W. Jay Suggs

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 31 ratings

W. Jay Suggs Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS, FASMBS

11 yr Experience

11 yr in Bariatrics

11 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

9 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 70


31 Reviews for W. Jay Suggs
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Suggs is a life saver. He made me feel very comfortable about the whole event that changed my life for the best. His office staff was there for me when I needed information or just an ear to bend. He is up front about the problems that could accure. The monthly meetings he holds are a great way that he informs the public.

June 12, 2006

avatar

I BECAME INTERESTED IN DR. SUGGS PERFORMING MY SURGERY AFTER A FRIEND OF MINE WHO HAD ALREADY UNDERGONE SURGERY HAD WENT TO ONE OF HIS SEMINARS AND WAS SO IMPRESSED WITH HIS KNOWLEGE AND MANNERISMS. I HAVE CONSULTED WITH DR. SUGGS AND HE TRULY DID APPEAR TO BE VERY KNOWLEGEABLE AND CARING.
THE OFFICE STAFF IS GREAT. I KNOW THEY PROBABLY ARE TIRED OF HEARING FROM ME SO MUCH WORKING UP TO THE INSURANCE APPROVAL BUT EACH AND EVERY ONE OF THEM HAS BEEN VERY PROFESSIONAL THROUGHOUT THIS PROCESS.
DR. SUGGS REALLY TALKED ABOUT THE AFTERCARE AND THIS BEING A LIFE CHANGING SURGERY AND NOT A MIRACLE SURGERY. THIS TO ME WAS GREAT INFORMATION BECAUSE THERE ARE ALOT OF PEOPLE OUT THERE THAT THINKS THE SURGERY IS ALL YOU HAVE TO DO AND NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT YOUR LIFESTYLE. HIS AFTERCARE PROGRAM IS VERY STRUCTURED AND HE WANTS TO SEE HIS PATIENTS REGULARLY UP TO ONE YEAR AND THEN ONCE PER YEAR AFTER THAT.
DR. SUGGS ADDRESSED THE RISK OF SURGERY VERY OPENLY.
I WOULD GIVE HIM AND HIS CREW A 10+ UP TO THIS POINT AND I THINK THE WORSE PART IS OVER AS FAR AS THE WAIT FOR THE APPROVAL...AND A SURGERY DATE

March 7, 2006

avatar

Dr Suggs was very professional and very knowlegeable. He explained the surgery and answered all my questions in a way that I could understand what he was talking about. I was his frist bariactric patient in his Decatur practic and was treated with the utmost care. He is a great surgeon and has a great bedside manor. The Surgical Weightloss Center at Parkway Medical Center is a nice facility. The staff knows what is going on and will take good care of you. Dr Suggs trained everyone from the OR nurses to the Dieticians. He explains all the risks. He is frank and will tell you if you are a good canidate for the surgery or not. His staff is alwats their for you after your surgery. If you have any questions they are only a phone call away. He stresses the importance of the suport group attendence after your surgery. I strongly recomend Dr. Suggs.

Feb. 16, 2006

avatar

I was very impressed with his demeanor and his concern for my overall well being.

It increased in admiration for him.

wonderful

i could not find anything that i did not like about him.

He is a wonderful man.

Hugely

not overly, but he was encouraging

straghtforward and honestly

10+

both were wonderful

Aug. 3, 2004

avatar

Dr. Suggs is a highly competent and well trained surgeon. At first, he seems a little brusque, but that softens as you get to know one another. He is very interested in the wellfare of his patients and a very learned Dr. in Bariatric medicine.

On the down side, he can be brutally honest, so make sure you can "handle the truth" if you ask him. He did a great job of explaining the risks and the benefits of the open RNY and my role throughout the process. Although, his initial honesty and candor, was at first difficult to take, I realize that he did a great job in "under promising, and over delivering!"

Dr. Suggs is excellent!!

Nov. 5, 2003

avatar

my surgery is to be on monday........I have found dr. suggs to be very nice and he listens to what I have to say and answers all of my questions........always professional and his staff know what they are doing.............yvonne
********************************************
thought i would update about doc suggs........i had some complications after WLS and no matter what time of the day i called i was always in touch with either "Suggs" or Tyson in a matter of minutes.......one time i had to be met at the emergency room by doc tyson and he pushed me threw and took care of me as if i were his sister...........i love these two men!!! if you want caring and kind docs and a staff that knows what they are doing ...........see these men .........as a matter of fact i joke that DOCTOR JAY SUGGS IS THE OTHER MAN IN MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!

Sept. 6, 2003

avatar

I ended up going with Dr Suggs in Pensacola he took my insurance and could get me in the fastest and did not require me to redo anything. Sometimes I wonder if that was the best thing to do. Dr. Suggs is very nice and seems to care alot, but just make sure that you research your surgeon and his methods over and over again because this is your life that you are talking about. Just ask and I;ll explain. I just thank God that everything has gone ok so far.

June 17, 2003

avatar

My first impression of Dr.Suggs was that he was very knowledgeable in his field. He is also very compassionate to obese people. I have only met with him once, he was very thorough in explaining everything and also gave you plenty of time to ask questions. I would rate him a "10" so far. I go back to him on the 20th and will let you know more later.
I had my surgery on March 31,2003 and did great. As far as I'm concerned, Dr.Suggs is the best! He has a lot of compassion and really does care about each and everyone of us. I have no regrets picking him for my doctor. Thank you, Dr. Suggs!!!!

May 1, 2003

avatar

My first impression of Dr.Suggs was that he was a very caring and smart man.
At this time I still have the same impressions, even though I have only met him twice.
I believe that future patients should know that he gives a once a month free siminar on the surgery and that he is availabe to answer any questions or concerns that you might have.
At the seminar Dr.Suggs goes into great details of the risks and the procedure, explaining everything.
After having my surgery on the 25th of March I would highly recommend the team of Dr. Suggs and Dr. Tyson. My surgeon was one of the most caring Doctors I have ever met and being a Christian Doctor, that was also inportant to me. He listens and has a wonderful beside manner, he takes the time to understand all that you are feeling and going through. If you are in the Pensacola, Florida area and want this surgery he's the Doctor to see!!

April 8, 2003

avatar

My first impression of Dr suggs was Oh my god he is so young, but he knew what he was talking about and he really cared. My impression of him never changed he was great the whole time and always cared. Very good bedside manner would come in and visit like four or five times a day. There wasn't anything really that I didn't like about him everything was great, I will miss his nurse Debbie though she is no longer working with him but she was wonderful a great inspiration and she really is why I had the surgery. Anyone out there looking for a surgeon Dr Suggs is the best!!!!!!!!!

Nov. 9, 2002

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×