Jorge Levia's Photo

Jorge Levia Bariatric Surgeon M.D.,F.A.C.S.

14 Reviews for Jorge Levia
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Jorge Leiva
NEWEIGH
Houston, TX

Dec. 1, 2010
avatar

My surgeon is a vey understanding man. His handshake is firm and appreciated. He has soft surgeons' hands. I believe in his ability to take care of me safely through this WLS journey. He has many staff members who have had WLS and I appreciate that because I want to have people there who understand this struggle. Dr. Leiva is also very gorgeous and unpretentious about it. He has a very good sense of humor and makes me feel at ease and comforatable. I could not have chosen a better doctor. I told him at our first meeting that I needed to be healthy and be around for my daughter and not be an embarrassment to her as she grows up. He said I will do everything to help you achieve this. Just follow my instructions and you will not fail. He believes in all of his patients.

Oct. 21, 2010
avatar

What was your first impression of him/her?
He is very nice and knowlegable.

How did your impression change over time?
It stayed the same.

How would you describe his/her office staff?
Very friendly and helpful.

What did you like least about him/her?
I liked everything about him.

What should future patients know about him/her?
He will make you loose weight.

How much does he/she emphasize aftercare?
Alot.

Does he/she have a structured aftercare program?
Yes

How did he/she address the risks of surgery?
Yes

How would you rate him/her overall?
10 very very good

Which is better, surgical competence, bedside manner, or are both great?
Both are great.

April 19, 2010
avatar

He did a good job so far so good he is straight to the point and honest from what i could tell. He is a busy man.

Dec. 19, 2009
avatar

I loved him he has a warm personalilty and make you feel like you are important. He told us that is't not that we can't do but we need help its a desease and you have to see this as a tool to help you beat it. My impression stayed the same I love him a so do my family. He was real about the surgery and it's risk and how important aftercare is to you overall gaol. I would rate him a 10!

Oct. 4, 2009
avatar

My first impression of Dr. Levia is that he is very caring and excited about what he does. He is very knowledgeable and takes the time to actually listen to you. He has a great personality. rnrnAfter hearing about the risks, I was a little nervous. But the worst part about the procedure was having to get the IV. rnrnI had surgery on Aug. 18, 2009. I've had vitually no pain and no complications. I thank God that he gave Dr. Levia the skill and expertise to do this. This may not be everyone's experience, but for me, things couldn't have gone any better. In addition to the RNY, he fixed my hernia while he was in there. I was home the next day, back at work in 3 days.

Sept. 1, 2009
avatar

My first impression of Dr Levia was good, he was very informing and upfront about all the information about the surgery I'd chosen. rnrnMy impression, changed when I woke up post-op. rnrnThe office staff was great. rnrnDr. Levia played God with my life, he screwed up a fairly easy gallbladder removal, made a cut he admitted to my husband that he wasn't sure of. He ended up severing my bile duct, which then sent me into a downward spiral. At one point in time my husband was instructed to bring family and children to say their good-byes to me because they didn't think i'd make it. rnrnFuture patients should know, that as he admitted to me after he had me transferred to St lukes, that i was the 2nd patient who he's made a mistake like this on. 2 too many in my opinion. Especially seeing as he could have opted to leave my gall bladder in tact until I'd lost more weight. rnrnI'm sure there is a structured after care program, however I wouldn't know because I've had no aftercare. rnrnHow would I rate him? Well every time my husband sees him he has to restrain from putting him through a wall. He rates in about the same place for me. rnrnThis was my personal medical history with the Dr, I can't promise how yours will go.

July 13, 2009
avatar

I was very impressed with Dr. Leiva. He was upfront with information about his expectations, risk and the successes he has seen and encouraged me to ask questions. His office staff was courteous and helpful. His NeWeigh staff was wonderful as well. He emphasizes aftercare and NeWeigh's is one of the best! I would do it again and refer my friends to him.

July 6, 2009
avatar

My first impression was good. I kinda felt like I was just another patient but the day of the surgery, he really made me feel like he cared when I got so emotional. rnrnI have no negative things to say about Neweigh! They are there for your pre op care and there for after care. rnrn

May 3, 2009
avatar

I met Dr. Leiva about a month ago at NuWeigh. I had to switch to him from Dr. Taylor. He is extremely straightforward, no bones about it doctor. I do love his bedside manner and for taking me on as his patient!

Feb. 28, 2009
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.