8 weeks post-op and wondering...

JaniOnAMission
on 9/24/19 4:35 pm
VSG on 07/29/19

Hiii so I'm pretty new to this and when I say new I mean I just signed up 10mins ago. I had my vsg in nyc hospital about almost 8 weeks ago (yay) I've currently lost 41 lbs. started at 231 now I am at 190. Been through a couple of minor stalls. Ive been cleared for regular food for a while now but still most eat turkey, us-applesauce, sf jello, lots of egg varieties and soft cheeses. Recently I discovered quest protein chips which are amazing once you get used to the fact they aren't actually doritos lol. I don't venture out into more food because everytime I try something new or a new texture I can only get in a couple of bites (4) and I'm feeling discomfort.. I am dealing with bad gerd but currently on Omeprazole and liquid antacids, but even before gerd started up. I can only get down 2oz of food max and thats pushing it. Liquid is a little better at 3oz. Did anyone else experience the discomfort at such small amounts? Sorry this is lengthy, I just don't have anyone to really talk to or ask! :(

White Dove
on 9/24/19 9:58 pm - Warren, OH

If you cant get down more than 3 ounces of liquid, see your surgeon and get checked for a stricture.

Some of us heal more slowly than others. You might have an irritated pouch. But you do need to get liquieds in so you are not dehydrated.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

Frank_M
on 9/25/19 6:14 am
VSG on 05/14/19 with

Sipping liquids all day is key in the beginning. Don't worry about how little solid food you can consume now, that will increase in time.

I had problems with heartburn/reflux before VSG but don't anymore. I take a prescription at noon (pantoprazole) and 1 over the counter antacid in the a.m. and 1 in the evening. My favorite drink was the Premier protein drinks. Easy way to hydrate and get in the protein.

tracyringo
on 9/25/19 8:01 am
VSG on 08/09/17