Philip Chin Bariatric Surgeon M.D.,F.A.C.S.
Write Review

5 yr Experience

8 yr in Bariatrics

12 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

8 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

70% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 15

Max Age of Patient is 70


69 Reviews for Philip Chin
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I found Dr Chin very personable, and patient. He endeavored to be thorough, and answer all my questions. I found him warm and caring with a wonderful bedside manner and, I feel he is quite competent. He not only visited me before going into the operating room, but his anestiesiologist also came and put me at ease. When I was wheeled to my room he was there too. I could not have asked for better care. If there is anything negative it would have to be I was kept waiting at my followup appointment in the exam room so long I almost fell to sleep.

June 25, 2012
Overall
avatar

I felt that Dr. Chin was very knowledgeable, he took time with me at my presurgery consultation. He did a great job on my surgery. He has a great staff, great before and after care program. I would rate him a 10.

Dec. 29, 2010
avatar

So far, Dr. Chin has been great. He answered all of my questions and very pleasant and friendly. Some have said he is a bit on the cold side...maybe, but he is a surgeon. He is not here to be my best friend, he is here to save my life. I have all the faith in the world in Dr. Chin.

Nov. 20, 2010
avatar

Met him at the MD talk and was impressed. He is also the only one contracted by my insurance. Thank goodness I think he is a good choice. Who can afford to go outside their insurance?!?!?

Feb. 10, 2010
avatar

I like Dr Chin. He is professional; answered all my questions; understood my concerns; I had no doubts that I had been assigned a good surgeon. He personally came to see me both days I was in the hospital -- even on Christmas Day!!! I was amazed, as he has PA's who could have had to do the holiday hospital duty.

Dec. 31, 2009
avatar

The staff is wonderful, Dr. Chin is well probably your average surgeon, cut and dry...I had my one on one with him nothing spectacular...I heard alot of people fall in love with there surgeon...not me....well maybe after I lose the weight I will love him for the new me LOL!!rnrnAnyways I hear he is a great surgeon with loads of surgical competence, which is worth more to me than a charming personality. So I am comfortable with my choice to go with Dr. Chin.rnrnI will update after the surgery....14 days and counting.

Feb. 23, 2009
avatar
loops

Dr. Chin made me feel relaxed. I was immediately at ease and confident that I had made the right choice by selecting him as my surgeon. He welcomed my questions and answered them to my satisfaction. I spoke to him the day of surgery and the day I was released from the hospital. I am very pleased, he has great beside manner and surgical competence. rnrnI also want to mention that I had a minor complication two weeks postop. Dr. Chin was not in the office and the staff scheduled my appointment with Dr. Ali, he is very professional and took care of me. All I can say is that Dr. Chin, Dr. Ali and Dr. Francis are very professional, competent and courteous surgeons. I haven't had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Laport yet but I wouldn't expect anything less. rnrnThis is definitely a great medical team! I would recommend any of these surgeons in a heart beat!

Jan. 11, 2009
avatar

My first impression of Dr. Chin was good. He is a man of few words, though, so if you plan on chatting extensively...rnrnHis office staff is friendly, competent, and efficient.rnrnHis group has an organized aftercare position.rnrnHis surgical competence is better than his bedside manner, but there are lots of others to comfort me. I wanted a competent surgeon.

Aug. 12, 2008
avatar

I thought Dr. Chin was great. He was very patient with me and answered all of my questions. Even postop he was very kind and even though I am sure he gets the same questions every day, he never made me feel rushed. If I had to do over again, I would choose him again.

Aug. 7, 2008
avatar

I heard my surgeon was not good with his bedside manner. I knew that was fine because he was probably more focused on my surgery than holding my hand. rnrnMy first meeting went well. His bedside manner was professional, informative and honest. rnrnThe office staff was awesome. The surgery went well. I was very impressed with the small clean scar. Beautiful.rnrnThe hospital nursing staff was terrible - thank God I'm low maintenance and independent! The lady I roomed with had a hard time adjusting. She had problems all day long. I'm sure it had to do with her not following her surgeons 'rules.' rnrnI could have used follow-up phone calls. They offered support groups in the area but I live outside the area and in another county and it was difficult to travel to a group because of time and traffic.

May 18, 2008
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.