Brandt Lapschies's Photo

Brandt Lapschies Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

9 yr Experience

5 yr in Bariatrics

14 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

5 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is no set age


14 Reviews for Brandt Lapschies
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I found Dr Lapschies very competent and professional. He emphasizes a total lifestyle change before and after surgery stating preop that the surgery is not a guarantee for weight loss.

Jan. 16, 2005
avatar

Dr. Lapschies and his staff are wonderful! The Dr. takes extra time to ensure that you are informed and comfortable and his attention to detail has me feeling very positive about my surgery. Before and After care are a BIG focus with this program and I feel the Dr. and the staff provide a great deal of information. I have %100 trust and faith in Dr. Lapschies because of his attention to detail and perfection, and because he genuinely cares...and it shows. After research and speaking with others I feel very fortunate that Dr. Lapschies has choosen to practice in Hawaii. He is the best!

Jan. 15, 2005
avatar

So far I have been very satisfied with the surgery and care I have received from Dr. Lapschies and his staff. I attended support group meetings for 6 months before surgery and found them to be very helpful. Listening to former and current patients, gave me confidence in the doctor and the surgery. I also signed up for a low-impact aerobics class for the first time. Although I initially felt conscientious being the largest and least fit person in the class, I stuck it out and wound up not only enjoying the class, but I lost 10 pounds.
Having a fear of needles, I was afraid to do all of the pre-surgery testing. However, I got through it because I wanted the surgery. I had many tests that were overdue and necessary for my age. I now feel confident in my health and my ability to lose weight. I am extremely happy that I chose the lap band surgery over the bypass. After surgery I felt much better than I expected I would. The effects of the pain medication given to me when I left the hospital were worse than the pain from the surgery. I have not taken any pain medication since and I feel fine. I am eager to return to work, and get on with my life and a healthier future.

Dec. 14, 2004
avatar

Dr. Lapschies has been extremely professional and supportive throughout my entire experience. It was nice to finally find a doctor who "got it" instead just telling me to "exercise more and eat less".

I appreciated his pre-surgery extensive testing--it gave me confidence to go ahead with the surgery. During the pre-screening, I discovered I had a large gallstone so he also removed my gallbladder during the gastric bypass surgery.

Dr. Lapschies also wrote an excellent justification letter to my insurance company (HMAA) and I was approved within a month of application on the first try. With all of the pre-screening and his extensive questionaire, he seems to have the insurance companies figured out.

I felt like a was very well informed before I had surgery. Cindy, his front office manager, was very helpful and supportive as well. She really was the point of contact on scheduling all of the appointments and paperwork. It feels like they both have my best interest in mind and are always available.

My surgery was scheduled and then the nurses went on strike at Kuakina Hospital and my surgery was postponed. Dr. Lapschies personally called my and was extremely apologetic. I appreciated that he took the time to call me and he quickly rescheduled me ASAP. He ended up doing back-to-back surgeries to fit me in.

I look forward to continuing our successful relationship through follow-up appointments and his monthly support group.

March 5, 2003
avatar

I was referred to Dr. Lapschies by my personal doctor here in Honolulu. Dr. Lapschies is a very involved individual in his practice. He practices prescribed programs by ASBS. I am in the strating stages of pre-op, with the many tests involved for surgery. He is very thorough and compassionate. To say that he is dedicated to his work and his patients care would be an understatement. I am looking forward to working with him. I have met others here in Honolulu who have been in his care and they all say the same thing about him. HE CARES!

Jan. 18, 2003
avatar

Dr.Lapschies is without a doubt the reason why I am here and healthy today. After battling morbid obesity for most of my adult life, I was diagnosed with diabetes, hypertension, sleep apnea, chronic back and joint pain. It was time to do something while I was still reasonably healthy. I needed something to avoid what seemed to be over the horizon, insulin, and maybe even the amputation of bodyparts. While meeting with Dr.Lapschies I was struck by his straight forward approach and candor while also realizing that this man truly cares about what I was going through. He cuts no corners in first making sure you are a good candidate for this lap.rny surgery- physically, mentally and with emotional support from family, friends and the support group at Kuakini hospital made up of his patients who truly round out the total experience. If I am not mistaken, this Dr. is the only one in Hawaii trained by Dr.Wittgrove, the pioneer of the laparoscopic rny technique,currently doing this surgery. I think all others use only the open technique, Dr Lapschies uses both as the need arises. I felt it was great to have a surgeon with the training and flexibilty to use either type equally well.
My surgery went off without a hitch and I was lucky enough to have it done laparo. instead of open which cut down on pain (which was virtually non existant) as well as recovery time. Another thing that impressed me was the Post op support that you receive. Dr Lapschies also implements a program of support that employs the use of dieticians, physical therapists and personal trainers specially trained to adress the needs of gastric bypass patients. Office Staff as well as the doctor himself are available 24/7 for assistance as needed.No one slips through the cracks, questions are answered, help is there. I think the world of Dr.lapschies and his staff of professionals and thank God daily for their being part of my life. As of 11-14-02 I am now 254lbs, 103lbs less then my pre op weight. I am free of any diabetic, hypertensive or back/joint pain symptoms.

