Will surgery even help me?

rdundas
on 7/24/16 8:59 pm

Hi everyone,

I live about an hour from Calgary and I am considering requesting a surgery for the Calgary clinic from my doctor. I am wondering if surgery will really help me? I desperately need to lose weight for the sake of my health, my marriage, and my children.

I am 32 years old and a mother of two. My BMI is 43. In my early 20's, I lost over 100lbs and maintained a BMI of about 25 for almost 5 years. Children have taken a toll on my body... and I just can't seem to get it together.

I have been trying to lose weight for almost 3 years (since the birth of my last child) and can't seem to do it. I have been attending weigh****chers every week. I will lose 20ish lbs and then gain it again. I emotionally eat a lot.

I am a Psychologist, so I know a thing or two about the cognitive distortions and thought processes that lead me to eat. But that does not stop me from doing it.

I am desperate to lose weight and go through the motions day in an day out, but I just can't get anything to stick. Even if I have surgery I will still be an emotional eater and binge on occasion... will surgery even help me?!  I know how to eat well, whole grains, fruit and veggies, lean meats- I maintained a BMI of 25 for years after growing up heavy. But I just eat too much sometimes!

I feel like (no offence please to anyone!!) that having surgery is like giving up. 

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Andream33
on 7/25/16 10:46 am - Drayton Valley, Canada

Hello, 

i know there are weight wise classes that a person can take. If you look up on Alberta health it should steer you in the right direction.  Or private message me and I would be happy to help you find them.