Ricardo Bonnor

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 139 ratings

Ricardo Bonnor Bariatric Surgeon M.D., F.A.C.S.
Write Review

10 yr Experience

10 yr in Bariatrics

10 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

10 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

50% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 17

Max Age of Patient is 65


Biliopancreatic Diversion

Biliopancreatic Diversion with Duodenal Switch

Duodenal Switch

LAP-BAND

Revision

Roux-en-Y

and 1 more...


139 Reviews for Ricardo Bonnor
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

He was very informative and caring.

Sept. 18, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Life changing event! Over 100 lbs down in 9 months. Energy levels drastically improved and diabetes under control. Dr. Bonnor has been a pleasure to deal with, on top of doing a top-notch job. One of the best decisions I have ever made health wise.

Sept. 17, 2013

3 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I am a new patient of Dr R. Bonnor. I have interviewed with him earlier on about surgeries that I was told I had to have. When I found Dr. Bonnor it was during my search for surgeons with a good track record in Gall Bladder Removal. Dr Bonnor not only showed to be an excellent candidate for that procedure, but there is much to be said about his ability to help people lose weight. This has been a concern for me as well with all of the new developments of HBP and higher sugar levels. I wish I could have the sleeve done when I have my Gall Bladder surgery, However I was unable to come up with the money for it because my insurance wont cover it. I hope to be able to get healed as soon as possible so I can return to work abroad so I can come back to him for weight loss procedure...

Sept. 16, 2013

2 people found this helpful

avatar

Dear Dr. Bonnor,

I would like to take a moment and write to tell you how much I appreciate you performing my sleeve gastrectomy. The success of my surgery as a result of your great surgical skills has given me the tool to achieve my weight loss goals. Thank you for hanging in there during the surgery as I know it was not routine by any measure. I appreciate the advice and instruction you talked with me about prior to and after my surgery. By following your guidance I have lost a total of 31 pounds in my 14 day post surgery. WOW! What a great start to my weight loss journey. I have been taken off all but one medication and its dose has been cut in half. I have been on 12 or more meds for the past 16 years and to be off them is truly a dream come true for me. I no longer sleep with my Bi-PAP and I am resting very well. My diabetes is in check WOW again. I can hardly believe the success of my surgery in that I never feel hungry anymore and now I eat to live and not live to eat. The surgery has turned my life around and my health is getting better each and every day. I look forward to my journey and with the advice and support of you and your great staff I know I will reach my goal of losing 130 pounds. I know that without a doubt that this surgery will add many years to my life and look forward to spending them watching my eight grandchildren grow up. Thanks so much for your tireless dedication to excellence in your surgical skills.

Warmest regards and sincerity,
Doyle W. Maxie

Sept. 12, 2013

3 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I am doing so much better after having my surgery. My whole experience has been wonderful. Dr. Bonnor and his staff are just awesome including Memorial Hermann Hospital. They all have excellent standards. I am very satisfied and I made the best choice with my bariatric surgery.

Thanks,

J.Gonzales

Sept. 12, 2013

4 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I hate to sound cheesy as you always see those diet commercials with "This diet or that changed my life". The truth of the matter is, I changed my life but the gastric sleeve Dr. Bonner performed gave me the quality of life I needed to make the difference. I had been working for the past three years 60 hours a week, under high stress in the office. With this regiment, I had gained approximately 47 pounds on top of the 230 pounds I already weighed. I was on high blood pressure medication, cholesterol medication, had sleep apnea and a snoring problem that was impacting my marriage. In addition I had lost my edge in the work place always being tired from dragging all the extra pounds around. I had my surgery on September 11, 2012. I immediately began losing weight and was off my medications. Within 2 months my snoring almost quit altogether. The surgery was a huge blessing as it wasn't long after, December, I lost my job. By the end of December though I had already lost about 40 pounds. This was a crucial time for me for self esteem, but the weight loss countered that feeling of despair. Of all times to be back on the job market, the timing was awesome. I was looking half decent again, had more energy and was inspired to conquer the world. I had already lost 2 suit sizes so when I went for interviews I wasn't the fat guy that often gets stereo-typed by interviewers as lazy and lacking motivation. I had several interviews, was confident and landed another job in a couple of months.

