Kahlil Shillingford

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 11 ratings

Kahlil Shillingford Bariatric Surgeon MD, PA

Kahlil Shillingford's Photo

12 yr Experience

11 yr in Bariatrics

11 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

11 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

85% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 16

Max Age of Patient is N/A


avatar
Susan Peacock
MS Registered Dietitian/Nutritionist
avatar
Nancy Johnson
Office Manager

11 Reviews for Kahlil Shillingford
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Shillingford is great! He did my gastric sleeve. Very patient answering all my questions and has a calming, low-key demeanor. Would recommend to anyone!!

Oct. 17, 2017

Overall
avatar

Dr Shillingford did my surgery (gastric sleeve) last July, so far I have lost 98 lbs, I am so happy with the results, he is a great doctor, he is the best doctor a person can have, he also did lap band for my son. I would highly recommend him, his staff are great, they are always there when you need them.

June 22, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I have just had my first consultation with the doctor. He was very professional and not at all judging! I was fully expecting him to lecture me about my weight and he didn't. He took a lot of time to explain the different options, complications, what happens after surgery, and the long term effects.

The office staff is really the rock of the office. I have no doubt that Nancy, the office manager, will be able to get my insurance approval quickly.

I am looking forward to my surgery!

May 16, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I absolutely LOVE how this office runs! I walk in, and the office staff knows me by name and welcomes me. I don't live in the immediate area, and they have been amazing with dealing with my crazy schedule! I also like that I have seen a lot of medical students passing through. They all seem to really know what they are doing, which means that Dr. Shillingford is really teaching them well. As for Dr. Shillingford, he answers all of my crazy questions that I have. Being only 23, I am very nervous going into the surgery, but Dr. Shillingford and his staff have definitely been easing my nerves throughout the pre-op process.

If I ever have to talk to anyone about potentially getting some kind of weight loss surgery, I will highly recommend Dr. Shillingford!

March 29, 2014

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

This office has a very knowledgeable and friendly staff. The office is nice, clean, warm and inviting. Dr Shillingford gave me all of the proper info needed to keep my expectations realistic. The info also helped me make informed decisions regarding my procedure and care. I am grateful to have found Dr. Shillingford and his team, they saved my life! I will definitely recommend them to anyone looking to have bariatric surgery.

Dec. 25, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Since I was in elementary school I struggled with my weight. I tried tons of diets, went up, down, and back up plus more time after time. At age 38 I had a realization. I had given everything I had to my children and my husband. I had done the best so far that I could do for everyone else. It was time for me to do something really important for me. It was for them too as I had a bmi of 41, my health, and my ability to participate in activities was declining. My self esteem was terribly low as well. I was very sad inside. Then I went to see Dr. Shillingford. He was so very kind. He was very knowledgeable, he explained the procedures, took his time with me, and answered any questions I had. There was no pressure and his office staff also took their time with me over the phone, in the office, and were very nice. I opted to have Gastric Sleeve surgery. My surgery went very smoothly. I felt well enough to leave the hospital after just one day but Dr. Shillingford being the great Dr. he is, urged me to stay the full duration so I could be monitored to which I agreed. Since then, I have gone back to Dr. Shillingford routinely for monthly, bi-monthly, and now tri-monthly appointments so he could monitor my progress. It has now been 4 1/2 months. I have lost 77 lbs so far and my BMI is down to 29! I am still losing and I am feeling so much better about taking pictures, showing myself in public, and talking to other people. There is no going up and down on the scale anymore! I just can't eat the food I used to anymore and I don't want to. I am completely satisfied with my smaller portions and my smaller body. Marrying my husband and having my children were the best decisions of my life. Going to Dr. Shillingford and having the surgery came next in line. I am done with being overweight, I am healthy now, and I am happy!

Nov. 11, 2013

1 person found this helpful

avatar

Dr Shillingford is the answer to my prayers. He is great! surgery went smoothly and recovery was fast. I am very pleased with his service. I highly recommend him.

Sept. 6, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Shillingford and his staff were extremely nice and knowledgeable! Also, being a younger patient, this experience could have been very daunting but everyone involved made me feel very comfortable and confident in the decision I was making.

Aug. 2, 2013

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

"What an amazing experience. Dr. Shillingford is a kind, thoughtful, and experienced professional, I credit him with giving me my life back. Along with Dr. Shillingford, there is a fine staff of individuals available to answer questions, address concerns, etc. I am so happy to have found Dr. Shillingford. He's simply the best!

July 19, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Shillingford and his staff are amazing! I have dealt with many different bariatric surgeon's offices in the past few months while trying to find the best fit for me. The first thing I can tell you is that every time I call the office, the office manager Nancy answers the phone and is very kind and helpful. She does not rush to get off the phone and makes sure that all of your questions are answered! I could tell that she truly cares about guiding patients in the right direction and making the patient feel valued and comfortable. Dr. Shillingford made me feel very comfortable and took the time to listen to my concerns and questions. I went into his office a little hesitant about having a weight loss procedure done and came out with no worries! Everyone in the office was amazingly friendly and helpful which which is definitely something to be valued.

April 5, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×