Richard Peterson

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 9 ratings

Richard Peterson Bariatric Surgeon M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S.
utweightloss.com Write Review

Richard Peterson's Photo

8 yr in Bariatrics

8 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

8 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 65


9 Reviews for Richard Peterson
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I'm just like you! I grew up thin all my life until I got married. Slowly the weight crept up 2-3lbs a year, 27yrs later BAM! I'm now 194 & 5'2 with DM2, HTN, fatty liver and so on ( I'm also 46 & a size 16). So here it is 2013 and I say to myself NO MORE, I've got to do something, I don't want to get past 200, I'll never come down! So I started researching MD's in my area and Dr Pterson was at the top of the list, then I went to his website & signed up for a free seminar. I met his staff, they were wonderful and made me feel welcomed. The class was very informative, I learned things that I had never considered or even thought about. Dr Peterson spoke at the seminar, had a Q&A session and even stuck around after to answer any individual questions anyone had. I never felt like "get them in & out" or rushed, it was the opposite, he & his staff were so patient with everyone. 1-3-13 I went in for my consultation, 2/19/13 I had my surgery (no complications, no pain -only took pain meds in hospital -did NOT need any at home). I was back to work 1wk later. Today I weigh 150. I take NO meds as of the day of my surgery, I don't need them. My A1C 6wks post op was 5.3 and I am so happy. I wish I would have done this years ago (and you will feel the same). My knees don't hurt, I can move without joint pain. I now Zumba. I cannot thank Dr. Peterson enough for I feel a second chance at a healthy life. I know I was not happy where I was at and now I'm VERY happy (I can move, be active and not be tired or breathing heavy). If you are not sure this is for you or scared or not sure your insurance covers this procedure, take a moment & go to a seminar (it free and your questions will be answered) , then you can make the decision on how do you want to move forward with the rest of your life. You have 1 life & 1 body (that needs work because you -like me messed it up, guess what Dr. Peterson is helping me get my old better body back! Today I wear a size 10-12, I have a lot of energy and I'm blessed!

May 29, 2013

Overall
avatar

I had been planning weight loss surgery for a long, long time but every time I started there was something that made me uneasy so I didn't go through with it. Then my spouse (an OR nurse) said she found the right surgeon for me. Dr. Peterson and his staff were consummate professionals from day one. They answered all of my questions and did their best to set my mind at ease. The surgery itself went smoothly and the care afterwards was exceptional. Before, I could only walk 10 feet before taking a break, my diabetes was out of control, my life was simply just existing with no pleasure to it. After 145lbs loss, I am active again, I can walk for greater distances, my diabetes is under great control, I ride a bike, I live my life again. This surgery saved my life, and the support I still receive from Dr. Peterson and his staff is simply phenomenal. If I had to go through it again, I wouldn't change a thing.

May 16, 2013

Overall
avatar

Really compassionate and knowledgeable staff. Very thorough pre- op explanations and informed consent process. Staff easy to rtalk with and partner with you to make the decisions that are best for you. Surgery went great- absolutely no nausea or vomiting or any discomfort at all. Surgery staff at Christus Santa Rosa Westover Hills also absolutely wonderful. I am 30 days out from surgery and could not be more pleased. Have made very rapid recovery and have had no problems at all with pre- op or post- op diet. Would highly recommend this team!

Aug. 3, 2012

Overall
avatar

As a nurse for over 25 years, my decision to have weight loss surgery was many years in the making. I have seen the good, the bad and the ugly results of gastic bypass surgery. I attended many seminars and have meet many surgeons. I did not feel comfortable till I meet Dr Peterson. I was impressed with his low comlications rates and the fact that he stitched the pouch and stomach , instead of stapling. His office staff Cindy , Jane, and Anna are extremely friendly and knowlegable in their roles. Finally on May 9th of this year I had my surgery. As a nurse , I am prone to be in the control role and Dr Peterson was well aware of it. He reminded me to be the patient and ask questions. The staff at CSR Westover Hills on the 5th floor, took excelelnt care of me during my recovery time. I all most 3 months out and feel great.I would like to thank Dr Peterson for helping me save my life.
Cathy M

