I am new to this, I have ...

Joy G.
on 6/26/03 12:49 am - Florence, KY
I am new to this, I have never been in a chat room or left messages on any kind of message boards. I am looking forward to my surg. well for a few minutes at a time, then I worry about the pain, then I remind myself that I am 53 yrs. old. my mother only lived to 60 my aunt 55. My family history for heart disease and high blood pressure would be a poster family for what NOT to do to live long and healthy lives. I am the biggest baby in the world about pain, but at this point my knees re bad, my back hurts, I have neuropathy in my feet, so hopefully the pain will be less than the daily pains and aches I have now. Anybody who can give me support, please do. I look through the before and after pictures and am so uplifted that these people did it and so can I....did I tell you I am afraid of the pain? Joy Gatewood
slmky
on 6/27/03 1:52 am - Independence, KY
Joy, You sound so much like me! I was having some tests done at St. E's South earlier this week and met someone who had had Lap RNY surgery. She was questioning why I have chosen the open RNY. My answer began with, "Don't ask me this after surgery when I'm in intense pain, but . . .". I just turned 56 and am big baby when it come to pain. I, too, am just begining the process, so I can't give you any tips for getting through it. Just know that you are not the only one. God Bless, Sandi
Edna J.
on 6/27/03 3:30 am