Barix Clinics - Michigan

Hospital
Rating: 4.72161172161 out of 5 with 539 ratings

Barix Clinics - Michigan Hospital
Write Review

avatar
Steven Poplawski, MD, FACS
Barix Clinics of Michigan
avatar
Jamokay Taylor, MD, FACS
Barix Clinics of Michigan
avatar
Andre Nunn, MD, FACS
Barix Clinics of Michigan

539 Reviews for Barix Clinics - Michigan
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

He's beyond awesome!!!!
Previously a heart surgeon, my life couldn't have been in BETTER hands.

May 25, 2017

Overall
avatar

Excellent surgeon and very personable.
He like to see successes and works with you to succeeded.
Good facility well kept.
Family ran Wife does an excellent job in keeping you up to date and is easy to work with.

April 7, 2014

Overall
avatar

Dr. Taylor is a great doctor.
Although he did not do my initial Realize Band in 2009. He did have to repair it in 2010 or 2011 ( I cant remember). and I have been going to him ever since. He is a kind person and tells you the truth..even if you dont want to hear it and will fuss at you as well!...lol. I am having complications with my band and I know he will let me know what is the best solution for me! I would suggest/refer him to anyone in the Metro Detroit Area!

Dec. 26, 2013

avatar

My first impression was deceiving. I was concerned that it was not run as a hospital, but rather a surgical center. I am still not certian if there was a major life threatening issue during a surgery or after what the care would be like, however, that aside it turned out to be the best hospital experience I have encountered. I went in for plastic sugery (tummy tuck) and the staff was highly professional. The were responsive as well pre-op, and very careful in listening for medicinal allergies or low tolerance. I am convinced that because of this it was the first time I did not wake up vomiting from a surgery, as they indicated that if I do not tolerate morphine well (even if it is unknown if I am allergic) that it would be avoided. So much better! The room was very comfortable, and absoutlely wondeful to have it a private room. I consequently was so much more able to rest. The nurses were attentive, but not overbearing. I was able to rest comfortably and if I needed anything it was provided. The staff overall was highly professional and very pleasant, and at least to the untrained eye appeared to be excellent at their jobs. I was frankly shocked at how the hospital stay was so positive, as I normally am one that absolutely hates to be in the hospital.

Dec. 19, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
How well equipped was the hospital to handle overweight patients?
How sensitive was the staff to the needs of overweight patients?
How safe did you feel that the hospital was well equiped enough to handle any medical emergency that might arise during your stay there?
How much privacy did you feel the hospital gave you?
How responsive did you feel the hospital was in give you pain medications?
How restfully quiet did you find your experience?
How accommodating was the hospital in allowing visitors to see you?
How responsive do you feel the staff was in helping you with your general needs during your stay?
How would you rate the parking accomodations?

1 previous review. « hide

My first impression was deceiving. I was concerned that it was not run as a hospital, but rather a surgical center. I am still not certian if there was a major life threatening issue during a surgery or after what the care would be like, however, that aside it turned out to be the best hospital experience I have encountered. I went in for plastic sugery (tummy tuck) and the staff was highly professional. The were responsive as well pre-op, and very careful in listening for medicinal allergies or low tolerance. I am convinced that because of this it was the first time I did not wake up vomiting from a surgery, as they indicated that if I do not tolerate morphine well (even if it is unknown if I am allergic) that it would be avoided. So much better! The room was very comfortable, and absoutlely wondeful to have it a private room. I consequently was so much more able to rest. The nurses were attentive, but not overbearing. I was able to rest comfortably and if I needed anything it was provided. The staff overall was highly professional and very pleasant, and at least to the untrained eye appeared to be excellent at their jobs. I was frankly shocked at how the hospital stay was so positive, as I normally am one that absolutely hates to be in the hospital.

Dec. 19, 2013

Overall
How well equipped was the hospital to handle overweight patients?
How sensitive was the staff to the needs of overweight patients?
How safe did you feel that the hospital was well equiped enough to handle any medical emergency that might arise during your stay there?
How much privacy did you feel the hospital gave you?
How responsive did you feel the hospital was in give you pain medications?
How restfully quiet did you find your experience?
How accommodating was the hospital in allowing visitors to see you?
How responsive do you feel the staff was in helping you with your general needs during your stay?
How would you rate the parking accomodations?
avatar

With weightloss surgery I lost so much weight and was left with a lot of extra skin on my stomach and arms that I was not prepared for. For years I would only wear loose fitted shirts to hide all this extra skin I had. I was referred to Dr. DiNick by a co-worker who also had surgery with him. She was so pleased with her results and time and time again talked about how he was the best around and I should just schedule a consultation with him. With her mentorship I was finally ready to move forward with changing the look of my body. Dr. DiNick performed a tummy tuck and reconstructed my arms in the same day. My co-worker was right, he is an amazing surgeon! I could not be more pleased with the results and the treatment received by this busy surgeon. His bedside manner was wonderful and even spent so much time making me feel comfortable and was very informative on each procedure prior to surgery. I couldn’t be any happier with the results of my surgery or choice of surgeon. I feel alive and happy again thanks to this surgeon’s talented work!!

