Hello - New Member

meontheweb
on 6/23/18 11:01 pm - New Westminster, BC, Canada

Hello,

I'm new here. Found this site from a document over at the Richmond Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery site.

Long story, but it's relevant hope I don't bore you. :-)

I'm 50-years old, and have been overweight most of my life.

Last year I was laid off, I was a senior manager. It has been difficult finding new work - not because there isn't work out there, there is a lot however as soon as the interviewers meet with me the meetings are very short and a few days later I find out they went with other candidates. I am POSITIVE that this is due to my weight and because of that my appearance - doesn't help that I sweat like crazy carrying around all that extra weight.

I DO NOT have any hang-ups on my appearance, however I am overweight by at least 100lbs and know I need to lose the weight.

I am seriously considering bariatric surgery and in fact will visit my family doctor next week (I live in British Columbia, Canada) to discuss this, he may tell me to see my endocrinologist (I have Type 2 Diabetes, High Blood Pressure and Cholesterol). I am excited about this, but also scared.

What worries me most about rapid weight loss is loose sagging skin. Does this happen to EVERYONE that goes through this procedure? I've seen others that have lost a lot of weight in a short period of time however they have not had loose/saggy skin. What can be done to prevent loose/saggy skin if you go through bariatric surgery?

I'd appreciate any feedback that you could provide regarding bariatric surgery (I will ask to be referred to the Richmond Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery program at the Richmond Hospital).

Thanks,

M

I think I originally posted this in the wrong forum (Ontario) instead of BC - didn't realize there are forums for each province.

Shoelace
on 6/26/18 10:41 am

Hi M,

I haven't had the surgery yet so not speaking from experience at this point but we were told to expect skin.