Getting ready...

lelagoddess
on 8/8/12 11:44 am
So, what are people doing to get ready, emotionally or physically?

I'm buying some protein powder...trying not to overbuy, since people say your tastes change after surgery.  I'm replacing my magic bullet since i've had this one for over 5 years and it doesn't work the way it used to.  I've gottten chewable multivitamins and calcium (I always take calcium, it's not surgery related) 

I've told work--I don't have the final approval from insurance yet, so I had to give them a tentative (though probable) schedule.  My doc wants me out for a full 4 weeks since I'm a nurse and I'm having a band to sleeve revision--I think it's excessive, but I have extended sick leave that we can only use after a week so I have well over 4 weeks I can take.  I've told a few of my coworkers why, and the grapevine will handle the rest.  I wasn't going to--but I decided coming back after weight loss would make it obvious.  

I've been walking on my treadmill and doing yoga--trying to build up to more and more exercise. 

What is everyone else doing to get ready?  

Annasbell
on 8/10/12 5:35 pm - Arcadia, FL
RNY on 09/12/12
 I am scheduled for the 12th of September, it would have been earlier but I am avoiding downtown Tampa during the convention madness.

Today is my first day back from vacation, first day that I am really starting to work toward losing some weight pre-op.  I don't have any specific goals, just to get things rolling.  The last week before surgery will be a liquid diet to shrink my liver.  

I ordered chewable vitamins, iron, calcium and probiotics.  I also ordered a dozen samples of different protein powders from vitalady, and I am researching blenders for the puréed stage.  

I worked out in the pool today, plan on starting a walking program tomorrow (Today was my recovery from a weeks worth of vacation walking..Legoland, Disney, Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach....the list goes on....)