Gary Anthone's Photo

Gary Anthone Bariatric Surgeon

17y in Bariatrics

17y in Laparoscopic Surgery

2y in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Minimum Age of Patient is 13

Maximum Age of Patient is 75

149 Reviews for Gary Anthone
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr A was my surgeon at USC 10 years ago. At the time of surgery I weighed almost 430 lbs. To my knowledge, my largest recorded weight was 434 lbs but at that time USC was the only place I was aware of that had scales that could read that much. Dr. A performed the roux-en-y on me, which was a very extensive surgery. I remained in the hospital for just over a week and at the time of discharge had already lost 5 lbs. After the first year I had lost a little over 100 lbs. Now 10 years later, at the age of 29, ( yes I was 19 at time of surgery, along with my twin brother who's was done by Dr. A on the same day) my life has completely changed. I weigh about 195 lbs, and work on wind turbines, a job that a 400 pound guy would have never been able to do. I am very physically fit and climb on average 1000 feet a day at work. The only thing I regret was allowing myself to get that large. The benefits far outweigh any problems. Thanks Dr. Anthogne for saving my life

Aug. 19, 2013
avatar

Dr Anthone performed the gastric by-pass with duodenal switch 12 years ago. My beginning weight was 365 and I suffered from diabetes and high blood pressure. I lost 140 lbs and threw away my diabetes meds for good. Since that time I had a tummytuck to remove excess skin and have not gain or lost more than 5 lbs . My care was excellent and I believe saved my life . I was 58 years old at the time and my health has been great. The surgery was at USC Medical Center and my only complaint is that Dr Anthone moved back to Nebraska and is not available to my friends who could use his wonderful care here in California.

July 10, 2012
avatar

Dr. A performed my surgery 9 years ago at USC. He was amazing! He was beyong professional, always put me at ease and I felt a connection with him unlike any of the other 3 surgeons I consulted with. He really stressed all of the potential complications and the importance of aftercare (reminding me that the surgery was not a solution but a tool to help reach my goal). The only problem I had was that he was in such demand it was tough to get an office appointment on short notice unless I was having a problem. I am more than happy to report I am a size 5 and would do it all again with Dr. A at my side.

Dec. 17, 2011
avatar
RKLC2002

I can't say enough positive things about Dr. Anthone. He has such a great bedside manner and treats everyone with respect. I am very thankful that he is located in my city and I couldn't have asked for better care and results so far.

During my surgical consult, Dr. A met with my family as well and he put their minds at ease as well. Even though we were all nervous, as any surgery has risks, we felt that being in Dr. A's hands was the best choice.

Nov. 2, 2011
avatar

Dr Anthone is one of the best doctors around. He was a very REAL person from the get go which made me very at ease with him. I always felt he had my best interest at heart. The first time I met him at his office, he came in and one of the first things he said was "I can help you" and he has kept him word.

Dr A's staff is beyond remarkable. I have always been greeted very warmly and its almost like a team of people cheering you on. I can not say enough good about everyone in that office. Always kind and helpful. You walk out of that office a happy camper.

Thank you Dr. A. Although I am only 3 weeks out from my DS surgery. I will never be able to thank you enough. You have saved my life. Thanks for doing what you do and fixing this issue that has drug me down for 42 years.

Thanks for keeping it real!!

Kim B.

Aug. 3, 2011
avatar

Dr. Anthone is the BEST. I'm only sorry that he is not at USC anymore.

Oct. 29, 2010
avatar

Dr. Anthone did my DS on 8/4/10 and it lasted about 3 hrs. I did so good that I didn't have to go to the ICU or be on a ventilator. I was released on Mon 8/8/10 for my 3 hr ride home. On 8/24/10 I went back to Dr. Anthone to have my feeding tube removed and was down 20 lbs in 20 days! Dr. Anthone is easy to talk to and he is pleasant. While there I saw two sisters who were in their late 50's-mid 60's and they were 9 months out from surgery and one has lost 200 lbs and the other had lost like 190! Amazing!


Had my first appointment with Dr. Anthone on 05/11/10 and it was good. Dr. Anthone even asked if my 21 yo daughter & granddaughter could join us so that he could speak with them. He explained what would happen before/during/after the DS Surgery and the help and care that I would need. He was really nice.
He emphasizes that I will be under his care for the rest of my life. He does have a structured aftercare program and if you live far away from his offices he will work with your family doctor on your care.
If I get the rest of my labs (etc) to him in this next week he can do surgery as soon as the first of June! So far I am happy with him.

Aug. 27, 2010
avatar

He is a very caring sensitive man who truly loves what he does to help people. I had been at another hospital to look at lapband surgery and visited their support groups and found thru research there that I was interested in DS, I went to Dr. Anthone's seminar and found that indeed DS would be perfect for me and I signed up to see him. He told me what to expect and asked my reasons why I thought I wanted this. In all my dealings with him and his staff I have never found him or them to be anything but straight forward and honest. I am at this point 3mo out and Zero complications or complaints. This is a doctor who knows what he is doing and has mastered his craft. He has few equals in his field. This is my opinion and I have yet to see any other to the contrary. As for his staff I feel comfortable with them and feel they are making good progress in their education of bariatric surgery and aftercare. To be human is to be flawed and I believe we all must be in some way flawed but it's how we correct those flaws that show our character.

July 29, 2010
avatar

My first impression of Dr Anthone? At the meeting where they introduced each other and talked about what they did and how it was done I thought that he was very strict. but after the last few months of being a paitent I have found him to have an excelent bed side manor. He has a great personality. The staff is great. Always willing to answer questions. My DS is set for July 21st at 7:30am. We live 2 hours away from the Hospital and Dr Anthones office.. Everyone there has been great working with the visiting nures. and helping me ajust to waring a wound vac for 2 months. I had the panis removed and a hernia repare done on April 21 of 2010.
The after care plan is great. They were sure to get a nurse and home staff that was easy to get along with. and understood what was going on with my healing. Dr Anthone's staff was really great at working with my nurse and my office visits have been great. Dr Anthone has been wonderful about making sure my husband has been informed. and makes him feel comfortable about being part of my healing and up coming surgery.
We are both excited about the DS in July. and are excited about process.
I believe that both surgical competence, and bedside manner are equally important. Gary Anthone has both.
I would recomment Dr Anthone to anyone looking for a great beriatric surgeon.
I also want to remind everyone that first impressions are never lasting. Dr Anthone has a great personality. Is always willing to help. and a great sence of humor.
No question is unimportant to him or his staff.

June 18, 2010
avatar

my first impressions of Dr.A was I thought he was very pleasant and respectful. My impression of him never really changed. Dr.A's
office staff has always been helpful and professional whenever I had any contact with them. what I like least about him is that he's in and out the room so quickly that you can't ask many questions. future patients should that you can find many articles about Dr.A on the internet and I feel that he really cares about his patients. Dr.A emphasize a lot about aftercare he really emphasizes that we need to keep our appointments so they can catch anything that might go wrong early. the structured aftercare program is that we must come to the office every two weeks for 6-8 weeks and than every three months for several months than it will be every year. there's a bulletin board in the waiting room announcing when the support group meets. yes he and his nurses addressed the risks of surgery several times. I would rate Dr.A at least a 9 out of 10. I feel that both his surgical competence and his bedside manner are great. I would highly recommend him to another person.

June 14, 2010
DISCLAIMER:
The information on this page is presented solely as a tool for public use and contains information supplied by the owner of this profile or the members of this site. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.