Gary Anthone's Photo

Gary Anthone Bariatric Surgeon

17 yr in Bariatrics

17 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

2 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 13

Max Age of Patient is 75


151 Reviews for Gary Anthone
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Anthone did my weight loss surgery in 1995 at USC University Hospital. To this day, I look at Dr. A and his assistant at the time, Maria, as family! They made the entire experience so amazing. Before I found Dr. A, I had visited another bariatric practice. I found myself in a waiting surrounded by women who were post-op and crying about their experience. It felt like a true cattle call. The staff clearly had their spiels memorized and said the exact same thing to everyone that passed through the door. I decided then and there that weight loss surgery was not for me.

Then, only a few weeks later, I saw Dr. A featured on the TV show Hard Copy. I called and made an appointment and my experience, both that day and every day moving forward was the complete opposite of that other office.

I was always treated with great respect and kindness. Both Dr. A and Maria (and the rest of the staff) always took a genuine interest in me and listened to my questions and concerns. They held a monthly support meeting that was educational, encouraging, and fun too.

I cannot even begin to find the words to tell you what a truly life changing experience having my weight loss surgery done by Dr. A was for me. Personal attention, warmth, and a very supportive environment is what I experienced every time I visited the office or attended the support meeting.

I lost 105 pounds total, dropping from 237 to 132. I have been as low as 120 and, at my 19 year mark, I am currently hovering just under 150. I would do it again in a heartbeat (but only with Dr. A)!

I am so grateful to him for, not only the surgery, but for also for always treating me with respect and kindness!

July 7, 2014
Overall
avatar

I went to dr anthone to repair a mango sized hernia on the incision line from the ds 4 years ago, we thought it would be a simple fix, once he opened me up, it was massive on the inside twisted around my bowel. he was force to do in essecence a tummy tuck to clean up my abdomen. im glad it did obstruct here in nj, and that I could have his expertise again to fix me up

June 12, 2014
Overall
avatar

Dr A was my surgeon at USC 10 years ago. At the time of surgery I weighed almost 430 lbs. To my knowledge, my largest recorded weight was 434 lbs but at that time USC was the only place I was aware of that had scales that could read that much. Dr. A performed the roux-en-y on me, which was a very extensive surgery. I remained in the hospital for just over a week and at the time of discharge had already lost 5 lbs. After the first year I had lost a little over 100 lbs. Now 10 years later, at the age of 29, ( yes I was 19 at time of surgery, along with my twin brother who's was done by Dr. A on the same day) my life has completely changed. I weigh about 195 lbs, and work on wind turbines, a job that a 400 pound guy would have never been able to do. I am very physically fit and climb on average 1000 feet a day at work. The only thing I regret was allowing myself to get that large. The benefits far outweigh any problems. Thanks Dr. Anthogne for saving my life

Aug. 19, 2013
Overall
avatar

Dr Anthone performed the gastric by-pass with duodenal switch 12 years ago. My beginning weight was 365 and I suffered from diabetes and high blood pressure. I lost 140 lbs and threw away my diabetes meds for good. Since that time I had a tummytuck to remove excess skin and have not gain or lost more than 5 lbs . My care was excellent and I believe saved my life . I was 58 years old at the time and my health has been great. The surgery was at USC Medical Center and my only complaint is that Dr Anthone moved back to Nebraska and is not available to my friends who could use his wonderful care here in California.

July 10, 2012
Overall
avatar

Dr. A performed my surgery 9 years ago at USC. He was amazing! He was beyong professional, always put me at ease and I felt a connection with him unlike any of the other 3 surgeons I consulted with. He really stressed all of the potential complications and the importance of aftercare (reminding me that the surgery was not a solution but a tool to help reach my goal). The only problem I had was that he was in such demand it was tough to get an office appointment on short notice unless I was having a problem. I am more than happy to report I am a size 5 and would do it all again with Dr. A at my side.

Dec. 17, 2011
Overall
avatar
RKLC2002

I can't say enough positive things about Dr. Anthone. He has such a great bedside manner and treats everyone with respect. I am very thankful that he is located in my city and I couldn't have asked for better care and results so far.

During my surgical consult, Dr. A met with my family as well and he put their minds at ease as well. Even though we were all nervous, as any surgery has risks, we felt that being in Dr. A's hands was the best choice.

Nov. 2, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr Anthone is one of the best doctors around. He was a very REAL person from the get go which made me very at ease with him. I always felt he had my best interest at heart. The first time I met him at his office, he came in and one of the first things he said was "I can help you" and he has kept him word.

Dr A's staff is beyond remarkable. I have always been greeted very warmly and its almost like a team of people cheering you on. I can not say enough good about everyone in that office. Always kind and helpful. You walk out of that office a happy camper.

Thank you Dr. A. Although I am only 3 weeks out from my DS surgery. I will never be able to thank you enough. You have saved my life. Thanks for doing what you do and fixing this issue that has drug me down for 42 years.

Thanks for keeping it real!!

Kim B.

Aug. 3, 2011
Overall
avatar

Dr. Anthone is the BEST. I'm only sorry that he is not at USC anymore.

Oct. 29, 2010
avatar

Dr. Anthone did my DS on 8/4/10 and it lasted about 3 hrs. I did so good that I didn't have to go to the ICU or be on a ventilator. I was released on Mon 8/8/10 for my 3 hr ride home. On 8/24/10 I went back to Dr. Anthone to have my feeding tube removed and was down 20 lbs in 20 days! Dr. Anthone is easy to talk to and he is pleasant. While there I saw two sisters who were in their late 50's-mid 60's and they were 9 months out from surgery and one has lost 200 lbs and the other had lost like 190! Amazing!


Had my first appointment with Dr. Anthone on 05/11/10 and it was good. Dr. Anthone even asked if my 21 yo daughter & granddaughter could join us so that he could speak with them. He explained what would happen before/during/after the DS Surgery and the help and care that I would need. He was really nice.
He emphasizes that I will be under his care for the rest of my life. He does have a structured aftercare program and if you live far away from his offices he will work with your family doctor on your care.
If I get the rest of my labs (etc) to him in this next week he can do surgery as soon as the first of June! So far I am happy with him.

Aug. 27, 2010
avatar

He is a very caring sensitive man who truly loves what he does to help people. I had been at another hospital to look at lapband surgery and visited their support groups and found thru research there that I was interested in DS, I went to Dr. Anthone's seminar and found that indeed DS would be perfect for me and I signed up to see him. He told me what to expect and asked my reasons why I thought I wanted this. In all my dealings with him and his staff I have never found him or them to be anything but straight forward and honest. I am at this point 3mo out and Zero complications or complaints. This is a doctor who knows what he is doing and has mastered his craft. He has few equals in his field. This is my opinion and I have yet to see any other to the contrary. As for his staff I feel comfortable with them and feel they are making good progress in their education of bariatric surgery and aftercare. To be human is to be flawed and I believe we all must be in some way flawed but it's how we correct those flaws that show our character.

July 29, 2010
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.