By March, I had lost about 80 pounds. I was exercising regularly, eating right and continued to lose weight. I can't tell you how many times people I knew and hadn't seen for a while literally didn't recognize me. We bought a house in August 2012, 1 month before the surgery. I saw our sales representative and she came up and introduced herself to me. What a rush!!! I have lost 98 pounds so far and surpassed my original goal to get below 200 pounds. I set a new goal of 175 which puts me in my healthy BMI range. I am about 3 pounds from that goal at 178 and am confident I will hit it.

Thanks to Dr. Bonner I have the energy to enjoy my family again and a fantastic job. I have recommended a couple of people to Dr. Bonner and sing his praises any chance I get. Why anyone wouldn't want to do this especially if they are having health problems from being overweight. I went for a checkup to my family physician. He checked my cholesterol, sugar levels and along with my blood pressure he said he was so impressed, that is the best health he had ever seen me in and the lowest my blood pressure had been even on medication in years. Thank you all so much and if you ever need anything from me, please don't hesitate to ask. I owe you my life, seriously.

Sincerely,

Kirk Shreffler

Sept. 6, 2013, Updated: Sept. 12, 2013

4 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I was referred to by someone who had the same issues as me. Super high tryglycerides and high colesterol which I can't seem to spell either correctly. This guy had the DS done by Dr Bonner and was doing great including having good blood work without pills. I had been on statins for 10 years until my CPK level went through the roof (average 1200 to 1400) and my legs and back hurt so bad I could hardly walk. I took Lipitor and Tricor from 1993 till around 2005. When I quit me colestertrol went above 400 and my tryglicerides went above 1000. But I did manage to get CPK below 400.

Anyhow Dr Bonners team managed to get my insurance approval within 6 weeks and I had the operation 3 weeks after that. It has been 4 months and I have dropped over 50 pounds, waist went from a tight 44 to a baggy 36 and I do cheat on the carbs a bit.
Blood pressure is down, border line diabetes is gone, hopefully the damn C-Pap machine will go in the closet one of these days.
I am 60 years old and have been all around the world, had some bad things happen and have met my share of doctors, good bad and otherwise in 35 years of oilfield work..
Dr Ricardo Bonner is one of the very best doctors I have had the pleasure to deal with and his staff is excellent. Partner there is no bad to say about these folks. This is the best thing I have done in a very long time and this surgeon I had was one of the very best around the metro Houston Texas area.
Hope this helps someone who was in the same boat I was, I expect to live a bit longer after this.
Update 2-28-2014, had last visit with Doc Bonner, I have dropped 75 pounds, my bloodwork came back and my cholesterol an triglycerides were 135 an 145 respectively and that is the first time in my life they have been normal.
There is not doubt this is the best thing that I have done in years. Highly recommend this Doctor and his staff.

Aug. 19, 2013, Updated: Feb. 28, 2014

5 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Bonnor and his office staff are amazing at what they do. From the start of the process, getting the insurance approval,through the surgery and all the way up to my last visit they've been supportive and knowledgeable. Dr. Bonnor is very caring and passionate about his work. I'm 3 1/2 months post DS surgery and 87 lbs down with about another 110 to go. If you're in the Houston area, there could be no better doctor to help you on your journey to a new you!

Nov. 5, 2012

4 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Because of other surgeries that came up...for ankles and elbow, this surgery was cancelled...

I have now moved, and am seeking another doctor within the same group.

My other surgeries are healing well...but now I am ready to move forward. Thank you, Dr Bonner and staff for being there for me as I have had to wait...and for being honest about the distance issues. You all are great!

March 29, 2012

4 people found this helpful


1 previous review. « hide

Dr Bonner is young(for this 50 year old, anyway) and very passionate about his work.
The office staff and all the ones that I have spoken with have been more than fantastic as I have decided to make this choice.
His office is right next door to my Pediatrist - whom I love - and he has nothing but high praise for Dr. Bonner. I'm very comfortable with this upcoming surgery.

Aug. 21, 2010

3 people found this helpful

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×