Sensitive Kids vs. Mean Kids - Who I believe is to blame

angelsmom89
on 6/20/12 3:45 am - Tallahassee, FL
Did I get your attention? 

I blame the doctors......  in a round-a-bout way.  Let me explain.

I've been coming to this board  for over 2 years.  There weren't that many people posting here.  A day might bring maybe 2 pages of postings.  The VSG was relatively unheard of.  Very few insurance plans covered it.  The few that did made you jump through a ton of hoops.   Most "newbies" back then had to do a ton of research.  I believe there was more in depth information gathering at that time.  Many people had to wait a long time to either save money or wait for their insurance to cover the surgery. 

The doctors who actually DID the surgery had very, very specific requirements for post-operative care, eating, etc.  Just 2 years ago I saw many people here (who are vets now) express concern that the VSG would end up replacing the Lap-band as a go-to weight loss surgery.  The concern was that as the VSG grew in popularity and availability, that there would be less of a requirement for psychiatric screening, less of a requirement for pre-surgery classes to be instructed and informed, and so on.

No one has the VSG without being a newbie.  You can't skip start.  Some of the questions I see here, though, are astounding, particularly in many post-op people.  I think that many of the surgeons who were originally doing the VSG ran a much tighter ship, both here in the US and in Mexico.

I don't believe it is true that there are no stupid questions.  I do believe that if physicians were requiring greater accountability from their patients, both pre and post op, that there would be more people asking fewer questions that are silly because they would have been already educated enough to figure it out in the first place.

No heaven will not ever Heaven be
Unless my cats are there to welcome me.
~Author Unknown

lucy2e
on 6/20/12 4:05 am - Laurel, MD