ds eating.....

tattoobabe
on 11/19/12 8:40 pm, edited 11/19/12 8:41 pm - MI

Eating...is there is certain amount of fat intake you have to eat daily that promotes good bowel movement? I know carbs are the devil....lol but is  bread a no no forever?  how about potatos? i don't eat alot of either now but was curious about  carbs. I'm still learning about the ds and trying to gain as much info as possible.... all info is greatly appreciated.

Kayla B.
on 11/19/12 10:02 pm - Austin, TX

I am 5 years out, so keep that in mind with my reply.

The fat intake will vary.  I know some DSers only 2 years out that can eat like a whole latte's worth of heavy cream.  I would freaking die.  My tummy would rumble so much.  So, I definitely don't restrict fat, and there have been times when I think I need extra, I'd just pour on some extra dressing on my salad, extra extra butter on foods, etc.  

No, bread is no necessarily a no-no forever.  Sometimes I will buy a loaf for sandwiches, but I have a specific kind which has been tested and approved to not cause a whole lot of side effects.  I'll have probably half a roll on thanksgiving.

I love potatoes!  I don't eat them everyday, but I do order french fries at restaurants (not fast food, just sit-down places).  I looove mashed potatoes, I always eat those when they are available.  I just try to keep a small portion and eat my protein with them.  Potatoes are one starch that just seems to sit so well in my stomach and causes no ill effects with gas or bloating.  It's definitely my go-to starch at a restaurant.

At this point, as you can see, I generally go by how these foods make me feel rather than their nutrition content.  The first year a lot of stuff was really limited for me because it definitely took all I had to eat my protein.  I got a little more lax after that, plus I try to exercise a good deal and really enjoy my carbs -- but I try to avoid sugar above other things!