11th Year Surgiversary - Reflections

Kennedy12
on 12/14/11 12:08 pm - Chicago, IL
December 11th was my 11th surgiversary and I have been trying to think about how I would sum up my experience thus far and I realized, the only way to sum it up is to say that I have a completely different life now.

I walked into the hospital in Pontiac Michigan weighing some where around 410 lbs. I was pretty inactive, getting exhausted from working and going to grad school full-time. My free time was spent lying in bed watching TV.

Today, I don't take any medications related to weight complications. My blood pressure is so low, I often have to stand up in order for it to register for my doctor.

I LOVE to workout. This is a revelation! I hated being active before, but today, I train with a former Chicago Bear who kicks my butt as if I were in training to play with the Bears. I am studying to become a Pilates instructor and have my own Pilates Reformer in my living room because I love using it so much. I read books like Chi Running and Pilates Anatomy for fun.

I enjoy clothing on a whole different level. I always enjoyed fashion and following it, but was never able to participate until now and it brings me a lot of joy!

The way I eat has changed. The things I am attracted to are different. I no longer enjoy junk food the way I used to. I rarely eat fast food and love to cook now when I have time. Is my eating perfect? What is perfect? I avoid the foods that don't agree with me, ensure I get in enough protein every day. I get my labs done religiously, get my bone density tested yearly. I take my vitamins and minerals every day. It's such a routine that I don't even think about it much.

I am more myself than ever before. I have healthier boundaries with the people in my life. I speak my mind when necessary and love life!