Ayotunde Adeyeri

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.98850574713 out of 5 with 113 ratings

Ayotunde Adeyeri Bariatric Surgeon MD, FASMBS
www.sterlingsurgicare.com Write Review

Ayotunde Adeyeri's Photo

17 yr Experience

16 yr in Bariatrics

17 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

16 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 19

Max Age of Patient is 65


avatar
Seun Sowemimo
MD, FACS
avatar
Lori Skurbe
RD, MPH, CDE
avatar
Melissa Tenny
Patient Support
avatar
MaryEllen Byrne
Patient Care Associate/Tech

113 Reviews for Ayotunde Adeyeri
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I decided to have lapo gastric bypass September 2011, Dr. Adeyeri made me feel so comfortable to be able to talk about my demons with weight gain, and what procedure would be best for me with the longest results. He allowed me to make the decision. When my pre op appointment came he answered all my questions and reassured me he would be ok, his sense of humor helps a great deal. Surgery day he again explained what he was going to do, talk to my mother and assured her I was in good hands, and I would be ok. I am 7 days post op and I have had nothing but good results and an awesome experience. Dr. A and his team, Julie and Mara are awesome. I was recommended to him from a friend and I will do so!! He has changed my life, and I will be forever thank you!!

March 21, 2012

2 people found this helpful

avatar

I first met Dr. Adeyeri in September 2011 at my initial consultation. At that time I was suffering from Insulin Dependent Type 2 Diabetes, Hypertension, Sleep Apnea and Morbid Obesity. Central Jersey Bariatrics came very highly recommended by my primary doctor as well as friends who are prior patients.

It was love at first sight!! Dr. A was so kind, and patient and understanding. He took the time to explain the different surgeries and how they worked, the time frames of each stage, how I would feel physically as well as mentally and answered each and ever question I had. I was incredibly nervous at first, but he soothed my nerves and made me feel excited and positive about such a life changing procedure. What impressed me the most was that while he recommended my procedure he told me the final choice was mine to make, he wanted me to be fully informed and come to the decision on my own. My husband and I were very impressed, and within a week or so we had decided on the Roux en Y Gastric Bypass Surgery. Mara, the office receptionist, is awesome! Very friendly and down to earth, and extremely informative. She was helpful with doctor recommendations, kept in touch with me throughout my prep time and was a life saver with the insurance company! Julie, the staff nutrionist, was helpful and informative during my 3 month pre op time - explaining the rationale behind meal replacements, liver functions, and after surgery care.

My GPS was January 12, 2012 and at that time I had lost approximately 40lbs from the liquid meal replacement program I was following for the preceding three months. My surgery went very well according to Dr. A!! I was so nervous, and he put me right at ease, as did the staff at Raritan Bay Medical Center. Be prepared, they will make you get up and walk the very same day as your surgery!!! And unlike my last abdominal surgery - I did NOT get a baby with this one!

The staff at Raritan Bay was awesome, the nurses are warm and caring, and always there for me. Dr. A visited daily and made sure to check that I was walking laps around the hallways! I highy recommend this hospital - everything was clean, and fresh, and comfortable, plus private rooms!! Woohoo!!

In the 2 weeks since my GPS, I have lost an additional 15lbs. My blood sugars have been normal, my blood pressure is fine and I am off all medications for Diabetes and Hypertension. I feel wonderful, I am progressing nicely with my food recovery program as I refer to it, I had blenderized chicken for dinner and it wasn't that bad! I feel better each day, minimal pain and am back to driving with no problems.

I have a new lease one life thanks to Central Jersey Bariatrics and Dr. Adeyeri and his staff and I am very, very thankful I chose to take the plunge and go for it!

Update: 3 months after surgery, I am down a total of 88lbs, 48 since the surgery. Feeling and looking fabulous, all thanks to Dr. A and CJB!

Jan. 28, 2012, Updated: April 12, 2012

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I first consulted Dr Adeyeri after finding out that I needed a revision of my gastric bypass. The original surgery was performed in 2005, by a different surgeon, and since then, I have developed a marginal ulcer, which led to a severe anastomotic stricture. I had become unable to hold down any food, and almost no fluids. This led to repeated hospitalizations for dehydration.
I began looking for a surgeon who specializes in revisions, and found Dr Adeyeri's OH profile. I found nothing but positive reviews, and was very impressed by what I read.
I made a appointment for a consult, which was handled very quickly, by his wonderful office staff, after I explained my situation.
Upon meeting Dr Adeyeri, I was very impressed with his professionalism and his bedside manner. He was obviously very knowledgable when it comes to the intricacies of such a complex surgery. He explained everything to me in detail, and made sure to answer all of my questions. I decided then and there, to have him perform my surgery.
I scheduled it for June, but after another hospitalization, it became clear that it needed to be done right away. Mara and Melissa worked very quickly to get it approved through my insurance, for May 1.
I had my revision on May 1, and Dr Adeyeri had his work cut out for him. The surgery took 4 hours, due to lots of scar tissue adhesions, and a hiatal hernia that needed to be repaired, along with the original issues we knew about going in.
My recovery has been extremely smooth, with very little pain, and I'm looking forward to being back to normal soon.
Dr Adeyeri and his staff are fantastic, and I highly recommend him for any bariatric or general surgery.

