How did your weight loss affect your career?

Ladybugsy
on 1/15/15 6:10 am

Good Afternoon Everyone!

I'm pre-op and excited for the changes coming my way.  I'm reading all I can but what I'm not seeing much discussion on is how your weight loss has affected your career?  I'm looking for more confidence in my field and for people to take me more seriously.  Do you find that your career is moving in a more positive direction?

HW 350.  SW 338.  CW 320. 

Month 1, including pre-op: -27 pounds

poet_kelly
on 1/15/15 11:54 am - OH

It didn't affect mine.  Well, I guess better health benefits one's career.  But I work as a freelance writer and that's what I did before surgery, too, and it's pretty  much the same at whatever weight.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Julia HasHerLifeNow
on 1/15/15 2:11 pm
VSG on 10/09/12

Hi there. It didn't affect mine either. I was pretty much at the top of my particular ladder when I had surgery. A sex change operation might have affected it more than weight loss. Now I just get the odd inappropriate look or comment now and then. But no weight loss did not affect anything substantial in my career given where I was at already.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com 5ft0; highest weight 222; surgery weight 208; current weight 120

Brad Special
Snowflake

on 1/16/15 12:24 am
VSG on 12/06/12

The sex change comment was pretty funny. Just had to tell you that.

Julia HasHerLifeNow
on 1/16/15 1:40 am
VSG on 10/09/12

Me and funny dont often meet up so when it happens I am happy!

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com 5ft0; highest weight 222; surgery weight 208; current weight 120

Brad Special
Snowflake

on 1/16/15 3:42 am