Six years later....How are we doing??

Jen D.
on 1/24/13 11:22 am - Central, FL

I haven't checked this board in years.  I'm sad to admit that.  This board was integral in getting me to choose my VSG, and was crucial to my success in losing 70 pounds.  I went from 263 on surgery day to 193 a year later.  Weight has been slowly creeping up since 2008.  I'm now at 218 and working every day to keep from going any higher.  Most of my gain I attribute to failed fertility treatments in 2009-2010, and the adoption of my son who has a sleep disorder.  I've been sleeping about 6 hours a night for the last 3 years, with very little exercise.   

Trying to get back on a plan that will work.  I don't really feel restriction any more.  I still eat less than most people I know, but not as little as it used to be.  I eat a lot of "slider" foods to get around my sleeve.  Chocolate and chips are probably my worst and most regular vices.  Shameful.

I hate to feel like I'm squandering the gift of my sleeve.  I had a dream surgery and recovery.  Nary a side effect--except a couple of embarrassing dumping and gas incidents in public fairly early on.  Wishing I could get back to that honeymoon phase and really use my sleeve the way it was intended.  Anyone have any advice on that?

Jen D.

PreVSG/PostVSG:  263/193

Restart/Current/Goal:  235/228/160

Tawnya Z.
on 4/1/13 6:35 am - Brentwood, TN

Hi Jen,