Nov. 14, 2002
avatar

He is a very compassionate man...thin but has a big Heart....I love him a lot....He made a big difference in my life.....His office staff is very open and is very easy to talk to them, especially his wife: Cindy. He is always there for you, and if you try to call him, he returns your call, stat. He is with you all the way....the support group is a plus, he shows up there every time...and provides us with a special guest speaker....He addresses everything to you in his lectures and in his person to person visits, he never keeps anything from you.......overall I would rate him a 10+.....He was there for me all the way....I had surgery on Monday, and I was out on thursday......and back in school on Monday....Praise God.......

Nov. 10, 2002
avatar

After much research, I went to Dr. Lapschies. He has been highly recommended my many other surgeons in Honolulu. After calling his office, I was given an apppointment and a time for a group support meeting so I could meet other people like myself. Dr. Lapschies is a very frendly, energetic and smiling person. Dr. Lapschies is a caring and very thorough Doctor. He recently moved offices to the Kuakini Medical Center and is in the brand new building. He asks lots of questions, has you fill out a very complete questionaire and provides caring support all steps along the way. His staff is wonderful. You feel that you are very cared for and they smile and look you in the eye. What I liked the least about him is also what I liked the most about him. He requires a committment to a structured aftercare program and is VERY complete with all the tests and needed information. AFtercare is highly encouraged. We had several lectures and presentations prior to the surgery about the risks, complications and aftercare. I had a two to three hour meeting with my husband and the doctor reviewing a very detatiled presentation about the risks of the surgery. I rate him GREAT!! He has both surgical competence (I was done laproscopically, and he took the time during surgery so I would not have to be open) and he has a great bedside manner! Both were/are wonderful. The worst part about him is that he is so complete and you have to have a battery of tests and attend lots of informational meetings and commit to the structured aftercare program. This costs money

July 20, 2002
avatar

MY FIRST IMPRESSION WAS VERY PERSONIABLE AND INFORMATIVE.
OVER TIME IT JUST IMPROVED,WONDERFUL SURGEON ALWAYS AVAILABLE TO ANSWER QUESTIONS.
OFFICE STAFF VERY HELPFUL AND SUPPORTIVE.
I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT HIM, AND PATIENT WILL FIND HIM HONEST AND WILL EXPLAIN EVERYTHING TO YOU OVER AND OVER AND GIVE YOU PLENTY OF THIME TO ASK QUESTIONS.
STRESSED THE IMPROTANTS OF AFTERCARE AND FOLLOW UP, HE HAS A STRUCTURED AFTERCARE PROGRAM.
HE EXPLAINED ALL THE RISK OF SURGERY TO ME AND MY FAMILY.
I WOULD RATE HIM EXCELLENT, WITH A GREAT BEDSIDE MANNER, WILL FIGHT FOR HIS PATIENT, AND FEEL HE IS VERY COMPETENT.

July 20, 2002
avatar

First impression: He is younger than I thought he would be. He is very thorough. Dr Lapschies personally calls me to discuss my case. I think that is so cool. I have never had a Doctor call me like that. He never seems to worry about time, even though I know he is busy. He answers all my questions & never rushes me. His wife has called me more than one time after business hours. He is very strict about aftercare. I have alot of preop testing to do. I have to meet with a Psychologist 3-4 times before surgery. I have to meet with a dietician, physical therapist before surgery & after, before I can go home. I live on Kauai & having surgery on Oahu, so he wants me to stay on island for 10 days after surgery to make sure I am close in case I need him. I think he is wonderful right now. We will see what I think of him after surgery!

July 20, 2002
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.