Newbie...sort of

Katieinct
on 4/5/14 4:42 am - Milford, CT
RNY on 12/19/14

Hi Fellow Nutmeggers! 

I am a newbie sort of...I was here before when I had started my process of getting lap band surgery back in 2008 but right before my hospital date I got a very bad infection in the hardware in my left leg and it turned into a 5 month ordeal.  By the time I returned to work a lot had happened and many people had gotten laid off so it was not a good time to ask for another leave of absence.  It was very stressful after that and I could not get the surgery.  I was extremely disappointed in the least but in time I have found that it had to have been fate because I don't think I would have been happy with the lap band because I love veggies especially raw ones and at that time I didn't but my taste changed go figure.  I am disabled but since my motorcycle accident I have tried to live as close to a normal life as possible.  I was not supposed to be working but I wanted to and worked as long as I could.  As of August 2013, my doctors insisted I stop because my body is breaking down and I was filling with a lot of fluid and my blood pressure is too high.  Now that I am settled into an early retirement I have a lot of time on my hands to reflect and think.  My father had high blood pressure and passed away at 59 years old, I am turning 52 this year and now that I have high blood pressure I feel that I need to do something about my weight.   So I am back to start all over again.  I have managed to keep my weight close to the same as before but I just can't seem to lose weight.  After giving things a lot of thought I have decided to have the gastric bypass procedure.  I found out yesterday that I have no co-pays and could not be any happier.  I scheduled my seminar for April 21st and I cannot wait to start again.  There really are no surprises for me, I've been through the process before so now I just want to do what I need to do to get the surgery and I am hoping all my tests