Ricardo Bonnor Bariatric Surgeon M.D., F.A.C.S.
Write Review

10 yr Experience

10 yr in Bariatrics

10 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

10 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

50% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 17

Max Age of Patient is 65


Biliopancreatic Diversion

Biliopancreatic Diversion with Duodenal Switch

Duodenal Switch

LAP-BAND

Revision

Roux-en-Y

and 1 more...


138 Reviews for Ricardo Bonnor
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I first came in with doubts, I have friends of friends telling about their friends that had bad experiences. So I was predisposed to have a negative attitude about the surgery. Dr Bonner explained the procedure and calmed my fears. He told me to follow his instructions and the surgery would be a success. After I went through all of the pre-op steps my confidence carried me through. The procedure went fantastic, I only spent one night in the hospital no pain no nausea felt great. The pounds started falling off it was amazing. I kept a journal of what I ate made sure I drank my protein shakes and took my vitamins and calcium.

I had my surgery on June 7th 2013 and I've gone from a size 50 waist to a 40-42 my blood pressure has dropped to normal. My sleep apnea was gone within the first 2 weeks. Followup trips to nutritionist is very important also after 4weeks I started walking and swimming. You have to have your mind right and you have to be committed this is not a quick weight-loss scheme it is a change in lifestyle to where food is not the dominating force guiding your life.

What I feel about Dr Bonner and his staff is so much love. They always answered any questions I had "there are no stupid questions" They added me in changing my life they got me past my plateau in life and I feel AWESOME!.

Oct. 14, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I am so grateful I met Dr Bonnor and his staff. I was prepared very well for surgery and have had no regrets since surgery. In fact, I am extremely satisfied with all that has happened and will be eternally grateful for Dr. Bonnor's help.
My Kindest Regards,
Greg Branning

Oct. 9, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I thoroughly researched surgeons in the Greater Houston area and was blessed to locate Dr. Bonner and his close proximity. Well vetted prior to my initial appointment, I found his demeanor quite pleasant. He is soft-spoken but a skilled clinician who's non imposing and nonjudgmental approach to my care was a welcomed bonus to his expertise in the field His office staff is great to work with, especially Anna, who spent an enormous amount of time assisting with entire process of insurance requirements and final approval.

Oct. 7, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I have struggled with weight gain for the last 16 years after my son was born. I would lose some, gain more back. Exercise, get an injury and be told my injuries are caused by my excess weight. How am I supposed to lose weight if I cannot exercise? My PCP referred me to Dr. Bonnor and recommended I consider WLS. After researching the lap band I was determined to go for bypass because I didn't want to have a foreign object in my body nor have to go every few months for them to stick a needle in me for adjustments. After meeting with Dr. Bonnor he suggested sleeve and educated me on why this was the best option for me in my situation. Not many doctors take the time to educate their patients. He and his staff have been angels. I am currently at 3.5 months post op, 40lbs down, enjoying the journey and looking forward to the continued loss.

Oct. 2, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

After years of wanting to have bariatric surgery but stopped by not having insurance to cover it. I got a new job in May of 2013 and the new job had insurance that covered it. I contacted Memorial Hermann’s New Start program in Houston and they referred me to Dr. Ricardo Bonnor. My wife and I first meet with Dr. Bonner on July 6th and I knew it was right, I was on the fence of what surgery to have but he helped me determined the right one for me (Duodenal Switch). After meeting with all the required doctors and nutritionist, surgery was approved and surgery date was September 17th. Everything went well could not be more happy with the Hospital staff, Dr. Bonnor’s office staff and Dr. Bonner himself. I am now at 2 weeks post-op and everything is on track. I greatly recommend Dr. Bonner for anyone looking to get bariatric surgery.

Chris Mitchell
Katy, Texas

Oct. 1, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Bonnor and his staff were very professional and caring. They made me feel like they really cared about me and everything went very smoothly. Everything from the surgery to the handling of the insurance was explained thoroughly. very good experience.

Sept. 25, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I would highly recommend Dr. Bonnor for the Sleeve Gastrectomy. He and his staff have been wonderful throughout the entire process from getting insurance approval and the care during and after.

Sept. 25, 2013

Overall
avatar

Dr. Bonnor was great and my weight loss has been tremendous.
I have lost 104 pounds in 10 months. I went from taking 10 different medicines a day to one.
I feel like a 100 pound pack has been taken off my back. I fit in a booth when we go out to dinner. My goal was to be "normal". I have reached it! I plan on losing another 50 pounds. I know I can do it.

Sept. 25, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Bonnor did my gastric bypass surgery about 1 month ago and I have already lost 27 lbs and feel great. On my first visit, he took the time to explain the pros and cons of all surgeries, which gave me the opportunity to choose the best one for me. His entire staff was very helpful along the way especially January, who got my surgery approved by my insurance in no time. I would recommend Dr. Bonnor to anyone. He is one of the most caring doctors I've met and he did a wonderful job with me.

Sept. 18, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

He was very informative and caring.

Sept. 18, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×