Optisource Chewable Vitamin & Mineral Supplement

Product
Rating: 4.11111111111 out of 5 with 9 ratings

Optisource Chewable Vitamin & Mineral Supplement by Novartis Medical Nutrition - Vitamin Supplement

Optisource Chewable Vitamin & Mineral Supplement's Photo
9 Reviews for Optisource Chewable Vitamin & Mineral Supplement
Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I have taken this vitamins since my RNY 9/16 and have always have excellent labs. Four a day, chewable, orange flavored tablets that you can take with you easily. I do take an iron supplement in addition to this but have not had to take extra calcium, B12 or Biotin. I used to get them from Walgreens.com for $27 bucks but the price has now increased to $31.99. In store the price is higher. Labs don't lie, give it a try!

Aug. 20, 2018 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

While you need to take additional calcium citrate with it, overall it's not bad. It meets the standards set forth by my bariatric center (members of ASMBS) and is economical. I just wish it wasn't needed 4 time a day!

Nov. 17, 2009 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

This is a poor choice for gastric bypass patients. After a gastric bypass, we need about 200% of the RDA of most vitamins and minerals, and 4 Optisource only gives you 100% of most things. Therefore, you'd really need to take 8 a day, not 4 like the label says. Also, they contain calcium carbonate, and after RNY we need calcium citrate. We cannot absorb carbonate well at all. These just do not meet the needs of RNY patients.

Oct. 30, 2009 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

All in one vitamin. hooray

May 26, 2008 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

sorry folks I just don't like orange flavor. could they make it lemon or something? Other than that there is nothing wrong with this product.

Sept. 14, 2007 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

I've taken these vitamins with my local bariatric center's recommendation since right before my WLS in 2005 and my bloodwork has always come back excellent. Not deficient in any nutrient. I will continue to take one 4x a day as recommended unless my bloodwork says otherwise. They taste great!

April 6, 2007 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

Its ok but you have to take four times a day which is inconvenient and it is a little pricey. I switched to Centrum Adult Chewable about 10 bucks for a months worth, less than half the price and four times the convenience.

Feb. 17, 2007 (indicates that they have used the product)

1 person found this helpful

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

These are easy to take. Just a little bit sour. Other than that it beats swallowing a bunch of pills.

Dec. 8, 2006 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
avatar

These vitamins were surprisingly pleasant. They have a citrus-orange flavor to them, smoother than a typical vitamin C but still flavorful. Considering you take 4 per day it's good to be able to enjoy them. If you have to take a nasty liquid medicine, like your post op painkiller or Zantac for example, it makes a great chaser for getting the bad flavor out of your mouth! I think $25 a month for vitamins is very reasonable.

Dec. 1, 2004 (indicates that they have used the product)

Overall
Taste
Price
Nutritional Value
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×