Paul Wizman Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS, FRCS(C), FASMBS Write Review

Paul Wizman's Photo

22 yr Experience

13 yr in Bariatrics

22 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

13 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 75

Diane Schofield, RN, CDE, CBN
Nurse Clinician and Educator
Candace Chemtob, MS, RD, LD
Licensed and Registered Dietitian
Roxann Orban
Office Manager

94 Reviews for Paul Wizman
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest

Amazing surgeon! From the moment I set foot into the seminar regarding gastric sleeve surgery and met Dr. Wizman, I knew he was the right choice! He was professional, smart, so intelligent, kind, caring and had a great sense of humor...before I met him, I went to a number of different surgeons, all were ok, but Wizman was a super star. He staff was great and helped me every step of the way... I am only 4 days out of surgery and besides some discomfort I feel good..I can't not say enough good things about him. I would recommend him to anyone!

June 15, 2013


I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Wizman! An amazing Surgeon and person. Very sweet and caring. Makes you feel comfortable. Changed my life for the better. So happy to have him as my Surgeon. His staff is great! Professional, knowledgeable and friendly.

Jan. 21, 2013

2 people found this helpful


I had a gastric bypass over 30 years ago and developed many problems. I had visited several surgeons and no one would take my case as they said it was to dangerous. I found Dr. Wizman and at once felt comfortable with him and his staff. He said no problem. He preformed the redo and I have felt wonderful ever since. I have been taken off all medication and have more energy then ever. My only regret is that I have not lost as much as I would have liked. That is not his fault but mine. I would recommend him to everyone that wants weight loss surgery.

Nov. 8, 2012


Wow,love him.Great guy knows his stuff.

Oct. 12, 2012


My first impression of Dr. Wizman was this amazing bundle of energy! Looking into bariatric surgery is something I've avoided for years, and here he was, making me feel ready to do this. His knowledge and expertise made me feel comfortable about proceeding with the surgery. He let me know what to expect and was completely honest about what I had to do for success.
The office staff has been wonderful and supportive throughout. They handled all the paperwork for my insurance so efficiently that there were no delays in scheduling my surgery.
Deciding to have the surgery was step one. Following up afterwards is of upmost importance and the bariatric team emphasizes that. Dr. Wizman helped me understand that my lapband is a tool, not a miracle cure, for my obesity. And like any other tool, you have to learn how to use it to be effective!
Dr. Wizman is very busy (almost like a rock star!), so I rarely get to see him in the office, but he does attend the lapband support group meeting monthly and gives great advice and hints for those of us having some issues. He is available via cellphone round-the-clock, and I can also reach him by posting online! He's the absolute BEST!
Going to him was one of the best decisions I've made in my life!

March 3, 2011

2 people found this helpful


visited many top surgeons around the country and found the best. Paul Wizman is not only an incredible surgeon but he is available by cell phone to all his patients 24/7. he pickups himself. I not only had the easy smooth experience he said I would, but I can't even find my scars three years out.

Jan. 14, 2011

2 people found this helpful


I originally started my journey in Albany NY, had all of my tests done and my date scheduled. I Took a job in Fort Lauderdale Florida two weeks before surgery. Came to Fort Lauderdale, met Dr Wizman, instantly knew he was the surgeon who would perform my surgery.

BARIATRIX Center has an incredible before care and after care program and to them EDUCATION is key. Something that was lacking at my center in NY. I can call or text Dr Wizmans cell phone anytime day or night. The staff is small but runs like a well oiled machine!

Most of my test were accepted. I had to do a few more to satisfy the hosptials requierments, but am now 5 days post op and VERY happy to have found him!!!

Dr Wizmans bedside manner, candidiness, honesty and talent make him a wonderful man but an incredible surgeon!

Oct. 25, 2010, Updated: Feb. 18, 2011

1 person found this helpful


Update 6/13/2011

Dr. Wizman preformed my RNY on 6/7. I had some bleeding complications from the heparin and was very frightened by them (vomiting actual blood, lots of it). The doc and his nurse at the hospital were there for me, very understanding of my fear and explained everything from the cause to the treatment. They kept me at the hospital until they were satisfied that the problem was resolved.

