George Fielding's Photo

George Fielding Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

18 yr Experience

24+ yr in Bariatrics

24+ yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

24+ yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

95% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 14

Max Age of Patient is 70


Biliopancreatic Diversion

Biliopancreatic Diversion with Duodenal Switch

LAP-BAND

Revision

Roux-en-Y

Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy


36 Reviews for George Fielding
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar
Rai

Dr. Fielding performed my surgery, he was not my doctor initially. I'm very happy he was the one to do the procedure for me. He was kind, attentive, and professional.

Sept. 29, 2012
avatar

I'm a nurse and work with doctors everyday. I was surprised at his bedside manner. He is wonderful. He speaks to you in a compassionate way. I've never perceived him as judgmental and he even condoled me at one of thevisits when I was crying. The lap band was wonderful. I had lost 100 lbs in 10 months and was feeling and looking fabulous. unfortunately, I developed gall stones and the band sloped from vomiting. I gained all the weight back. After four years of struggling and trying to make it work again, he has offered me a gastric bypass. I am confident in his skull and thank him for a second chance at life.

July 7, 2012
avatar

Dr. Fielding is the BEST!!!!!!!!

Aug. 4, 2010
avatar

Love my surgeon. He's amazing! He is the pioneer of the "Fielding technique" used by many bariatric surgeons today.

March 7, 2010
avatar

Dr. Spiegel did my original lap band in Houston. Dr. Fielding in NY did my revision when I had a large hernia and possible slip.

Nov. 18, 2009
avatar

First impression: warm, caring, very knowledgeable.rnrnImpression over time has just cemented original impression -- he is Awesome!rnrnOffice staff is very very personable and caring; except for surgical coordinators who are over worked (too few of them for the volume of patients).rnrnThe nurse practitioner Gaspar is fabulous - I love him! He even has his own practice on the weekends in NJ for folks to get fills. The other nurse, forget her name, she is small, dark hair, older -- well she is very sour pussed and negative. Seems like she does not like fat people or something. I avoid her at all costs. This is my opinion, of course, someone else may like her and not have issues.rnrnI cannot think of anything I don't like about Dr. F.rnrnAftercare is very important and suggested each visit.rnrnThe aftercare program is structured; you even get an index card to fill out all your appts. and tells you what you get done when.rnrnYou are well informed and well taken care of from the initial info meeting through post-op.rnrnSurgical competence is stratospheric -- off the charts good -- he's done 7000 of these! His bedside manner is warm but brisk... he does not linger and chit-chat (he doesn't have time with his patient load!))rnrnI would recommend him 7000%

Aug. 22, 2009
avatar

I just have to say, that thanks to him and his team, I'm in the trail of my journey. I love him. He always treat me nice. All the team treat me like a princess

Aug. 21, 2009
avatar
Julie85

Had a rough start getting along with him but now he's great. He's incredibly accomodating too. He has satellite offices for fills and goes to the places he has lots of patients which makes it easier for us. He's also incredibly reasonably priced for fills and does not have strict rules for how often he allows the fills. I did have complications and needed my band fixed and port replaced but he was nice and easy to deal with the whole time. I'd only recommend this practice.

Aug. 19, 2009
avatar
Michelle F.

I can't say enough good things about Dr. Fielding, I believe he saved my life. I chose him because he was at a Center of Excellence and he was on my insurance plan! I also liked that he was banded so he knows firsthand how painful being obese is. The first time I met him he took so much time to answer all my question, he even let me feel his port!rnrnHis office staff is so busy but for the most part they're friendly. Both of his PA's have also been banded so they understand what you're going through...the support there is amazing.rnrnHe feels that because the band controls hunger and portion control it is a maintainable lifestyle. He said the people that succeed are the ones who maintain their band and their aftercare. If you don't come in for scheduled visits and fills when you need them, you're not going to do as well. rnrnA lot of people have said he's a little cold but I've always found him to be warm and supportive, he usually hugs me when I come into see him every month and tells me how good I look and how well I'm doing. I've seen his wife, Dr. Ren, when he had an emergency and she is just as warm and wonderful as he is.rnrnThe only bad thing about the practice is that it's so busy there are times you can wait over an hour before getting into an exam room. But for me, it's worth the wait, knowing the care that I'm getting. I will say he doesn't always give you specific nutritional advice, but he will answer all any questions you have. I'm not the type who needs those specifics so it works for me...if I need something, I ask and he answers.rnrnI travel into NYC from NJ and I have no regrets at all. I truly adore Dr. Fielding and know as long as he's my doctor I will succeed. I would recommend him to anyone looking for the best bariatric surgeon out there.rnrn

March 6, 2009
avatar

My first impression of Dr Fielding was good. We chatted in his office and he asked about my comorbidities and difficulties doing daily tasks. He assured me that all would be resolved by the surgery.rnrnOn the day of surgery, I never saw Dr Fielding before I went under which was a bit disconcerting. He did show up at my bedside around 10:00PM that night and told me that everything had gone well. That was the only time I saw him.rnrnI did not choose Dr Fielding for his bedside manner. I chose him for his expertise and I believe that my surgery was very well done since my recovery is going very well. That being said if someone is looking for hand-holding I don't think he is your doctor.rnrnThe staff has been wonderful although the office is extremely busy. I have needed forms completed and back to work letters and they have gotten these to me in record time. Also, I had a problem with my surgical clearance and they went out of their way to make sure that I got it done so that my surgery wasn't cancelled. That was amazing to be handled in 2 days time.

Dec. 4, 2008
DISCLAIMER:
The information on this page is presented solely as a tool for public use and contains information supplied by the owner of this profile or the members of this site. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.