July 17, 2012

Overall
avatar

I met Dr. Richard Peterson while attending a Bariatric Seminar at the MARC 8300 Floyd Curl on April 2011. I was totally impressed with the knowledge this surgeon had to offer. I had been thinking about surgery for the past 2 years, but was unsure of myself, I guess scared for one, due to my medical condition. One thing that made me more intrested in this surgeon is that he explained how he actually stiches the stomach pouch, to give it less chance to leak, and he was one out of the 25 surgeons in the Nation that do that. After attending three Seminars I decided to go to his group session to find out what this was really all about before making any decisions. There I not only found answers to all my questions, I also found out what a beautiful person Dr. Richard Peterson really is. A doctor that not only takes the time to explain and answers questions to fullest detail, but one who really CARES for his patients, pre and post op. I was not only inpressed with Dr. Perterson, but also his staff, Cindy, Jane, and Ana, I was amazed how his patients espressed their graditude towards Dr. Peterson and his staff, and this I experience myself. At this point I knew he would be the one performing my surgery and that my family would support me with my decision, so I signed up for GBP. My husband was very impressed when he met him for the first time Dec. 2011.. I pray daily Dr. Peterson that GOD bless your every step and your surgeon hands. My surgery will be schedule Jan. 2012.
Nora1014

Dec. 26, 2011

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

From the time i first starting thinking about the surgrery to today I have been extremely impressed with Dr Peterson's knowledge and committment he has with me in every interaction. When i look for a Dr i look for someone who takes the time to answer my questions and has the patience to help me understand any processes that come my way. I was impressed with the time he spent with me after the procedcure, checking on me several times a day and speaking with my family. If you are looking for a Dr that not only has the expertise and experience to do the surgrery but interacts with the most professional and caring manner, then you need look no further, you are speaking about Dr. RIchard Peterson. People who know me know that i am extremely picky about the Dr. i keep or the doctors i recommend. I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Peterson and his staff for your weight loss needs. The time that it took for me to get this procedure approved, all my questions answered to MY satisfaction was short, this was due mainly to the Dr. and his staff; Jane and Cindy. They truely work as a team and are their for you every step of the way. I have not have to worry about paperwork or anything from day one. I am truely blessed to have had this experience and start on my new journey and healthier life, Trust me when i say you are in great hands with Dr Peterson and his staff, one interction will make you a believer too!!

Dec. 23, 2011

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I have work with Dr. Peterson since 2008 while he served our country and fought for our freedom. I became one of his patients 2011. He and his staff are remarkable and care very much about their patients. They have this attention to detail about everything they do. He has put together an incredible team from his office staff to his surgery team and his support group after surgery. His facility at Christus Santa Rosa Westover Hills is implausible. He has truly been a God sent to me. I am grateful to him. I would highly recommend him and his astonishing team to anyone who is taking into consideration this life changing surgery.

Dec. 12, 2011

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Very kind , very caring, superior surgeon. Would trust him with my life. I DID trust him with my wife's life and my daughters life. Can't recommend him higher. Not just the best Dr. I've met, but also one of the best people I've met.

His entire staff is great. Every single one of them truly and DEEPLY care about each patient.

Dec. 11, 2011

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr Peterson and his team have made my weight loss surgery a truly wonderful experience. Dr. Peterson is not only an excellent surgeon but is also a kind and caring person. He really cares for his patients and goes the extra mile to make sure they are well taken care of before, during and after surgery. He has put together an excellent team and every one of them is as caring for the patients as he is. They are all very encouraging and always willing to help with any questions of issues that you may have.

I am extremely glad I chose Dr Peterson and the Christus weight loss institute for my surgery. I really have nothing but wonderful things to say about everyone I have encountered, from the Drs office to everyone that took care of me while I was in the hospital to have my surgery. I would recommend Dr Peterson and Christus to anyone who is considering bariatric surgery.

Dec. 10, 2011

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×