Richard Ing's Photo

Richard Ing Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

9y Experience

9y in Bariatrics

18y in Laparoscopic Surgery

8y in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Minimum Age of Patient is 18

Maximum Age of Patient is 75

12 Reviews for Richard Ing
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

FIRST, LET ME THANK DR. ING AND HIS GREAT STAFF FOR MAKING ME FEEL VERY COMFORTABLE AND AT HOME DURING MY PROCEDURE. BEFORE MY SURGERY I WEIGHED BETWEEN 286-300LBS AND I WAS ALSO DIAGNOSED WITH SLEEP APNEA, ED, TYPE 2 DIABETES, HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, LOW TESTOSTERONE AND VARIOUS OTHER WEIGHT RELATED ILLNESSES. ONCE I HAD MY PROCEDURE, ALL OF MY AILMENTS SIMPLY DISAPPEARED!!!! NO MORE INSULIN INJECTIONS!!! NO TOSSING AND TURNING DURING THE NIGHT( I CAN ACTUALLY BREATHE THROUGH BOTH NOSTRILS NOW )!!!! MY BACK PAIN AND MY SCIATICA PAIN IN MY LEFT LEG ARE GONE!!! NO MORE HEADACHES, AND MY BLOOD PRESSURE IS FINALLY STABLIZING!!! I HAVE SO MUCH ENERGY NOW I CAN'T STAY STILL!!! I WORKOUT 2 TIMES A DAY AND I HAVE TO TAKE A WALK AFTER MY SECOND WORKOUT TO BURN SOME OF MY UNLIMITED ENERGY SUPPLY!!! I FEEL GREAT!!!!!!!! THANK DR. ING AND STAFF.....YOU GUYS ARE GREAT!!!!!

Oct. 15, 2012
avatar

What was your first impression of him? No sense of humor
How did your impression change over time? Great guy
How would you describe his office staff? Very nice and caring
What should future patient know about him? He actually cares about me and cheers my success
How much does he emphasize aftercare? Extremely
Does he have a structured aftercare program? Definitely
How did he address the risks of surgery? Extensively
How would you rate him overall? Fantastic
Which is better, surgical competence, bedside manner, or are both great? Both are superb

I had my surgery Feb 15. At the time I was a Type II Diabetic with an A1C of 5.8. After 3 months I am OFFICIALLY not diabetic with an A1C of 4.4. Both my endocrinologist and Dr. Ing said they have never heard of something like this.In 5 months I have lost 83 lbs. I sleep through the night, my knees and back feel great, I'm never hungry, I feel closer to people, I'm wearing clothes that I bought 12 years ago,....

May 11, 2012
avatar

I have nothing but praise for the wonderful surgeon Dr. Ing and his medical staff. I had bariatric surgery on 4/04/2012. This is a surgery I had previously backed out of twice before seeing Dr. Ing, and continuing to learn about the program. I had decided that the gastric bypass was the best thing for me because of my battle with Type 2 diabetes and sleep apnea, along with some other health issues. Initially I thought Dr. Ing was tough, but I took this as a no nonsense message because this is a no nonsense procedure. Was it the hardest thing I have ever gone through in my life, yes! No food, really? Liquid diet, really? This was not the fun part, but was it worth it, yes! I would highly recommend Dr. Ing for this procedure to anyone who asked and needed it. If you have chosen him as your surgeon you will be in great hands. He was an excellent surgeon, his staff was excellent, and I can only say that my stay at Bryn Mawr Hospital was excellent, from every person who walked in my room. I remember the anesthesiologist saying right before the procedure, 'I'm gonna give you a cocktail, and I said okay, I was fine because the Lord had removed the fear from me for this procedure and I could only expect positive results from here on, but after he uttered these words, I felt like it was 5 minutes later and I awoke, thinking they were just about to begin, then there was all of my family and my surgeon Dr Ing, saying everything had went well. I was out for almost 5 1/2 hours because they had found a tumor in my stomach that Dr Ing removed. They removed the tumor with a portion of the stomach, but had I not gone for this procedure, I would not have been aware of a more dangerous issue brewing inside of me. I am praising God and thanking Dr Ing for saving my life TWICE. After the surgery I have been feeling stronger each day, with a long ways to go, but so far 25 lbs down from the fasting period 3/19/2012 to today 4/20/12. My diabetes levels have been excellent since the first day post op of the surgery. I have been walking 2 to 3 times a day. I will now begin a Zumba class and have joined the gym. Ready to keep it moving. Thank you Lord. I am finally going see an A1C in the single digits. I am happy and excited and would recommend Dr. Ing to anyone, he is totally professional, and cares as much about the success of the surgery so that it will benefit your life. I am so looking forward to continuing my journey and being a great patient for Dr. Ing.
I have not had any vomiting, diarrhea, sickness, or illness so far.
Thanks, so much Dr. Ing!You were great!

