W. Jay Suggs

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 31 ratings

W. Jay Suggs Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS, FASMBS
Write Review

11 yr Experience

11 yr in Bariatrics

11 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

9 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 70


31 Reviews for W. Jay Suggs
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Suggs was not the first surgeon I had consulted with about my WLS...but he was the last. After my brother and his wife were treated by him, I felt he could be the right surgeon for me. The second I met his staff, and eventually him...I knew I was in the right hands. The overall process from the first consult until the surgery itself was quick and painless. I never once had a concern, as Dr. Suggs explained everything in full detail, and was always there to answer questions. Thankful that I had this opportunity at a better life. Would (and HAVE) highly recommend.

Oct. 29, 2013

Overall
avatar

My first visit with Dr. Suggs set any fears to rest. He answered all my questions and was very easy to understand. He and his staff was always available and concerned every step of the process of being approved and now after my surgery. I like how much knowledge Dr. Suggs and his staff has about the pros and cons of everything. I was told all the risk with the gastric sleeve. I went into surgery very well informed. The aftercare is great and the dietitian help is great. I would recommend the gastric sleeve and Dr. Suggs to anyone. I wish I had found him years ago. I am very please with everything. Three months out and I still get the same level of care that I received the first day I walked into his office.

June 8, 2013

Overall
avatar

Dr Suggs did my gastric bypass sugery in aug 2006 in decatur.I was so desperate and obese with a four month old suprise at 41 years of age i had a baby girl. weighing a whopping 338 pds I was wondering how in this world will I be able to keep up with my baby girl.I had. my surgery and would do it all over again .i would and have recommended dr suggs to many people including family and friends

Feb. 18, 2013

Overall
avatar

Dr. Suggs was wonderful. He made sure I was comfortable and had my questions answered. He didn't sugar-coat anything, but he also was very kind - if that makes sense. He didn't want me to have any misconceptions about my surgery, the process, or the work that I would put into the journey. He seems genuinely concerned about each of his patients.
The aftercare is very structured, and his whole staff care about what you are going through. His assistant in the OR for my surgery was named Ty - that's all he would let me call him. He really cared about how I was doing each day in the hospital and explained each little thing to me. Jeannie - the coordinator of my program - really cares about your success, and came to the hospital to encourage me after the surgery and to make sure I was doing what I was supposed to do.
I really cannot say enough about Dr. William Suggs and his entire staff. I would recommend them to anyone!

Aug. 19, 2010

avatar

My first impression of Dr Suggs was that he made me feel like I was important to him. He made me feel welcome and always made me feel like I could do the program. I still have the same impression of him - a kind, caring person. His office staff is high quality and very personable. The aftercare includes support groups which is very helpful to pre-op and post-op patients. He was very honest about the risks of surgery. I would give him a 10 out of 10 rating. Both his surgical competence and bedside manner are great. I would highly recommend Dr. Suggs to anyone who is considering the gastric bypass surgery.

Jan. 26, 2010

avatar

I am very pleased with the help I have received from my weight loss clinic. Dr. Suggs and his staff will do everything they do to keep you at ease and answer any questions that we have. I appreciate the support group meetings. I learned so much from them and was very comfortable going into surgery.

Oct. 8, 2009

avatar

My first impression is that he was very quiet and an excellent listener. He is extremely interested in what you have to say and always tells you exactly what he thinks. He is very honest about the procedure and aftercare so much so that everything that I have experienced, he said I would. He is an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10. I would recommend him to anyone who is considering this life altering and life-long commitment. Ginny, Kathy, and Rosie are always available when needed and are great to work with.

May 8, 2009

avatar

My first impression of Dr. Suggs was that he was too young to be a surgeon! I quickly realized that he is definitely well beyond his years in bariatric experience. I was instantly at ease and unintimidated, something that most obese people DO NOT feel around doctors. Dr. Suggs was very explicit about the risks and options between lab band and gastric bypass. He was also VERY patient on the surgical consult day when I (being a teacher and a little obsessive compulsive) had a 2 page list of questions to go through before surgery. I told him he did well on my \"test\". He said he felt like he'd taken his boards all over again. LOL! Dr. Suggs stresses aftercare to the inth degree. In fact, his patience know very well that aftercare is the key to successful weight loss. Overall, I would rate Dr. Suggs a 10 out of 10. In addition, his office staff is WONDERFUL! They provide support and encouragement every step of the process.

March 12, 2009

avatar

Dr. Suggs and his staff are great! They have been very attentive from the start. Dr. Suggs and his staff will answer any questions that you may have about WLS. He will sit down with you and discuss the different options you have set before you. Then you all will pick out the one that best fits you. He never compares you to anyone else that he sees. He will make sure your family and you are completely aware of all risks before you even think about a surgery date. They have a great support system after the surgery too. They have a dietician on staff that can answer any question you may have about eating before and after surgery. I have a special place in my heart for Dr. Suggs and his staff. They have changed my life for the better. They are all so knowledgeable about the surgeries they perform daily. If I had to do the surgery all over again I would not change a thing! Thanks Ginny, Kathy, and Dr. Suggs!

March 10, 2009

avatar

I enjoyed meeting with Dr. Suggs and his staff, everyone there was helpful in every way.rnDr. Suggs as well as the rest of the office staff went over the risks of surgery as well as the outcome, and were ready to answer any questions I had not matter what they may have been.rnThe night shift of the hospital in which Dr. Suggs usess was not the best, but that was not his fault. I've been in the that hospital before and it wasn't like that, so I think it was perhaps the nurses on staff.rnI was in and out in less than 23 hours and I have responded well to all aspects of the surgery and the care afterward.

March 8, 2009

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×