Bariatric surgery as a couple

blessedroses89
on 12/12/18 12:42 pm
RNY on 01/08/18

My husband and I are both doing the Roux-en-Y surgery together. I just got my date (1/8/18) and he will be getting his next week. Has anyone done this with their spouse? Do you have any advice? Would you mind sharing your experience?

bethmal
on 12/12/18 5:10 pm
RNY on 12/26/17

My DH and I were the same day hours apart! I went first he went second. We spent the night in separate rooms but right next door to each other. We walked laps together during the night and were discharged the next day. We will be one year out on 12/27 and have done very well. Feel free to ask me any questions.

You can't measure your achievements with someone else's yardstick!

Revision from lapband to RNY 12/26/17 with Dr. Caitlin Halbert

HW 260 SW 248 CW 154 GW 145

Gallbladder removed 9/18

Beth

blessedroses89
on 12/13/18 9:24 am
RNY on 01/08/18

I'm sorry I'm new to this but what is DH? My husband and I are wanting to do it on the same day and the doctors keep telling us we should do it on separate days but we have a lot of family in the area that can help us. I'm glad to know someone else has done it, and maybe we aren't so crazy! What was the hardest part of doing it together, and if you could go back and do it again, would you do it the same day?

Emiepie
on 12/13/18 2:46 pm
RNY on 08/11/14

I will paste a link below that might help with the lingo (but I don't see DH on it which is dear husband).

https://www.obesityhelp.com/message-board-lingo

RNY 8/11/14 with Dr. Kelvin Higa PS Lipectomy 4/12/17 with Dr. John Burnett HW291.4/CW165/GW150

bethmal
on 12/13/18 5:09 pm
RNY on 12/26/17

DH is dear husband.