Hazem Elariny's Photo

Hazem Elariny Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

10 yr Experience

12 yr in Bariatrics

15 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

6 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics


Biliopancreatic Diversion

Biliopancreatic Diversion with Duodenal Switch

Duodenal Switch

LAP-BAND

Revision

Roux-en-Y

and 2 more...


158 Reviews for Hazem Elariny
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I had my surgery six months ago and barely remember the whole thing. I blame Dr. Elariny for that. He is totally HOT; it is actually distracting. You can't focus on anything he is saying 'cause you are just staring. It's a good thing the guy actually knows what he is doing and is good at it too; otherwise...
Definitely recommend. A great surgeon and a very nice person. His reputation is definitely well deserved. Not so fond of his staff but they are professional and know what they are doing (hey, just because you work in the healthcare industry does not mean you have to be caring, courteous or friendly).

Jan. 18, 2012
Overall
avatar

Dr. Elariny is the best. I've been trying to have this surgery for about 12 years. Dr. Elariny has been my only choice. His staff is great. He is very knowledgable of all the bariatric surgeries and can modify the procedure based on your specific goals. He has a dietician on staff to customize your pre and post op nutrician plan. He also performs the surgery at Fair Oaks Hospital, which is a Bariatric Center for Excellence. How can you go wrong?

Dec. 3, 2011
Overall
avatar
colhollywood

Dr. Elariny and his staff were great in almost every respect. He personally was a little removed from the aftercare process, but his staff was not. I had complications during my surgery (DS) in that I was "malrotated". The surgery took a lot longer than what I anticipated and he had to do some stuff he didn't know he'd have to do. I think he is an extremely competent surgeon and would recommend him very highly. Just be prepared to have him do a little bit of a disappearing act after the surgery is complete. His office staff and other surgeons do a great job of stepping in, however. These are just my personal impressions of my own personal experience and I make no statements about what other people may experience.

Jan. 11, 2011
avatar
P. Poster

I have to say, I am very pleased with Dr. Elariny and his practice. His office staff is very professional and friendly. Alex will never hesitate to go the extra mile or give you extra words of encouragement. She met my daughter once, briefly, and remembers her name and asks me about her every time we speak. The entire staff has been extremely efficient, informative and helpful. I completed all of my preop testing in just over a month with their assistance and referrals to very competent centers and Dr.s in the area.
All of my interactions with Dr. Elariny, Dr. Baraki, and any of the other clinical staff on his team has been nothing but stellar (and they did my colonoscopy, now that is saying a lot!). They had my insurance approval for surgery in just 2 days.

His aftercare program seems to be very well organized with support groups and regular office visits, however I am still preop so unable to personally attest to that just yet. I was required to attend a 4 hour class prior to surgery to ensure I understood the aftercare expected and all of the necessary life changes this surgery brings. Follow up meetings with his care team including a nutritionist are required as well.


The only drawbacks I have experienced are that he chooses to be out of network for certain procedures, and is therefore not fully covered by insurance. So, he does have a high surgeons fee, but to maintain the superior staff, service and top notch equipment he has provided, I feel it is more than worth it. My only other complaint is that his stellar reputation has gotten out and he is a busy man- so I have occasionally had to wait past my appointment time, or see another partner in his practice. But, I would rather wait for the best than be seen immediately by someone subpar.

His competence, experience, track record and bedside manner have all impressed me. I strongly recommend this surgeon, and practice.

May 20, 2010
avatar

My first impression - damn he is YOUNG! But he also had a very impressive record. I went to his seminars and really liked him from the very start. I like him even more 7 years later!rnrnHe had a awesome staff when I had surgery in 2003 and my understanding is that he still does.rnrnHe does emphasize aftercare and he does have an aftercare program. I no longer follow it because I am so far out and I now deal with my primary care doctor.rnrnAs with any surgery, all surgeons will tell you if they have any concerns of risk. Because Dr. Elariny has a battery of things that he would like to see (especially if you have other medical issues) he will see that all pre-test are done. I remember him saying that when he goes to do my surgery he wants to be focusing on it. If he has to focus on other medical issues, it may require other special surgeons to be in the OP room too...such as people that may have a heart condition, but still are able to have surgery.rnrnI rate him #1. His surgical competence is awesome! I saw him afterwards and he was great their too.

Dec. 15, 2009
avatar
strawberry28

My first impressions where very positive towards him. Although he did not show for the weight loss discussion group that he was to lead TWICE. I drove to VA for nothing TWICE. When I did have my consult he was nice and answered all of my questions and I didn't feel rushed.rnrnI did my surgery and all went well and recovery has been a breeze. He is no doubt a good surgeon. He required a lot of money out of pocket even if you have insurance coverage, and don't be surprised if you don't see him after you surgery in the hospital or even in the office. After surgery I only saw his fellow surgeon...and never did he tell me this was the practice or say anything. I am 100% satisfied with him as a surgeon

Dec. 9, 2009, Updated: Feb. 21, 2011
avatar

Dr. Elariny, in my opinion, is the absolute best surgeon in the nation for bariatric gastric bypass.

I had surgery nine years ago, a laproscopic procedure where he completed a Duodenal Switch/BPD that has restored my life.

I lost 235lbs over the 20 months following the surgery. I listened to his instructions to take my vitamins, eat the right foods and monitor my hunger and food intake.

I've maintained this weightloss successfully and am in very good health.

He saved my life, and I will be forever grateful!

Brian Nahodil,

Catlett, VA

Nov. 17, 2009
avatar

I met him on Jan.26,2001 and I am very impressed is concerned for my well being and care. I am very young 23 and want to have more children. He was considerate and very informative. I am going to have LAP DS.rn I am post op 8 yrs march 2001 was my surgery date He is the best surgeon out there. I trust him and he is good and attentive. Good bedside manner.

March 9, 2009
avatar

I met Dr. Elariny on Wednesday, 19th of November 2008. He is very easy to talk to and answered all my questions.

Nov. 21, 2008
avatar

I am very pleased with Dr. Elariny, his reputation is outstanding. I will comment after my surgery.

Aug. 4, 2008
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.