May 6, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I am a nurse and we all know we are the worst patients and the most critical.
I met Dr. Adeyeri as a member of our medical staff a few years prior to having my surgery. Even before being his patient my impression of him was that he was always professional, knowledgeable, confident and a true gentleman.
I came to him after my own research and was the "well prepared" patient. I realized there was still so much to learn and understand about gastric surgery. From the first appointment Dr. Adeyeri was excellent, always willing to answer questions and explain anything that I asked. He was honest and upfront with his responses. He has developed an excellent program for pre and post surgery. He makes sure his patients are both knowledgeable and prepared. The seminar and support group (which I thought would be a waste for a nurse) proved to be so valuble to me. He doesn't believe in the notion, of most surgeons, in that you had surgery and you are good to go. He has a great aftercare program and makes sure patients follow up. He actually attends support group and will answer questions when needed.
His office staff is fabulous. Mara is so sweet and compassionate she never makes you feel like you are a bother. She follows up with you through out the whole process so things don't get missed or you get lost. She is a God send to him and his patients. Kristin the dietician was excellent, she reviewed the diet and expectations. She was always available to ask questions to. Maureen the nurse was wonderful, understanding, compassionate and knowledgeable. She never judges you or your questions. She takes as much time as you need to make you feel comfortable. I see her at the support group and she stays for hours after if needed to makes sure she answers patients questions.
Dr. Adeyeri is clearly a highly skilled surgeon that coupled with his bedside manner makes him a great practitioner. He is always pleasant and upbeat when you see him, can put you at ease with his humor and make you comfortable and confident by his sheer wealth of skill and knowledge.
Rating Dr. Adeyeri seems like a difficult task, see I don't think a ten is enough. He is truly a wonderful man and outstanding surgeon. I could not have made a better choice and would recommend him even more.
I had a gastric sleeve (VSG) done on 10/30/13 and it was an overwhelming wonderful experience. I can't say thank you enough to Dr. Adeyeri and all his staff. I feel like I have been given a gift to make the rest of my life better and healthy than what it has been. Gerri

Nov. 10, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I had my bariatric surgery only 3 weeks ago at centerstate hospital in Freehold,N.J. The staff was very pleasant and met all my needs. My surgeon was top- notch. Dr. Adeyeri is a compassionate surgeon who really shows he cares. He knew my concerns I had due to past family issues with bariatric surgery, but Dr. Adeyeri made me feel comfortable and more convinced that this surgery would help me in the long run. I have had no bad effects post surgery, I feel great, and I look at each day in a new way. thank you Dr. Adeyeri for coming into my life. You have given me the chance to be around to see my grandbaies have babies of their own. I would highly recommend you to any person seeking to have weight loss surgery. Thank you,Jacqueline Cobilla

June 7, 2012

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Let me start off by saying 5 stars doesn't do Dr. Adeyeri justice (there really should be 100 star rating). He really takes his time with you, very informative, and reassuring. As an 23 year old female women, never in a million years would I have ever consider this surgery, but thanks to my mother who also was under the care of Dr. Adeyeri has no regrets. It's been 3 months and I feel great and my health issue from the past is finally on track.

April 28, 2012

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I am 90 days out and feel great ! It took a long time for me to make my mind up to have this done.Dr.Adeyeri is AAA .A ture gentalman and has high standards for him self, staff and his patients. I have nothing but great thing to say.I was out and walking my kids to school in a weekend! Thank Thank Thank for saving my life!

April 23, 2012

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

When I decided to have weight loss surgery I called Dr Washington office for an appointment. When I was told that he no longer was with the group, I made the appointment anyway, not knowing Dr Adeyeri. Well! to my delightful surprise, it was like hitting the lottery! At the first visit to the office he took the time to explain everything to my husband and I,he answered all our questions honestly even if it wasn't what we wanted to hear.
On June 23rd I had my gastric sleeve surgery done. I had never had any surgery before, so I was quite apprehensive. Dr Adeyeri kind and caring manner was so comforting.
Dr Adeyeri was always available to answer all my questions as the arised before and after surgery. I am now 9 months out and have lose 95 lbs. I fell great! and I owe it all to Dr Adeyeri.

March 27, 2012

1 person found this helpful

avatar

My decision to have weight loss surgery was not an easy one to make, but I started doing some research and my insurance company refered me to centra state hospital for an informational meeting where I meat Dr Sean. He was very informative I decided that this was something I wanted to do. When I made my appointment I was advised I would have o see Dr sean's associate Dr Adeyeri. i first met with him in July 2010. Dr A made an impression on me. His honesty and compassion was the first thing I noticed. I went to one of his support group meetings and I listened to people praise Dr A. I was unsure of what procedure was best for me. After that meeting I was sure that Dr A's recommendation was the way to go. I scheduled my gastric bypass surgery for 1/12/2012.
My stay at raritan bay medical center was fantastic. The first thing I would like to say is the private room was a definite key in my recoup process I was able to rest and sleep without the disturbance of a roommate, or worrying about annoying someone else. The staff was amazing everyone the were kind and caring every person i came in contact with from my pro-op to my discharge. I will say that after my surgery I now know why Dr A's patients hold him in such high regard. He is a wonderful person he made sure I was doing ok stressed what I needed to do to recover. He spent time with me after surgery never left until he knew I was comfortable with everything.
What really impressed me about this man is he not only took time to speak with me he also spent time with my family before and after surgery to make sure they were also comfortable with this process . Dr A has an amazing bedside manner which i find these rare.
I know this is a very personal decision but if anyone asked me if I would recommend the surgery I would send them to a meeting and I would refer them to Dr, A.
See you at the support group !!!
Thank you Dr Adeyeri !!

Feb. 29, 2012

1 person found this helpful

avatar

very understanding,wants to help you reach your goal and very good sense of humor. i will tell all my friends to go to dr adeyeri. he was honeslty the sweetest doctor ever. this is such a huge decision and he helped me through it and understood everything i was saying. his support groups and semiars are awesome to go to.

Jan. 24, 2012

1 person found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×