Sept. 8, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

I was pleased with my tummy tuck procedure so I decided to have a breast reduction. I scheduled my procedure and was told that my insurance would not pay for the entire procedure. I imagined that I would have some expenses from my insurance. I called my insurance company only to find out that I was covered 100 percent, I was told that it is not legal to balance bill a patient for a surgery that is covered if my insurance participates with the doctor. His office still insisted that my insurance would not cover a part of my surgery, so I cancelled my surgery with him, and went to another plastic surgeon where it was covered in full. Please be aware of your insurance coverage, this can make a huge difference in your decision.

Aug. 26, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

Dr. Taylor is very nice and informative. He will answer all your questions. I am glad he did my surgery.

Aug. 17, 2013

Overall
avatar

Terrible experience at first. It took multiple calls to schedule the consultation, as they never pick up the phone and I always had to leave a voicemail. They do not return calls. Finally scheduled a consultation. Consultation day went well enough and a preauthorization process was initiated. Now it is a couple months later and I have not heard anything back. I was told at the appointment that I would get a status update every week or 2. I have had no contact from the office. I have left messages, and none of the calls have been returned. Ridiculous. Stay away from this practice. Eventually I cancelled my original surgery date, because I just wasn't confident that they would provide support should something not go well. I changed my mind, and contacted them. This time the person scheduling surgical dates was supurb. She returned calls promptly, ensured that all questions were answered, and in general was highly professional. This changed my mind and I proceeded with the surgery. Dr. Dinick did an excellent job and was very meticulous about the process. The stay at the facility turned out to be my most pleasant hospital stay out of all of my major surgeries. Recovery has gone exceedingly well. I am not certain if they fired the one person that was so inept when I initially was trying to work with this practice, but once the office staff situation was resolved everything went beautifully. Dr. Dinick did an excellent job of getting the insurance to pay for the pannis removal too, and the cost to finish the tummy tuck seemed reasonable. I would without hesitation recommend him.

July 18, 2013, Updated: Dec. 19, 2013

1 person found this helpful

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

I had surgery with Dr Vincent Dinick. I am unhappy with my result......He will not stand by his work. He will let his personal life interfere with his medical decisions. I was pleased with my result in the first stages of my healing process, but shortly after, I became concerned. His medical assistant who is actually his girlfriend could not answer any of my questions after my surgery. He is cocky and arrogant. I will have to pay a different plastic surgeon to fix his mess, what a mistake I made choosing him!!!!!

July 1, 2013

Overall
How well did this person seem to know their field?
How good a listener did you find this person to be?
How polite did you find this person?
How effective did you find this person in helping you?
How good was this person in explaining things to you?
How experienced did this person seem with helping obese individuals?
How well equipped was this person office to handle obese individuals?
How sensitive was this person to the needs and feelings of the obese?
How would you rate this person's impression of bariatric surgery?
avatar

Jamokay Taylor was a life saver. I had gastric bypass 8 years before lost much weight 130 and got married and had a child- wellneedless to say I gained back almost 70lbs! Boy did I feel like a failure! I started contacting surgeons because I heard of the procedure band over bypass! well that was a joke! no doctor seemed to want to do it. It was as if they were saying no you already failed, Im not wasting their time! Well when I met Dr. Taylor he was kind and said lets give you a new set of skills?
and asked me if I knew where I went wrong? and I cried, Yes I knew where I blew it and yes I failed! That did not matter to him, with in 2 months I had the lap band! I have know lost over 70lbs and I am on my way to a healthy body and life style! He saw hope in me and that I was not a looser just human that made many mistakes! I truly am pleased with him! Yes a little quite, Im sure he see'smecoming and shakes his head as in comes this live wire! But he cares! about each individual- this is not about an income for him its about helping people in need! He has since done surgery on 3 other friends and family members! all doing well!! Trust me he is ready and eager to give you the tools you need to change! He also knows that this is a disease that you fight with and you may make mistakes! I thank him for being that one caring doctor that saw me for more than a mistake!

May 20, 2013

2 people found this helpful

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×