what he does!!

Feb. 8, 2013
avatar

Catherine Harner
520 South College Street
Covington, TN
38019



Dear Angel Network,

I would like to share my story with your readers. I am Catherine Harner, I was not an over weight child or teenager, although I grew up in an Italian family were if you were skinny you were sickly, and if you were plump you were healthy. During my teenage years I slowly started gaining weight. My days of working at Shoney’s at night & going to hair school during the day, at age 16, were I was eating on the go had slowly put the pounds on me. By the time I was 23, Married and had 2 kids I weight 220. I continued to slowly add on the pounds and when my third child was born in 1998 I weighed 250. By the time I reached 301 in 2002, I had MVP(Mitral Valve Prolapse), high blood pressure, high cholesterol, a strong family history of Heart disease & Diabetes, pain in my knees and ankle, I must of sprained my ankle 20 times or more over the years, that caused severe pain for several days each time. I decided all the diets, I had tried, that I had failed miserably at, weren’t going to work for me. So I made the decision to have Gastric Bypass Surgery. I was wearing a size 26. It took a year of test to prepare for the surgery, and a commitment to loose 30 pounds before surgery date, before I had my surgery on October 25, 2004. I weighed 260 pounds the day I went in for my surgery I had lost 41 pounds so Dr. Tichansky was impressed. It was a long road, It’s not an easy task to take on. It takes a lot of patience and trial and error before I got the hang of it. It also takes a whole new way of eating and making good decisions about what you eat. By October of 2005 I had went from 301 pounds to 135 pounds, went from a size 26 to a size 5, & by December 2005 I was a size 3. I owe all my success from such a strong support team. The Angels Network, & the support I got from my Post Op appointments with Dr. Madan & Dr. Tichansky. I owe them my life, for I no longer have any of the medical issues I had before my surgery, and my MVP is no longer as bothersome as it was before. I currently am a size 5/6 and is EXTREMELY happy with my outcome. I pray my story helps others who are on that rollercoaster that never seems to stop. Thank You Angels Network, Dr. Madan & Dr. Tichansky for all that you do! ~Catherine Harner
Look at after pics on facebook~Catherine Mistletoe Harner

Feb. 13, 2011
avatar

My surgeon was Atul Madan. He was wonderful. At the time he was at UTMG Memphis. He has now gone to head up the bariatric program in Miami.

July 19, 2009
avatar

I LOVE Dr. Madan!!! I miss him and I hate that he left Memphis but hey, I would have went to Miami also!!!! My impression of him has always been great! No least likes or dislikes! Know in the future you CAN count on him to be very personal with you! VERY structured aftercare!!!! The key to my success! I am a nurse so I already knew yet he still advised me of all of the risks! I rate him number one and very highly!!!!!! Both are great!!!! I miss him!!!!!!

March 10, 2009
avatar

Dr. Madan really knows his stuff and is a very competant surgeon. His practice/staff are not always as smooth as his ability to wield a scalpel. Honestly, that matters a lot more to me.

Oct. 23, 2008
avatar

Hey, Dr. Madan is the greatest... one week post op and still getting well, but he was there for me and accomodated my tight time line since I will be leaving Miami in August...

July 7, 2008
avatar

What was your first impression of him/her? My first impression of Dr Madan was very good. He is a very caring and knowledgable Dr. He was very patient and answered all of my questions. rnrnrnHow did your impression change over time? So far my impression has not changed but I have only seen him 1 time so far. I wanted to add that my impression of Dr Madan was correct. He is a wonderful dr and surgeon. I would recommend him to anyone in the area who is considering surgery. rnrnrnHow would you describe his/her office staff?rnThe staff is terrific. They were all friendly and postive. rnrnrnWhat did you like least about him/her? So far, my impression is 100% positive. rnrnrnWhat should future patients know about him/her? He is patient and will answer any question you have. He really seems to care about his patients. rnrnrnHow much does he/she emphasize aftercare? I know that they have an aftercare program and they emphasize that in the book you get. I'm sure as we get closer to the surgery we will talk about it even more. rnrnrnDoes he/she have a structured aftercare program? Yes.rnrnrnHow did he/she address the risks of surgery?rnWe talked about all aspects of the surgery, positive and possible negative aspects. Plus I had done tons of research so I knew what I wanted to ask. rnrnrnHow would you rate him/her overall? I think Dr. Madan is great rnrnrnWhich is better, surgical competence, bedsidernmanner, or both great? I think a Dr must have both especially in a speciality like this one where there is a lot of self esteem issues to be dealt with regarding the patients.

July 29, 2007
avatar
Bubbly

My first impression of Dr. Madan was that he was a nice guy, very well educated to be so young.rnrnMy impression hasn't change, I would have liked to have seen him in the operating room before surgery and at the hospital after surgery. That's my only complaint.rnrnOffice staff for the most part is cool. rnrnHe emphasizes aftercare a great deal and that's good.rnrnI would rate Dr. Madan as a 7 out of 10, only because of the treatment at the hospital.rnrnSurgical competence is great, beside manner, I wouldn't know, I never seen him while I was in the hospital.

Dec. 11, 2006
DISCLAIMER:
The information on this page is presented solely as a tool for public use and contains information supplied by the owner of this profile or the members of this site. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.