Vitamin Deficiency

ABGMama
on 5/21/19 12:37 pm

Hi!

I am brand new to all this, hoping to have surgery in October. As I am deciding between VSG and DS, the big scary thing for me is vitamin deficiency. For those of you that are years out, how have your labs been? Does anyone know how common vitamin deficiency is in the DS? Thanks!!

Janet P.
on 5/22/19 6:19 am

Because of the malabsorption that comes along with the DS, vitamins are a key part of our everyday life. I take vitamins three times a day - and will for the rest of my life. Vitamins are not an option. Neither are annual labs - first couple of years I had labs drawn every 6 months).

I'm 16 years post-op of the DS. I've had iron deficiency anemia, which is kept in check with iron infusions and my monitoring my labs. I've also recently been diagnosed with Osteoporosis (this has been a gradual decline for the last 10 years - but I'm also 62 years old). I've also struggled with D (which is currently maintained by taking 150K of D3 every day).

I think we're all susceptible to deficiencies. I have always been good with vitamins and labs, eating healthy for the DS, etc., yet I still have deficiencies. Others may never experience deficiencies by taking the minimum amount of vitamins.

You're probably going to hear different stories. That's where you have to make the best decision for your situation. For me the DS was the only surgery I would consider - I was super morbidly obese and was determined to maintain my weight loss, which I have. I'm still within 10 pounds of my goal weight and my tool still works if I need to lose a few pounds. There is no malabsorption with the VSG so I believe deficiencies are less of a risk, but that also means that you have no malabsorption to help with maintenance after reaching goal.

Good luck with your decision.

Janet in Leesburg
DS 2/25/03
Hazem Elariny

larra
on 5/22/19 12:12 pm - bay area, CA