Hi, newbie here

chellenunley
on 1/9/13 12:57 am - Corinth , MS
VSG on 07/31/13
Hi, my name is Michelle and I am considering VSG. I have toyed with the idea off and on for several years. At first I wanted the duodonel switch. But my insurance wouldn't cover and my dr strongly advised against. So now, even heavier, I'm desperate. I weigh over 400lbs and want my life back. I'm calling my family dr today to try and get started on the 6 month monitored diet and go from there. Any advise, tips, encouragement and support will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

RedStar98
on 1/9/13 1:02 am - Johnston, RI
VSG on 10/02/12

I'm not a vet, at only 3 months out, but I can tell you I had no issues at all, and it was the best decision I ever made, my one regret, like so many others is.. I should've done it sooner.  This is a great support system, so many wonderful people here, even if you only lurk, you can learn so much, I knew things were going to happen before they happened and it was such a big help.  Good luck!!

bigred_z
on 1/9/13 1:09 am - Independence, KY
VSG on 11/16/12

You came to the right place!!  I am an ex bander, now have the sleeve and wish Id have started with it!  You can DO IT!!

Shagdoll
on 1/9/13 1:50 am

Welcome!  I believe you can be successful with the VSG.  We are here for support so keep us posted on your journey!

I would say to do your best on your 6 month monitored diet.  Any weight you lose before surgery is only going to help you.  Those are pounds you wont have to worry about losing once sleeved.  Find a diet plan that works for you.  For me to not feel deprived, I stuck to a low carb plan.

You can do this!!!! mail

Jenn  

WWBD?  

Keith L.
on 1/9/13 2:57 am - Navarre, FL
VSG on 09/28/12