April 20, 2012
avatar
irishgirl89

Dr. Ing is and absolute pleasure. He has been wonderful throughout my entire experience and still is. I felt completely at ease the morning of my surgery in his more that capable hands. His surgical team were wonderful too. The hospital stay was so/so. One nurse (Emily) complained about her job the min. I met her and one of the patient care technicians, a Filipina woman, didn't do anything to help me, even though she knew I was struggling and in a lot of pain. It's a pity that his program is with Bryn Mawr Hospital, only for him I would never have had my surgery there, because of the lack of care on the post op floor. His office staff were professional at all times. Dr. Ings post op group meetings are a huge help and it amazes me that he attends each and every one every month to support all of his patients. Dr. Ing expects all of his patients to attend his support groups and is very emphatic about patients taking responsibility for their health pre and post op. Risks of surgery were discussed in full and are written out on the consent form in black and white. Surgical competence and bedside manner are very important to me and Dr. Ing fulfilled my expectations. He makes a person feel human and he truly cares about people. I had a very smooth transition and thankfully have had no issues what so ever. I would highly recommend Dr. Ing and his team any day.

Jan. 5, 2012
avatar

My first impression of Dr.Ing was WOW he listening to me, and as time went on I notice how he took his time in explaining everything to me and answering all my question. Docs office is so nice,comy,and well organized and to top it off he has THE BEST STAFF. Future patient should know that you are in great hands and i know first hand because he did my hernia repair surgery(great job at that)his after care was great with that so i doubt if it would change after i get banded. I'll rate Dr.Ing At a 10+ he is surly Top of the Line "Mainline that is" Mainline Health best Doctors and he has both Surgical and bedside manners

Jan. 17, 2011
avatar

My first impression of Dr Ing was that of a confident doctor who cares about the well being of his patients.

The support program that lead up to the surgery was very informative and the support from his staff was great.

Dr Ing made me fell safe and put my mind at ease before the surgery.

I had my lap band surgery three weeks ago and the only negative experience that I encountered was the hospital did not have a bed for me & I was in recovery for over 4 hours. I was very concerned about developing a blood clot because I was told I would have to get up & moving shortly after the surgery to help prevent this from happening.

I am felling great and on my way to a healthier way of life thanks to Dr Ing.

Linda D.

July 8, 2010
avatar

I started my journey to a new me on Dec 31, 2009 with the orientation meeting at Newtown Square Medical Center. This is the first time I met Dr. Ing. My first impressions were that Dr. Ing was tough. You follow his ways or you don't come to see him. Since I have seen him numerous time since Feb (hernia surgery) and to follow on to my bariatric surgery on May 18th I have found him to be very caring, patient and intuned to you personally. The couple of times I had questions Dr. Ing himself would call me back to make sure what I was doing and that I understood why I was doing it. He has a great bedside manner. I had to go back to the operating room two days after my surgery but the way Dr. Ing reassured me of what he was going to do, I was relaxed knowing I was in his hands. I would recommend Dr. Ing to any and everyone who is considering this surgery.

July 8, 2010
avatar

I was very happy with my surgeon and even more so with his staff. I always felt like everyone knew me almost from day one! It was a good experience and I am extremely happy I chose him and Bryn Mawr Hospital for my surgery.

June 17, 2010
avatar

After attending Dr. Ing's information session regarding WLS in December 2009, I was so impressed by everything about Dr. Ing. He was super informative and took the time to answer any and all questions that I and the other participants had. I left feeling informed and satisfied with my decision to move forward with WLS.

I've had surgery before and my pre-op consultation with Dr. Ing was nothing like I've experienced before. We spent lots of time going over each surgery option and evaluating which one was best for me. After going through all of the pros and cons, I felt more than comfortable with the laproscopic Roux-en-Y surgery. Every single question I had was met with an informative response. No question is too stupid or silly for Dr. Ing!

I can't say enough about all of his staff. He has a wonderful group of women working with him and supporting you each step of the way. Everyone I have met in my steps before getting insurance approval have been wonderful in giving me the tools to be successful in my pre-op weight loss and my post-op weight loss as well. Each one of them truly care about you as a patient and want to see you succeed.

With such positive experiences before surgery, I can't wait until Surgery Day in Early May 2010!!!

March 17, 2010
avatar
jgould257

Dr. Ing is very knowledgable and excellant at what he does. He was very clear on the risks associated with WLS. By going to the informational secessions and support group meetings it helped me become comfortable and more knowledgable about the surgery and life style change. I originally went to Dr. Ing for a band and given my health history he sugessted that I have GBP, I took my time and read up on the pros and cons to both procedures and thank heavens I did! I changed my mind to have the GBP and it has changed my life! The before and after care is very important to Dr. Ing.

Oct. 29, 2009
DISCLAIMER:
The information on this page is presented solely as a tool for public use and contains information supplied by the owner of this profile or the members of this site. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.