Dang Tuan Pham Bariatric Surgeon
Write Review

12 Reviews for Dang Tuan Pham
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar
Kelly M.

My first impression of Dr. Pham was very positive. I remember walking into his office the first day, and he was sitting at the front desk on the phone with a patient; he looked up at me, smiled and waved. I remember thinking wow, he has such a kind smile. We met and at my first appointment with me he spent over an hour going over the different procedures and answering any questions that I might have. He never made me feel rushed or tried to steer me in the direction of one surgery over another. Every visit afterwards was the same.

His office staff is wonderful. I had my psyche evaluation from a gentleman who works in his office who has had weight loss surgery, so he knew what I'd be experiencing. The patient coordinator has also had weight loss surgery. These people know the type of support needed; they've been there, felt that pain, felt that victory and can give me the support I need.

Dr Pham's bedside manner is terrific. He came to visit me prior to surgery to go over everything, and came to visit me the day after to discharge me. He also called at home to see how I was feeling. He genuinely cares about his patients, before - during - and after their procedures. He addressed all surgical risks for me, he went over what I'd be feeling - the good, bad and ugly of it. He's straightforward and compassionate. I cannot say enough good things about him or his practice. Highly recommended.

May 22, 2013
Overall
avatar

I love Dr. Pham! When I saw him at my first appointment, he was very warm and friendly, and he didn't try to sell me on any particular procedure. We talked about my goals, and he made suggestions, but didn't try to push me towards anything. I ultimately decided on the sleeve, and before he'd even do it, I had to get some other tests done to make sure that everything would be okay.

The day of my surgery, he came right over to speak to me in the pre-op area, he held my hand, and he was very concerned that I was okay. After my surgery, I was in a lot of pain with a lot of nausea, and I happened to come out during the nursing shift change, so I waited a long time for pain meds (this wasn't his fault- this was the hospital, and it was a fluke). He came to see me in the middle of my misery, and again took my hand and got a nurse to go get someone to make me comfortable, and then he came to see me every morning that I was in the hospital to check on my progress.

At my first post-op appointment, he came in and gave me a big hug, and told me he was happy that I was doing so well. I really can't say enough about him. He's a wonderful doctor, and a very warm person, which isnt' something you see too often with doctors these days. He genuinely cares about his patients, and he wants people to be happy. I would recommend him to anyone.

Jan. 2, 2012
Overall
avatar

Dr. Pham is a great doctor and saved my life i was 430 pounds when he did my surgery (high weight was 460) and im now 235. He is friendly and has a great bedside manner. His PA Nicole is also awesome and cute. Lisa one of the nurse's is also great, she runs the support groups and always takes the time to answer your questions. I give Dr Pham and his staff 2 thumbs up. You can trust Dr. Pham to do your surgery.

June 16, 2011
avatar

Dr. Pham performed surgery on me for 7 1/2 hours as my pouch had fissured with my old stomach and my eating habits had gone back to their normsl from 9 years ago. It had to be done laproscopically as it was not possible to do it open. It took him 2 1/2 hours to remove the complicated scar tissue from between the two stomachs and it was very effective. Dr. Pham is a great surgeon, nice personality, thorough and always smiles.

June 16, 2011
Overall
avatar

I was impressed with Dr Pham from our first meeting. He is very kind, genuine & takes the time to talk with you, answer your questions, & be sure you are comfortable with everything! Great program with good support. Dr Pham did a great job with my surgery & also repaired a hiatal hernia while I was in there.
Both his surgical competence & bedside manner are great!
My only "negative" would be that sometimes getting a live staff member on the phone can be difficult. Everything goes to voice mails and requires a call back, which can be annoying when you are post op and having an issue or have a question as they don't always get right back to you. With my experience, this caused me to not call on a couple of issues I was having until they were really a problem. The staff did get right back to me at that point and told me I should have called sooner. (I had waited because my prior experiences with not being able to talk with someone made me put it off until I was in a lot of pain...)
My follow up with the PA's and post op appointments have been great & I would highly reccomend Dr Pham and Synergy Bariatrics!

March 7, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr. Pham was very nice. Upon talking to him, he was very supportive. He answered all my questions, made me feel at ease, and I liked him very much. He came across as a very kind man. I've only met hime once but I expect to feel the same way the next time. His office staff is very nice. Lisa, the nurse that took care of me prior to the visit was very funny and down to earth. I liked her a lot.

Oct. 4, 2010
avatar

My first impression of Dr. Pham is that he is a very funny yet knowledgeable man. He uses humor to help put you at ease, but he also will answer your questions honestly and with details and explanations. His bedside manner is that of a compassionate man who truly wants to help you succedd. I am waiting for my surgery date in a few months, but I can say that I truly trust this man with my surgery.
The staff at Synergy are so kind and helpful during this sometimes grueling process, and I am grateful for all their support. Dr. Pham's profile and background are impressive and he is certainly an accomplished and skilled physician and surgeon!
The before and aftercare program at Synergy appears to be exceptional: there are online components, in-person informational sessions, classes about exercise and nutrition before surgery, free 3-month membership to the attached fitness center (which is fat people-friendly!), a store for one's vitamin and protein product needs, and support group meetings every 2 weeks! Also, the hospital where the surgery is done has a special bariatric wing!

Sept. 26, 2010
avatar

he is great. puts you at ease. has a great sense of humor.

Sept. 26, 2010
avatar
Paula622

I had my sleeve done with Dr. Pham. I felt quite comfortable with him from the beginning. He was great at answering my questions and reassuring me while I was waiting in the pre-op area at the hospital. The staff is wonderful and easily accessible if you have problems or questions after surgery. I felt very fortunate to have found a doctor locally that would do the sleeve, and even more so that my insurance covered it! I would definitely recommend him (and the sleeve) to anyone considering it.

Sept. 3, 2010
avatar

I found Dr. Pham to be very friendly, sympathetic, and a good listener. I can't say that my impression has changed any since we have only met once.

The office staff at Synergy Bariatrics are the best! They are so thorough and professional it is a great comfort.

Future patients should know that if they are prepared for surgery, Synergy will go out of its way to provide excellent care and advice. They've been there for me every step of the way.

After care is highly emphasized with support group meetings, followup. The center has a gym and wellness cafe. It literally is a one-stop shop for nutrition and wellness needs post-op.

More later

June 23, 2010
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.