New to the Board

jennilamb007
on 10/25/11 11:24 am - MO
Hi, My name is Jennifer and I am new to the Missouri Weight Loss Forum. I live in Ava, Missouri, about 60 miles from Springfield. I just finished my 3 month doctor supervised diet that my insurance company requires. I have done my psychological testing, nutrition consult, consult with a personal trainer, and preliminary consult with my surgeon and now await the paperwork to be submitted for pre-approval by the insurance company. I hope all my ducks are in a row because I am excited to have my surgery. I would love to hear from anyone who has had success with the lap band surgery because so far all I have seen is negativity. I have no interest in any other surgery. I have met several people who have had the lap band and it worked very well for them. It seems that if the surgery is a success, people get on with what they wanted to do with their lives when obesity stopped them in the past and those that aren't successful tell everyone else how horrid the process is and not to do it. I am prepared to work very hard because I want this to be a success. I work out at least 3 times a week with a personal trainer and hope to increase that after the surgery. I am ready to get on with the 3 week liquid diet and have my surgery date set. I am hoping for around Thanksgiving. We will see. I have heard that my surgeon has a good weight loss record if you listen to what he says and follow it. I plan to tattoo his regimine to the back of my hand if necessary (just kidding). My surgeon is Dr. Daniel Cardwell. I knew him prior to going to him as a patient because I floated to his floor a few times to work with his patients at the hospital. We get along good and I think that will help. I would love to hear from everyone, but especially those who have had lap band. Thanks and take care, Jen
LaToya S.
on 10/25/11 12:10 pm - Edwardsville, IL
Welcome! I am having surgery in January now (date just changed).