I haven't had my consult with Dr. Wizman but I have attended my orientation with him. My impression is he's a very intelligent and compassionate man but also very honest.
At no time did it ever feel as if he was judging me or lecturing me. He's also got a good sense of humor which always puts me at ease.

July 13, 2010, Updated: June 12, 2011


Dr. Wizman was the bariatric surgeon of a specialty Doctor of mine. Because of that I always felt confident that he was a great surgeon. But when I went to his information session I found him to be funny and caring and he would answer any question in a straight forward manner, no dodging responses like, "Well usually we find...blah blah, blah." The Bariatric group has this down to a science and if you follow their directons you will sail through this with no problems. Gwen is the coordinator and she is just great. She always has time for you and dropping in at the office is encouraged, and time is always made for you if you have a problem or a question or just want to weigh.

May 31, 2010


<font face=\"comic sans ms,sand\"><strong><font size=\"3\" color=\"#44301b\">Having been in the medical field for a number of years, i've had physician's input on other doctors and their reputations. Dr. Wizman came highly recommended from several physicians I know. This was comforting to say the least. I then inquired as to his complication rate vs. the national rate and it was equal or better in all instances. He was also honest when asked about whether or not he had ever been sued for medical malpractice for performing this surgery. He has not been sued by any patient and he's done over 800 WLS's. This was definitely a PLUS! rnrnI found Dr. Wizman's confidence to be reassuring although some may think he comes across as being a little cocky. I've had the opportunity to be in the presence of MANY surgeons in my life (thankfully not for me but on a few occasions) and he does NOT have the \"God Complex\" that a lot of surgeons have. When I asked him about it, he stated that he knows that patients are much more informed than in past years and he refuses to talk down to them. Again.. a PLUS!!rnrnHis office staff are very accomodating and pleasant to deal with on the phone as well as in person. They seem to be on top of things so far! Another PLUS!rnrnMy experience with Dr. Wizman and his staff so far is one of professionalism tempered with understanding and kindness.. not once did I feel like I was second rate to anyone. I can only say that to this date, I have no qualms about making the decision to have him jumpstart my new life! rnrnDisclaimer: Please note that these are my personal opinions and are in no way an indication that your experience with him or his office staff will be exactly the same.<br><br>rn</strong></font>rnrn<CENTER>rn<DIV id=flashwave>rn<OBJECT codeBase=,0,0,0 height=275 width=320 align=middle classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000><PARAM NAME=\"_cx\" VALUE=\"8467\"><PARAM NAME=\"_cy\" VALUE=\"7276\"><PARAM NAME=\"FlashVars\" VALUE=\"\"><PARAM NAME=\"Movie\" VALUE=\"\"><PARAM NAME=\"Src\" VALUE=\"\"><PARAM NAME=\"WMode\" VALUE=\"Transparent\"><PARAM NAME=\"Play\" VALUE=\"-1\"><PARAM NAME=\"Loop\" VALUE=\"-1\"><PARAM NAME=\"Quality\" VALUE=\"High\"><PARAM NAME=\"SAlign\" VALUE=\"\"><PARAM NAME=\"Menu\" VALUE=\"-1\"><PARAM NAME=\"Base\" VALUE=\"\"><PARAM NAME=\"AllowScriptAccess\" VALUE=\"sameDomain\"><PARAM NAME=\"Scale\" VALUE=\"ShowAll\"><PARAM NAME=\"DeviceFont\" VALUE=\"0\"><PARAM NAME=\"EmbedMovie\" VALUE=\"0\"><PARAM NAME=\"BGColor\" VALUE=\"FFFFFF\"><PARAM NAME=\"SWRemote\" VALUE=\"\"><PARAM NAME=\"MovieData\" VALUE=\"\"><PARAM NAME=\"SeamlessTabbing\" VALUE=\"1\">rn <embed src=\"\" quality=\"high\" bgcolor=\"#ffffff\" width=\"320\" height=\"275\" align=\"middle\" wmode=\"transparent\" allowscriptaccess=\"sameDomain\" type=\"application/x-shockwave-flash\" pluginspage=\"\" />rn </embed> </OBJECT></DIV></CENTER>

Jan. 21, 2010

The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. does not monitor or edit this information.