Update from the Ripley saga...

cripley
on 11/11/05 10:22 pm - West Palm Beach, FL
I know it's been a while. Some highlights: I left my job at Paxson 09/23/05. I was a Senior Accountant there, but only dealt with Fixed Assets so there wasn't a lot of variety. I started a new job that paid well, but lost it 1.5 weeks later. They gave a very bogus reason. Either I was too much of a threat to employees that were slow workers, or they didn't want to deal with my cancer. Not sure. My bilateral (double) mastectomy, skin sparring, nipple sparring... yes nipples are still there.. was on 11/4/05. Apparently, if you have the best surgeon around working on you, you get to keep the nipples because he's just that meticulous. I found out the extenders the plastic surgeon (Alan Pillersdorf) put in were 1/2 full already. I have so much skin! I think I'm definitely going to be a full "C" when they are full. One thing about being so fat, I have lots of skin for the boobs! Pillersdorf is also going to do all the excess skin removal on me and on Eric next year. He said, this was just the first step in a very long process to put me back together. He complimented that I'd done SO MUCH to make myself healthy, that now it's his job to make me beautiful. He's two specialties are bariatric reconstruction and breast reconstruction... yeah.. perfect for me. So, status is: I'm cancer free, I'm 1/2 way to new boobs, and I'm unemployed. But my husband is wonderful and took great care of me after surgery. I've been told by so many nurses that he sure does love me so very much. More later.. Tina
kenziesmommy
on 11/13/05 6:34 pm - Riverside, RI
Hey, How nice to hear from you. Sorry about the job issue's but I am happy to hear your doing so good. Sounds like your hubby is a true angel. Best of luck and happy healing wishes on your surgeries and all the upcoming surgeries you and your husband will be having. How is your dad doing? Shannon
cripley
on 11/14/05 1:05 pm - West Palm Beach, FL