Overstich reflections

John K
on 7/27/11 4:36 am - Katy, TX
Ok, so a lot of people have been asking me about my experience, if I was happy, etc.

This is my own personal opinion, I am not a medical professional and do not even play one on TV.

The procedure itself: It was relatively minor procedure. I think I was out of surgery in less than an hour. They dont give you pain meds, I guess they think you dont need it. I was in some pretty good pain when I left, good think I had some liquid rx pain meds.

Post procedure. Ok, this was REALLY, REALLY difficult to follow. You know when you had your surgery originally you werent hungry? Well, not so the case here. I cam out of surgery ravenous. I followed the plan as far as liquids for the first 2 weeks. Michelle didnt think I did. I put beef broth with chili in a blender and blended it up and drank it. I didnt "eat" anything for 2 weeks. Those 2 weeks I lost 12 lbs. As soon as I started incorporating soft foods into my diet the weight loss quit. I was also exercising and I think the inches were falling off and not just weight, so I was feeling good. But, what are most soft foods? Hell, oatmeal, mashed potatoes, see the theme here? 

The whole trip to CT threw me so far out of my routine, I am still recovering from it. Just pure exhaustion. I started smoking again on that trip. I have since stopped again. I also plan on starting to walk, which I quit doing because of the trip and exhaustion. Sean Nichols and I are going to start walking on a regular basis and I truly believe that exercise is and always will be the key.