S. Scott Davis Bariatric Surgeon M.D.
Write Review

14 Reviews for S. Scott Davis
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I had RNY surgery in Oct 2013 Dr. Davis and his staff are excellent. Thank god they have a new surgical coordinator Brianna Alsfelder who is truly efficient and kind, because the one they had prior was a nightmare! Brianna always calls you back in a timely manner. Dr. Davis is very knowledgeable and friendly. My first impression was that he was so young.....but make no mistake he is very capable. The only problem I had was the aftercare. While Dr. Davis did see me as well as other PA's some of the nurses were slack I had to wait forever for my fluids to be changed on a couple of occasions. And one nurse was terrible about managing my pain med.'s and kept me waiting a long time. The surgical staff is top notch though. Also this Dr. has zero tolerance for smoking, which is good, you have to take a nico/urine test to complete your pre-surgical testing, which is essential because smoking causes you not to heal properly. After the surgery I did not want one or to be around smoking at all .....so many great changes take place after this surgery.

Dec. 5, 2013
Overall
avatar

Dr Davis is awesome. He always listens to his patients. He gives lot of advice. If things aren't going well he doesn't make you feel like you are the failure. I had my lap-band surgery on 12/10/07. I have been with Dr Davis for the past 4 years. He will now be doing my revision to the gastric sleeve. If you are looking for a very caring, experienced and well skilled surgeon in the Atlanta area then Dr S Scott Davis is perfect for you.

Dec. 9, 2011
Overall
avatar

This MD does not screen patients adequately. Beware of him.

March 10, 2011
avatar

my first impression of doc. davis was he is might young looking but his bedside manner was excellent his staff was just great and got everything done on time i think that future patients should know that he will do everything to make you comfortable

April 14, 2010
avatar

I chose Dr. Davis and Emory because of the superior reputation Emory has in all fields. When I discussed the surgery with my Primary Care Physician, I told him that even though there were hospitals closer, I would like to go to Emory because of their reputation and since it is a teaching hospital, they would be up to date on the latest procedures.rnrnThe first time I met Dr. Davis, I felt very comfortable with him. Dr. Davis is located at Emory in Atlanta, which is a teaching hospital. Every time I see him, there are always associates with him and I am okay with that. Most of the associates or students that are with him seem very confident as well.rnrnDr. Davis' staff seems to be very knowledgable and capeable. I know there are a LOT of patients who come through their office, but they do make you feel like a person, not just another case study.rnrnI feel that surgical competence and bedside manner are both very important, and Dr. Davis' office excelled in both, with only one exception. When I was checking out of the hospital, the doctor was writing a script for pain medication, and he did not listen to what I was telling him. I cannot take codine. It makes me sick. I told him that more than once. On the advisory sheet that comes with the medication from the pharmacy, the first thing I read was Oxycodine. Fortunately for me, the pharmacy took the medication back. I never needed it anyway. Took only liquid Tylanol and was fine.

Oct. 12, 2009
avatar
LapBandGirl

My surgeon is very professional. He gave me the facts about Lap Band Surgery including the associated risks of surgery. I had an excellent impression of him. He has a lot of experience and that makes me feel better about it.

July 14, 2008
avatar

My Husband and I attended a WLS seminar hosted by Emory Bariatrics. The Doctor speaking at the seminar was Dr. Davis. Our first impression was WOW he is so YOUNG!!! Yet he was so informative and really made me feel at ease about their office and feel better about moving forward with my decision to have WLS. Ever since that night I have had nothing but a FABULOUS experience with Dr. Davis and the entire EMORY staff. They have been wonderful to me and are always available to answer my questions. I'm thrilled that this is the practice I have chosen for my WLS. On a side note...he looks younger than he actually is...but my husband still calls him Doogie Hosier!!!

June 3, 2008
avatar

I first attended a seminar at Emory held by Dr. Davis and I knew I liked him then. I have since had my first pre-op consultation with him and I found him very patient (I had a MILLION questions) and knowledgeable. I am looking forward to him completing my surgery. He really put me at ease about the surgery as well. I also liked his assistant, she was very friendly and helpful.

May 7, 2008
avatar

My first impression of Dr Davis was he was very young looking. He also had big feet. He was also very soft spoken. He showed me that he was very assured about what he does and that he was very professional. The staff was of great help and friendly.My paper work that had to be sent back to work took some time . Dr Davis did not come to see me after surgery before I went home to tell me everything looked good. He was very concerned about aftercare wanted to make sure that I follow the instruction they gave and to call if I had any question at all. They want you to have so much support to get you thru. He went over everything from the risk of the surgery and the pros for the surgery what would happen if you dont follow the rules to even drawing a picture of it form me. He was the a very good doctor to work with and easy to talk to. Surgical compentence I think was better, but bedside was not all that bad.

April 7, 2008
avatar

Dr. Davis is great. He is very personalble and has a wonderful bedside manner. Although he looks young, do not be fooled. He is very knowledgeable and has successfully performed many bariatric surgeries.(every Tuesday) His office staff is and has been great to me. Although they are sometimes very, very busy and you may feel as if they have forgotten you, be patient. I would rather have a doctor who has too many patients because he's great, than a doctor who has no patients because he's lousy.

March 28, 2008
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.