Newbie needing help

pink7sadie
on 8/10/12 11:44 am
Hi All!  I am just beginning to research RNY.  (I assume that's the surgery I will have if I choose this route).  I haven't talked to my Dr. yet, I want to know more about it.  

Can you share stories?  When / why you chose this route?

Also, I'm seeing a lot of dates in people's signatures.  What are they?  And someone celebrating they are "overweight"  What is that about (sounds fun!)  What did you need to know when you were the "new kid"

TIA!
RufusLynx
on 8/10/12 5:36 am, edited 8/10/12 5:36 am - Canada
Hi Sadie...

Welcome to OH... I am new here as well, and on the same path of discovery as you are, except, i recently made the decision to go ahead with Weight Loss Surgery. (WLS).

You will find lots of acronyms and you'll have to do some reading to figure out what all they mean, but otherwise this site is pretty easy to read and learn from.

One suggestion:, find a local support group... I live in Peterborough and attended a coffee meeting last week and that made all the difference. I met a bunch of really nice folks, each of whom had gone through the process at various times and so they each had information to share with me, to help me discover what lies ahead.

I chose this route of WLS because I am tired of carryting around an extra 100lbs. I have trouble climbing stairs, loading my van, tying my shoes, and let's not even discuss sex! After reading many of the posts here, I see that I can get back some of the stamina I have lost and begin again to enjoy my life.

The dates in peoples' signatures refer to the dates of the various steps. In mine, you'll see just one date, the date I was referred by my family doctor... just a few days ago!

Read a lot here, ask questions and soon yoiu'll be informed enough to make a wise decision.

Like I said, i'm still new here, but if I can help feel free to message me.

Peter